We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YE OLDE TAVERN

5183 Main St, Route 7a, Manchester, VT 05255-9772
+1 802-362-0611
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good24%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pot roast” (89 reviews)
“apple butter” (118 reviews)
“fritters” (50 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
5183 Main St, Route 7a, Manchester, VT 05255-9772
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,006)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 996 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

The owner of Olympia Lodge, Trish, recommended and made reservations for us at this restaurant. It was the kind of ambience I love. An old inn built in the late 1700s, it has plenty of history, is cozy, dimly lit and romantic. They serve up...More

Thank Megan A
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Megan, Thank you for listening to the Olympia Lodge and joining us for dinner. We are so pleased you shared your dining experience with the TripAdvisor Community. We look forward to welcoming you back, cheers! Michael

Reviewed 2 days ago

Very authentic old building with different rooms – can imagine being here in 1790. Everyone gets a serving of cranberry fritters with maple butter – a little chewy, but ok. Very good bread and starter salad. My entrée of pot roast could be cut with...More

Thank NjDoro
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for dining with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the historic ambiance, reasonable prices and Pot Roast, but apologize that the Salmon was a little dry. Please know we would have been more than happy to provide you with a new piece...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

My husband and I made reservations at Ye Olde Tavern based upon recommendations from our hotel. We were seated promptly and given a great table near the window. The waitress introduced herself and gave us sometime to read the menu and order wine. However we...More

Thank mrsjhorn
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for very much for letting us know about your evening. We strive to ensure that every guest has a fantastic experience at Ye Olde Tavern. When you have a moment, I would like to discuss your evening and welcome you back for a...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

The fish stew was basically a can of stewed tomatoes with various over cooked seafood thrown in. The green beans and rice were barely warm.More

Thank Indymc
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

I'm alarmed to hear you thought your stew was the worst ever. .Our goal is to have each and every dish that leaves our kitchen be seasoned and cooked perfectly. Had I known you thought your meal was not to your liking, we would've been...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

Second time there and very happy. Wife's birthday. Fabulous food and drinks, wine, and service. Special flambe desert for the Mrs. Beautiful old historic house. We'll be back again.

Thank Juan S
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

What a pleasure it was to have you and your wife return for another fantastic meal! It's an honor to have been included in the birthday celebration -- we hope you'll come back and visit again soon. Cheers! Michael

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We hadn't booked and even though the place was busy the lady in the desk made the effort to seat us at a table for 4 even though we were only 2 . Chris looked after us very well and the food was all served...More

Thank imhonot
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Impeccable service, wonderful fare, reasonable prices and a historic ambiance are what we strive to provide our guests day in and day out, so it's wonderful to hear you had a marvelous dining experience with us from start to finish. You have my sincerest thanks...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

We arrived at 5:30 Sunday night and almost did not get a table. The place is quite popular so probably best to have a reservation. We really had a very nice dinner. I ordered duck glazed and wish I had ordered it savory (savory) as...More

Thank dmag36
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write our 1000 review and dining with us! It would be an honor and a pleasure to have you visit us again someday for another truly terrific evening. Cheers! Michael

Reviewed 6 days ago

We have been coming here for many years on our Vermont leaf peeping tours, and once again were glad we did. The historic ambiance, soft background music, attentive service, and good food made for a memorable evening.More

Thank frank c
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Frank, Thank you for returning to Ye Olde Tavern during Vermont’s ‘leaf peeping’ season. It is great to know that we are on your yearly agenda. We are proud that you enjoyed the food, service and ambiance. Here’s to seeing you next year and many...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

We arrived for dinner around 5:30 hoping to get a table since we didn't have reservations No problem. This is a charming, historic restaurant. Skip the cranberry fritters - not worth the carbs. Salads were good, One of us had the mac and lobster and...More

Thank travelwise68
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for dining with us. While I am thrilled you enjoyed your meals, I surprised to read that you weren't fans of our cranberry fritters. This is very unusual as many people inquire about purchasing them and our maple butter to take home. The...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Compelling, historic setting. Appealing menu with a reasonable range of choices. The cranberry fritters are marvelous but the homemade heart bread is very average. The pot roast was a huge disappointment. Sauce was bland. Needs port or marsala wine, cloves or cinnamon and maybe an...More

Thank aggada
TheTavernCrier, Owner at YE OLDE TAVERN, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your visit, but disheartened that your entire meal fell short of expectations. We would never want to give a guest anything less than an amazing experience. If you had brought this to our attention immediately, we could have corrected these issues. I...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Up For Breakfast
720 reviews
.39 km away
Thai Basil
322 reviews
.38 km away
Zoey’s Deli & Bakery
104 reviews
.72 km away
Nearby Attractions
Comollo Antiques
6 reviews
.76 km away
Tilting at Windmills Gallery
5 reviews
.69 km away
Northshire Bookstore
237 reviews
.50 km away
Backroad Discovery Tours
132 reviews
.51 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Amy E
10 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from TheTavernCrier | Property representative |
Thank you for the inquiry about the historic Ye Olde Tavern. Our Early Bird Menu is offered Sunday-Friday from 5:00-5:59pm (you just need to be in the building by this time). It is not available during peak periods, such... More
0
Votes
NewtownBobby
19 October 2016|
Answer
Response from TheTavernCrier | Property representative |
We just got your message. As we focus our energy to our guests, we check TripAdvisor every other day and do not accept reservations or table requests via online websites. I just looked in the reservation computer and did... More
0
Votes
perrygirlblue
16 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from TheTavernCrier | Property representative |
Thank you for the inquiry. The Onion Soup is not a vegetarian item and we enhance the flavor with house made beef stock. Please let me know if you have any other questions. Michael
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$19 - US$34
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
4:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5183 Main St, Route 7a, Manchester, VT 05255-9772
  • Location: United States  >  Vermont (VT)  >  Green Mountains  >  Manchester
  • Phone Number: +1 802-362-0611
  • E-mail
Description
Ye Olde Tavern is open daily... Cocktails start at 4:30pm and Dinner is from 5:00pm with last seating at 9:00pm. Reservations are always suggested. Our Tavern is handicapped accessible and attire is casual neat. Ye Olde Tavern has private rooms for meetings and special events, such as Brunch, Lunch, Dinner and Cocktails. We can serve up to 90 people in the entire circa 1790 Colonial Inn.The State of Vermont has recognized our circa 1790 Colonial Inn as a 'Green Restaurants'. Wine Spectator & Wine Enthusiast Magazine have recognized our Wine List as one of the best in the country. Minna & Michael Brandt- Proprietors Cassandra Bender- General Manager Cliff Cooper- Executive Chef Reservations are suggested.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing