We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Grande Bouffe - CLOSED

758 Darling St, Rozelle, Sydney, New South Wales 2039, Australia
+61 2 9818 4333
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good39%
  • Average12%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (7 reviews)
“bouffe” (10 reviews)
“cassoulet” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
French, European, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
758 Darling St, Rozelle, Sydney, New South Wales 2039, Australia
All Details
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

This place is quite good if you love French Food. The place looked great, the waiters were very friendly( they are French by the way). Food was really nice, the dish I got( the fish of the day) was cooked really well tasted delicious and...More

Reviewed 30 October 2016

This is a report for two meals - one lunch (2 people) and the following morning's breakfast (8 people). First, the coffee - it is worth a visit by itself, but why not partake of the simple food while there? The menu is adequate but...More

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

This place was one of our favourites for a while. Not sure what happened but, food was very average, baguette was defrosted, wine list had most of it crossed out, then the wine we wanted was still not available. And on top of that, both...More

Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Live locally been there a few time this was just so bad. Dirty menu ask for wine list told on other side of dirty menu half the selections were blanked out ( not many to start with) the one I chose was not available should...More

Reviewed 26 September 2016

Used to be my favourite place to dine for special events. Last time I ate here it was a nightmare. Calves Liver and vegetables etc. over cooked three times. Service - very slow and uninterested.

vvincent33, Manager at La Grande Bouffe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2016

Bonjour, Unfortunately we don't have claves liver on the menu.... That must be a mistake from you Have a nice day

Reviewed 21 August 2016

Was told about this Little Gem by an industry friend. Booked 7 days out, arrived on time and well the service, wine list and above all the food rated so highly with us we were gob smacked. This Hole in the Wall produces some of...More

Reviewed 7 August 2016

We came here for brunch on Bastille Day when you'd think they would be well-stocked up for customers. Apparently not - no croissants and they were out of other menu items. The service was very slow and unfriendly. We asked for a share dish to...More

Reviewed 4 August 2016

Where to start... Tuesday waiter who was on two separate occasions over 3 weeks: rude, dismissive, critical, lacked attention, aggrogant, insulting .. maybe go another night when he is not there. Any other waiter would have to be better. Food used to be lovely, now...More

Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

This is an old favorite &I love the food &ambience.I have always done the degustation & matching wines & was very disappointed that this was no longer an option. However 3 courses for $60 was such a good deal. 2people had the cassoulet .We went...More

Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

La Grande Bouffe had been a local favourite but suffered in recent years with changes in chef and inconsistency of standards. The current chef has been there about 4 months and has revamped the menu with a touch of imagination and a traditional French selection....More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Nithik's Kitchen
134 reviews
.25 km away
Bellingen Gelato
41 reviews
.24 km away
Penny Lane Bar
29 reviews
.50 km away
The Provincial
42 reviews
.50 km away
Nearby Attractions
Callan Park
25 reviews
.28 km away
Birkenhead Point Outlet Centre
269 reviews
1.18 km away
Elkington Park
31 reviews
1.28 km away
Rozelle Collectors Market
43 reviews
.36 km away

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$45 - US$45
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
07:30 - 15:30
Monday
07:30 - 15:30
Tuesday
07:30 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
07:30 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:00
Thursday
07:30 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:00
Friday
07:30 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:00
Saturday
07:30 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 758 Darling St, Rozelle, Sydney, New South Wales 2039, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Sydney  >  Rozelle
  • Phone Number: +61 2 9818 4333
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing