We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shin La

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
57 Main St, Brattleboro, VT 05301-3257
+1 802-257-5226
Today
11:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Thu 11:00 - 21:00
Fri - Sat 11:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 51: English reviews
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Shin La is a family-owned-and-operated Korean restaurant which also features an excellent sushi menu. The owners, Taemo and Yi Soon Kim, are constantly there, supervising what seems to be the most excellent and consistent oriental fare available in Brattleboro. If you are not familiar with Korean food, take the opportunity and get to know it here! Yi Soon or one... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohnWilmerding
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
141 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just a great place to eat.....casual and good value. You can order spicy or "not too spicy" and Mom, Dad or Grandma cooks your meal.

Helpful?
Thank Ian D
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Great food that is worth the price. Their sushi is the best in the area, and their Korean food is as good as any major city. However, it can take a long time to get your food, so be aware if you go when it's busy.

Helpful?
Thank pickyeater2014
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Visited this Korean restaurant twice in one week with consistently good food but irregular service. They must have wait staff issues. Our suggestion is to look in the door and if most every table is full then be prepared to wait to be served. Not the end of the world as the food, when served, is delicious.

Helpful?
Thank DarienDiner
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I have been to Shin La close to 10 times now and plan to keep going back. I live in NH and this place is definitely worth the drive over the border. The food is authentic Korean food. They make Japanese too. It is all made at the restaurant, unlike a number of other places I've been to. Good portions... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sean M
Brattleboro, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I decided to ignore the negative reviews and see for myself. I am filled with regret and a bad taste in my mouth. The food was sub-par, and not exactly what we ordered. The restaurant was sparsely occupied yet my food took more than a reasonable length of time to arrive - at least 60 minutes - and was certainly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jon691
Esther K, Guest Relations Manager at Shin La, responded to this review

Dear Jon, I am curious when you came to visit us. None of our tables during a "sparsely occupied" time have ever waited one hour for their meals. With just a few tables, meals will never take longer than 15 minutes to complete. Unless our waitstaff and chefs stepped out for hour-long, full-body massages, that simply would not happen :)... More 

Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Went on a Saturday night, got seated right away, waitress took our order quickly. She dropped off one salad and water shortly afterwards, then we waited 90 minutes for the rest of our food, which was simply an appetizer and sushi. They got our sushi order wrong, but we ate it anyway. There was no apology or explanation. The food... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy K
Esther K, Guest Relations Manager at Shin La, responded to this review

Dear Cathy, It seems you dined with us on a very busy Saturday night. Please accept my sincerest apologies for your experience. I am happy to hear that your server was attentive and timely. Unfortunately, on unexpectedly busy nights we are unable to serve food in a normal time frame. Each table's order takes about 15-20 minutes to prepare and... More 

Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Shin La is and has been awesome for over 25 years. It's addictive and delicious. It's healthy and plentiful.

Helpful?
Thank Bojap
Esther K, Guest Relations Manager at Shin La, responded to this review

Could not have put it any better! Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind words and we hope to see you again sometime soon! P.S. -- My apologies for the incredibly late response, but better late than never, right? More 

Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

If you feel like Korean food, and at some time you will, you know you will, go here. The place is family run and the service is very friendly to match the cuisine.

Helpful?
Thank bykhyk
Esther K, Guest Relations Manager at Shin La, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! We appreciate your taking the time to leave feedback and hope to see you again sometime soon! P.S. -- My apologies for the incredibly late response, but better late than never, right? More 

Englewood Cliffs
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

One of the worst Korean dishes I have ever had in U.S.A. was at this place. The name of the restaurant is derived from Korean history. But the food is not Korean at all. Do not think the food served there is of Korean origin. No side dishes are served. In Korean restaurants, a several side dishes comes whatever main... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ykim1221
Esther K, Guest Relations Manager at Shin La, responded to this review

We are so sorry to hear that you believe our Korean food is not of Korean "origin". It is a Korean family-run business. Many Korean restaurants serve side dishes and it is indeed a great thing! However and unfortunately, because of our location and commitment to authentic and quality Korean ingredients, we are unable to provide that service. For example,... More 

Travellers who viewed Shin La also viewed

 

Been to Shin La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10 - US$15
Cuisine
Sushi, Asian, Korean
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Monday
11:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:00
Thursday
11:00 - 21:00
Friday
11:00 - 21:30
Saturday
11:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 57 Main St, Brattleboro, VT 05301-3257
  • Location: United States  >  Vermont (VT)  >  Brattleboro
  • Phone Number: +1 802-257-5226

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Shin La staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?