We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shampan At The Spinning Wheel

Grays Road | The Spinning Wheel, Westerham TN16 2HX, England
+44 1959 572622
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good15%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (46 reviews)
“saag paneer” (6 reviews)
“scallops” (17 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Grays Road | The Spinning Wheel, Westerham TN16 2HX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We had an amazing, 50th Birthday lunch buffet in the private room. 45 of my family and friends were treated to the most amazing service and food on my special day. Nothing was too much for the staff. The food was plentiful and as always...More

Thank heavenlybodiesbridal
Reviewed 5 days ago

We hired the private room for my wife's 50th birthday celebration. We had a fantastic buffet lunch for over 40 people. I very rarely leave reviews for anything but on this occasion I just had to. The staff at Shampan are absolutely first class. They...More

Thank Ade O
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have frequented this establishment several times since it opened. Always a high level of service and excellent food. Never crowded or noisy. Buffet is delicious.

Thank GinaC415
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

2nd and last visit. In the lounge we were asked to go to our table before our whole party arrived "because we are short of space ". When our order was finally taken, we waited two hours for a complete muddle, including a ridiculous performance...More

1  Thank Ian F
Shampan G, Owner at Shampan At The Spinning Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Ian, Thanks for the review. We are sad to hear things did not go as expected. We are always hard at work to make sure our team delivers on the Shampan promise and every customer has a positive experience when dining with us. Your...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I were joined by our son for a birthday lunch for him. The restaurant was brilliant with the food exceptional. The staff were very attentive and we had a wonderful time. Highly recommend to anyone wanting brilliant food.

Thank martinensom
Shampan G, Owner at Shampan At The Spinning Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Martineensom, Thank you for the wonderful review you have left. Very happy we were able to make the birthday celebration special. Thank you for the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Shampan management

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very good buffet which was very enjoyable up to the point of having desserts when the waiter started clearing the table cloths whilst we were eating!!!! Get the impression he was rushing us out since we only ordered soft drinks! Rude & unprofessional. Would have...More

Thank Alan H
Shampan G, Public Relations Manager at Shampan At The Spinning Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Alan, Thanks for the review. Appreciate the time you have taken to leave us feedback and are delighted you were impressed with the Sunday buffet. However, we would like to apologise for the behaviour of the staff if you felt rushed. Evening service commences...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We've been before and we'll go again. Can't really fault Shampan - posh modern Indian food in luxurious surroundings. Feels like a special treat. I never understand why the car park is always full of expensive cars. Are the customers all 'high rollers'? I enjoy...More

Thank MartinHandy
Shampan G, Owner at Shampan At The Spinning Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear MartinHandy, Thanks for your review and we appreciate the time you have taken to write it. It makes us very happy to learn your dining experiences with us exceed your expectations every time. We have noted your comments and feedback and we look forward...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is such a wonderful place to spend a relaxing evening with great food , great service and such a conscientious and caring staff . Menu choice and presentation up there with the best without being over priced and the lounge area is magnificent to...More

Thank 14KEITH
Shampan G, Owner at Shampan At The Spinning Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear 14KEITH, Thanks for the review. Happy and delighted you had a fabulous dining experience with us. Thank you for the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks Shampan management

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ate here on a Monday lunchtime and, although the restaurant was empty apart from us, we had a very good time. The staff were very welcoming and the music made the restaurant feel less empty. The food was wonderful : starting with poppadoms somehow...More

Thank ginacoggin2002
Shampan G, Owner at Shampan At The Spinning Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello ginacoggin2002, Thanks for leaving us positive and honest feedback. Your wonderful compliments are just overwhelming and we are thrilled you enjoyed every aspect of your dining experience with us. Thanks for mentioning we are the best Indian restaurant you have been to in years...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had an excellent meal with good service, unfortunately when the bill arrived I was horrified to see we had been charged £9.80 for two jugs of still water, although wrapped in a fancy container it was tap water. My wife asked not to make...More

Thank Mark B
Shampan G, Owner at Shampan At The Spinning Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Mark, Thanks for the review. We believe a member of our team has emailed you regarding this review. If you need to discuss with us further please do respond to us via email. Thanks Shampan management

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Bakery Restaurant
165 reviews
2.19 km away
Spitfire Cafe Biggin Hill
70 reviews
2.41 km away
Tally Ho Public House
40 reviews
2.63 km away
The Blacksmiths Arms
171 reviews
2.99 km away
Nearby Attractions
Beaver Water World
191 reviews
2.77 km away
Biggin Hill Heritage Hangar
65 reviews
4.02 km away
Charles Darwin Down House
533 reviews
4.29 km away
Countrywide Falconry
41 reviews
4.36 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
joe M
26 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Shampan G | Property representative |
Hi and thanks for the question. We ar ean award winning Fine Indian dining restaurant.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20 - US$53
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Takeout, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
5:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
5:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
5:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
5:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Grays Road | The Spinning Wheel, Westerham TN16 2HX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Sevenoaks District  >  Westerham
  • Phone Number: +44 1959 572622
  • E-mail
Description
With a picturesque little thatched cottage in its grounds and with ample parking space, Shampan Group’s multi-award winning flagship restaurant is a byword for luxury and elevated food and drink. With several rooms to dine in, an airy and relaxing bar and lounge area where you can unwind with a wonderful cocktail or two along, or even a post-dinner coffee or liqueur, Shampan offers an unparalled dining experience. Our menu, prepared by Executive Chef Sadek Miah using quality, local ingredients, offers a fine mix of well-made traditional and beautifully plated, modern dishes with combinations you don’t often see in Indian restaurants. We also have a private dining space, the saffron Room with its bar and al fresco area. It’s a stunning spot that can be used for anything from private parties and anniversaries to wedding receptions and even corporate hire. The perfect icing on the cake for a restaurant group that’s often spoken of as one of the best in the South-East
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing