We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

South Street Original Crab Shack & Authentic Dive Bar

) #460 of 1,710 Restaurants in Nashville $$ - $$$ American, , Seafood
907 20th Ave S, Nashville, TN 37212-2134
+1 615-320-5555
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good35%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (11 reviews)
“pulled pork” (24 reviews)
“shrimp” (19 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood, Barbecue, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
907 20th Ave S, Nashville, TN 37212-2134
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped by this place after reading mixed reviews. It was steamy hot out and they only gave is an option of sitting outside....in the heat. The patio would have been nice if it wasn't somsang hot. We were swwated and given a menu by the...More

Thank Terry T
Justin S, Marketing at South Street Original Crab Shack & Authentic Dive Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hey Terry, Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention. This is definitely not the experience we want our customers to have and is unacceptable. Our owner Brian would like to reach out to you personally to learn more about your experience and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Homemade tater tots were mushy and not tasty. We had the shrimp and oyster combo. Not good and we will not return.More

Thank mtambini
Justin S, Marketing at South Street Original Crab Shack & Authentic Dive Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hey mtambini, We're sorry to hear that your recent experience at South Street did not live up to your previous visits. Our tater tots are one of our signature items because of how unique they are. We fry mashed potatoes instead of making them with...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were traveling through Nashville to see the Grand Ole Opry and other sites. We have friend who is an agent there so we agreed to meet him there. Fantastic "open" restaurant. Great Meal. Cool place to meet a friend and visit.More

Thank Shagphil
Justin S, Marketing at South Street Original Crab Shack & Authentic Dive Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hey, Shagphill, Thanks so much for taking the time to give us this feedback and thanks for coming in while you were in town! We're glad you had a great meal and we hope we added to your Nashville experience. Please come see us again...More

Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Great servicer Mike upstairs Great deals on happy hour the BBQ was delicious Very fun vibe Close to Hattie B Excellent oysters 1 dollar each at happy hour

Thank Angela B
Justin S, Marketing at South Street Original Crab Shack & Authentic Dive Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hey, Angela! Thanks so much for the feedback and for joining us for happy hour! - Justin

Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

We recommended South Street for brunch with two other couples, and wish we hadn't. We'd been there several times before, but it seems the place is now in a state of decline. Service was only fair, and our table top and booth area were filthy....More

Thank GolfMominKY
Justin S, Marketing at South Street Original Crab Shack & Authentic Dive Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hey, GolfMominKY We appreciate you taking the time to give us this feedback. We're sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience at brunch. We always want our customers to have the best experience possible at South Street and our owner Brian...More

Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Our food was awful. The majority of us could not finish. Desserts were gross. Ice cream tasted freezer burned and bread pudding was mush. Onion weeks over cooked. Waiter acted like we're were a pain. Menu looks New Orleans but very very far from it....More

Thank MaryannwccTX
Justin S, Marketing at South Street Original Crab Shack & Authentic Dive Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Hey, MaryannwccTX, We're so sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience at South Street. Our owner Brian would like to reach out to you personally and learn more about your experience and try to make it right. Would you please email...More

Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

The pulled pork is great and they have a good brew selection. The location isn't bad at all. Situated in Music Row, it's one of many bars to stop in while doing a "crawl". The ambience is a little cozier than most and the staff...More

Thank JJSteel1
Justin S, Marketing at South Street Original Crab Shack & Authentic Dive Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2017

Hey, JJSteel1, Thanks for the feedback! We're glad you enjoyed your time at South Street and we appreciate the recommendation! - Justin

Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

We were staying overnight in Nashville, wanted seafood for dinner and saw this on TA. We were not disappointed. Great dive bar near Vanderbilt University with some great character inside. The food was great and the service just as good! The sweet potato casserole and...More

Thank Jim H
Justin S, Marketing at South Street Original Crab Shack & Authentic Dive Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Hey, Jim! We're so glad you chose to stop by while in Nashville and that you enjoyed the grits and the sweet potato casserole. Those are some of our favorites as well. Thanks so much for taking the time to give us this feedback! -...More

Reviewed 25 February 2017

My wife ordered the combo platter for 17 dollars, 3 shrimp and 3 oysters... 17 bucks for 3 shrimp and 3 over steamed oysters? The little amount of food we received was ok, nothing special... This place is a joke.

Thank Brett n
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

This was a pretty cute little place. It was pretty busy Saturday around lunch so we sat at the bar, service was okay. We had breakfast, and it was a lot of food for only $9 and it was pretty good! And they had $2...More

Thank Whitney L
Justin S, Marketing at South Street Original Crab Shack & Authentic Dive Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Hey, Whitney! Thank you so much for giving us this feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your brunch! Please come back and see when the weather gets warm more consistently and we will have the doors up! - Justin

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Soulshine Pizza Factory
198 reviews
.24 km away
Union Common
97 reviews
.09 km away
The Slider House
107 reviews
.23 km away
San Antonio Taco Co
171 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
RCA Studio B
2,341 reviews
.49 km away
Vanderbilt University
231 reviews
.49 km away
Music Row
330 reviews
.64 km away
Upper Room
68 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Jacquie S
What hotels are nearby?
28 August 2015|
Answer
Response from Elizabeth S | Reviewed this property |
U need to stay at the Hyatt place downtown. It's only a few walking blocks away. I know it's more expensive because it's downtown however it's the best staff ever. Great spot! U have to check it out.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20
Cuisine
American, Bar, Seafood, Barbecue, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 01:00
Saturday
11:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 907 20th Ave S, Nashville, TN 37212-2134
  • Location: United States  >  Tennessee (TN)  >  Davidson County  >  Nashville
  • Phone Number: +1 615-320-5555
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing