We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Doyle Sansome & Sons Lobster Pool

Is this your business?
25 Sansome's Place | Hillgrade,Twillingate, Twillingate, Newfoundland and Labrador A0G 2S0, Canada
+1 709-628-7421
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good20%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lobster dinner” (52 reviews)
“seafood chowder” (59 reviews)
“potato salad” (15 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m. Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Canadian, Soups, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
25 Sansome's Place | Hillgrade,Twillingate, Twillingate, Newfoundland and Labrador A0G 2S0, Canada
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 50 of 492 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2017

We have eaten here two nights in a row. My wife enjoyed two rare opportunities to have a perfect lobster dinner. I had a fine scallop dinner the first time, then had the best seafood chowder I have had in 9 days on the island...More

1  Thank Craig B
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile

Definitely the best place to visit by far! Had the most amazing seafood and the best waitress we've ever had! Ask for Georgia when you visit! Definitely will be back!

1  Thank Adam B
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile

we went for dinner with 4 adults and 2 kids. the service was great. we were told we had to go early to avoid a line up so we went at 4:30 and by 6 it was busy. we had lobster, scallops and cod cakes...More

Thank Bernskee
Reviewed August 17, 2017

We did not order the lobster, as it was lunchtime, but had a very nice chowder. Good service, reasonable price.

Thank Carlo S
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile

Quaint and beautiful place on the water. We choose our own lobster and they cooked it to perfection. The wait staff were friendly and personable and really made the visit. Would say it was worth the drive.

1  Thank Crickket
Reviewed August 15, 2017

What a friendly, fantastic, clean and tidy restaurant! Off the highway - wouldn't have found it without a local who promised great food and wasn't wrong. Great service, great food, great location...Don't miss this one!

Thank kim d
Reviewed August 14, 2017

There were 4 of us - I had the lobster dinner - it had been cooked too long (how can you manage that when lobster is your specialty?). Our server was new so I won't be too critical, however, one of our party ordered fish...More

1  Thank 159FernB
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile

We accidentally found this place as we wandered off the main road. The setting compelled us to stop by. It was 2 pm and we had a really nice cod lunch out on the deck overloking the ocean. Returned the next day..... for dinner. Had...More

Thank paulsh12
Reviewed August 9, 2017

In a nutshell, yes and no. Yes, the lobster tastes much better just out of the water than it does wherever you live, where it's been sitting in a holding tank for God knows how long. But as my dad used to say, "It's hard...More

Thank DoctorJoeE
Eileen S, Manager at Doyle Sansome & Sons Lobster Pool, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

I am puzzled as to how you can conclude that the rest of the menu is a "no" after apparently sampling one other dish, our seafood pasta. I must point out that we do not use leftovers in any of our menu items. Every dish...More

Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile

Relying on the reputation, the best in Twillingate according to TA, we were thoroughly underwhelmed & disappointed by our experience. Service was very slow (40 minutes to get a bottle of beer) and cold giving the impression we were a hindrance. We ordered 2 appetizers...More

Thank Andrew M
Eileen S, Manager at Doyle Sansome & Sons Lobster Pool, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

I would like to apologize for the poor experience you had when you visited. Early in AUgust we had some staffing issues due to illness.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Twillingate Hotels
Anchor Inn Hotel
234 reviews
10.64 km away
Fogo Island Inn
397 reviews
41.71 km away
Spindrift by the Sea
16 reviews
55.68 km away
Plum Point Motel
69 reviews
57.26 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Crow's Nest Cafe
282 reviews
13.54 km away
Shallow Bay Restuarant
61 reviews
13.78 km away
Nicole's Cafe
199 reviews
41.92 km away
Nearby Attractions
Prime Berth Fishing Museum
253 reviews
2.81 km away
Beothuk Interpretation Centre Provincial Historic Site
40 reviews
36.60 km away
Long Point Lighthouse
293 reviews
14.50 km away
Twillingate Museum & Crafts Shop
126 reviews
10.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Nick Y
June 10, 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from nurf77 | Reviewed this property |
Yes! I would.
0
Votes
jadwiga s
January 31, 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Wayne W | Reviewed this property |
Take highway 340 and travel south. Once you get to Newville turn right onto the County Road. We went in September and reservations weren't required. July and August will be their busy season so I would phone ahead. We stayed... More
0
Votes
Betty H
January 17, 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Eileen S | Property representative |
Lobster season in our area is from May through the beginning of July.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$19
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer
Good for
View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Monday
12:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tuesday
12:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Saturday
12:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 25 Sansome's Place | Hillgrade,Twillingate, Twillingate, Newfoundland and Labrador A0G 2S0, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Newfoundland and Labrador  >  Newfoundland  >  Twillingate
  • Phone Number: +1 709-628-7421
  • E-mail
Description
Seasonal restaurant on the dock or indoor dining in Hillgrade near Twillingate.Open for lunch and dinner.Excellent view from our dockside restaurant. Live lobster is available from our pool while in season until we have stock, usually until mid August. For your convenience there is an ATM on site as we accept CASH only.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;