We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Capannina

41 Alfred St S, Milsons Point, North Sydney, New South Wales 2061, Australia
+61 2 9955 5928
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good37%
  • Average4%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (11 reviews)
“chilli” (3 reviews)
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
Italian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
41 Alfred St S, Milsons Point, North Sydney, New South Wales 2061, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

La Capannina is always a great experience due to its warm friendly ambience, Attentive service, authentic italian flavours with quality products and a varied menu. The house made pasta dishes are delicious. It can be noisy when full , but dining on the outdoor patio...More

Thank Jokate
LaCapannina C, Owner at La Capannina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your wonderful review and thank you for dining with us at La Capannina!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Warm and welcoming with great service and attentive staff. The food is always fresh and good quality. Italian with a slight twist. Good middle of the road wines which match the menu well. Been there several time and always good.

Thank Helen Troy T
LaCapannina C, General Manager at La Capannina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Grazie mille for your review!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It has been some time since I ate at the restaurant and this time I took some friends. The staff gives you the feel of a family operated restaurant and that the staff are concerned you enjoy the meal and wine experience; its a BYO...More

Thank JemoMJ
LaCapannina C, General Manager at La Capannina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for dining with us again and thank you for your review!

Reviewed 21 August 2017

Went to this restaurant as part of a large group and the food was amazing, it was tasty, hot and all meals were served together so as the tables could start to eat as one. The food was beautifully presented and delighted the eyes as...More

Thank jan c
LaCapannina C, General Manager at La Capannina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Jan, thank you for your review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience with us.

Reviewed 11 August 2017

Second time there and I concluded the place is very overpriced for the quantity and quality of food. None on the mains struck me as particularly special yet all were in the $35 - $40 range. As for the salads they were on a small...More

1  Thank Bob O
LaCapannina C, General Manager at La Capannina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review and for dining with us.

Reviewed 17 July 2017

We had a delightful evening and service was excellent from the initial greeting by our hostess. The restaurant is light and not too noisy except when it was completely full. We chose from the a al carte menu which also includes some specials of the...More

Thank J0anned568
LaCapannina C, General Manager at La Capannina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Grazie Mille for your review!

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

We were so disappointed with our meal at La Capannina. Having read such great reviews we were surprised to find the food was very bland, and quite far away from the traditional Italian flavours to be expected by an Italian family. The problem with this...More

Thank Sam M
LaCapannina C, Manager at La Capannina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear Sam, Thank you for dining with us and sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your dining experience with us. We are disappointed to hear that you thought we were bland, boring and over priced. We would have been happy to change your meal...More

Reviewed 10 July 2017

This is modern italian food at its best. Run by a family with a history of great restaurants, the produce is sourced fresh daily from the Sydney Markets. Fabulous service, friendly not overbearing. Located beside the bridge on the northside on an open park area,...More

Thank John P
LaCapannina C, General Manager at La Capannina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for dining with us and thank you for your review!

Reviewed 15 June 2017

In my view, the best Italian restaurant in Sydney (I haven't been to them all but...). It is quite upmarket and not cheap, but the food and flavours are excellent...its never disappointing

1  Thank Gordon2066
LaCapannina C, General Manager at La Capannina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review... we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us at La Capannina!

Reviewed 1 June 2017

On my second visit to La Capannina the experience was just as fabulous. This family restaurant is quite remarkable, it's a generous space but still retains a comfortable distance from other diners. . Your host will welcome you and ensure your every requirement is met...More

Thank jlcatts
LaCapannina C, Owner at La Capannina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Grazie Mille for your review and thank you for dining with us again at La Capannina.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kirribilli Village Cafe
102 reviews
.07 km away
Street Market Asian Tapas Restaurant
97 reviews
.10 km away
Thai Fusion
100 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Luna Park Sydney
1,210 reviews
.23 km away
The Botanist Kirribilli
52 reviews
.23 km away
Sailaway Sydney
22 reviews
.52 km away
Wendy Whiteley's Secret Garden
254 reviews
.54 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Christina W
26 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Gordon2066 | Reviewed this property |
Hi, I would have to say that its probably not a kids restaurant, although they might have good children's options?...maybe give them a call and ask
0
Votes
Aust01
29 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Aust01 |
Thanks for the replies. Yes. It is BYO for wines. The cost is $9.50 per bottle.They will filter and decant for an older vintage wine as well as part of service without further charges.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$28 - US$59
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View
Open Hours
Monday
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Friday
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Saturday
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 41 Alfred St S, Milsons Point, North Sydney, New South Wales 2061, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Sydney  >  North Sydney  >  Milsons Point
  • Phone Number: +61 2 9955 5928
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing