We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Miller & Carter

Aldborough Road North, Ilford IG2 7TD, England
+44 20 8590 1281
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good28%
  • Average17%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“ribeye” (13 reviews)
“quality steak” (3 reviews)
“sea bass” (8 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Aldborough Road North, Ilford IG2 7TD, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Received a special offer, and as we hadn’t been here for some time, thought we’d give it a go. Very busy on arrival, but lovely lively atmosphere and a friendly welcome. Much improved on the last couple of times we visited, though it was some...More

Thank Jan P
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked a table for two and I was really pleased with a dinner. We ordered same steak, only different was- My man had a 30 day dry and I had 50 day dry . Lovely , medium cooked steak was melting in the mouth....More

1  Thank Dovile A
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived around 8ish for an 8:15 table. After a swift drink we sat at our table, our orders were taken promptly and we waited for our starter, and waited , and waited, and waited, not being someone who is shy about complaining when things...More

1  Thank Jason M
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jason, I'm really sorry to hear that you didn't have a good visit to us, I will certainly take all points raised back to the team so we can make sure this doesn't happen again. If you did want to discuss this any further...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is the worst Miller and Carter I have been to. Emma our server did the best she could but she was really up against it We ordered the rib eye steak from the set Sunday lunch menu . Ordered them medium came up more...More

Thank tony71254
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Tony Please accept my apologies that you did not have a great visit to us, I will inform the team of your comments so we can make sure this doesn't happen again. Kind Regards Sarah Davis General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were well pleased by this place. It is primarily a steak house and the steak was easy on the mouth and tasty. The waitress was pleasant and attentive (Jackie). When I noted that my coffee was an espresso not a macchiato she understood but...More

Thank mikechalmers1947
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Mike I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your mean and that you had good service from Jackie. We look forward to seeing you next time. Kind Regards Sarah Davis General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If I order a mixed berry meringue I expect mixed berries and not grapes. If order sea bass with crushed baby potatoes I expect crushed baby potatoes and not bland boiled potatoes quartered.

Thank wholenut13
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Lovely quiet restaurant in beautiful surroundings. You would think you are mikes away set in the countryside. Good excellent although service a little slow. Salad is a disappointment as it’s only a wedge of lettuce !

Thank loraines520
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Many thanks for your review, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us. Kind Regards Sarah Davis General Manager

Reviewed 4 October 2017

We have gone to this restaurant many times, but unfortunately it has gone down hill, it wasn't a busy evening, the first thing that hit us was the smell a rancid fatty smell masked with furniture polish, enough to make you want to leave but...More

Thank saranne1954
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hi, Im terribly sorry to hear about your poor experience. I will certainly be feeding this back to our kitchen manager so he is aware. Kind Regards Sarah Davis General Manager

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Interested staff, good food, nice venue and a great selection of wines and cocktails. Large car park and the ability to book online makes it as an easy evening. Recommend Tempura Cod and the 50 day aged steaks!

1  Thank Jo S
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hi Jo Thank you so much for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Sarah Davis General Manager

Reviewed 1 October 2017

I was disgusted that we were refused entry because my 13 year old grandaughter was wearing a black velvet top and bottoms which was. The waitor insisted her clothing was a track suit and questioned her being 13. Website states smart/casual which could mean anything....More

1  Thank foxesLondon
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Sir/Madam, Im sorry that you were turned away on this occasion. Our dress code of smart casual is stated on our website and booking confirmation e mail. Once again please accept my apologies. Kind Regards Sarah Davis General Manager

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Fiskardo Greek Restaurant
48 reviews
1.37 km away
The Chequers Pub
49 reviews
1.54 km away
Spice
45 reviews
1.53 km away
Cafe 104
97 reviews
1.51 km away
Nearby Attractions
Owls Play Centre
9 reviews
1.37 km away
Valentines Park
288 reviews
3.05 km away
Valentines Mansion & Gardens
87 reviews
2.95 km away
Hainault Forest Country Park
88 reviews
3.09 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Miller & Carter staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Aldborough Road North, Ilford IG2 7TD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater London  >  Ilford
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8590 1281
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing