We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Seaside Restaurant

) #1 of 6 Restaurants in Trout River $$ - $$$ , Seafood, Soups
263 Main Street | Gros Morne National Park, Trout River, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 5P0, Canada
+1 709-451-3461
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good29%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (36 reviews)
“scallops” (33 reviews)
“chowder” (28 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Canadian, Seafood, Soups
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
263 Main Street | Gros Morne National Park, Trout River, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 5P0, Canada
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

My wife, 10 year old daughter and I had dinner at Seaside and we all enjoyed our meals. The meal prices are higher than other restaurants in Trout River, some might consider them outrageous, but I typically expect to pay in excess of $30 for...More

Thank Jeff L
Reviewed 4 days ago

Seaside is a great place for authentic Newfoundland food and hospitality. The chowderwas excellent. This is a great place to grab a meal before or after the Tablelands.

Thank debbies20162016
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We came off an amazing backcountry camp at Green Gardens and we thought to pop over for lunch at Trout River. We did not know much of what we could find but easily stumbled across Seaside Restaurant. The seaside table views were stunning and there...More

Thank Jem M
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Excellent atomsphere, food and view!! Highly recommend. Tara was a fabulous server. Great view. lovely bordwalk for after dinner walk.More

Thank tkoutdoors
Jenny P, Owner at Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you . . . we love our restaurant and are delighted to be able to share this experience with so many people from around the world. Our servers work very hard - its so nice to see them recognized for their efforts. Thanks Tara...More

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a wonderful surprise to find such an excellent restaurant with fabulous food and service. everything by far exceeded our expectations-the location, service by Tara and the food. The beach combing after dinner was the best. Definitely recommend the trip to Trout River!!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Jenny P, Owner at Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We are so happy that you got the opportunity to visit our restaurant by the sea - Seaside Restaurant! Tara is a great server, we are happy to have her as part of our wonderful team. Cheers to your vacation here in Gros Morne!

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a quality restaurant right next to the beach with beautiful coast and sea views from your dining table. The food and service were excellent. Trout River's beach and bay makes for a pleasant view, especially from the upstairs tables. After lunch, stop at...More

Thank 342williamn
Jenny P, Owner at Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for visiting our seafood restaurant by the sea her in Trout River. So happy you appreciated what we are offering. Cheers to your vacation here in Gros Morne National Park. Hope you get to visit us again.

Reviewed 1 week ago

After a long mornings hike we searched out the Seaside Restaurant on the strength of reviews we'd seen. Not Disappointed. One of the nicest little places we dined on the whole of Newfoundland. Thanks. :)More

Thank Caroline D
Jenny P, Owner at Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for searching out the Seaside Restaurant - yes, it is important to look at the strength of the reviews. I will once again commend my staff for the work they do and send out a big "Thank You" to all you travelling folks...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The seafood menu was great but the complimentary rolls were stale . The servers did not ask about if we wanted more wine and beer. Great view . Mussels were great , chowder was ok

Thank Rod B
Jenny P, Owner at Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I agree 100% and have dealt with this matter. Not sure how this happened but it did. The server just wasn't paying attention ~ everyone has an 'off' day from time to time ~ only human.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were fishing the Lomond River and saw signs to the restaurant so went there instead of going back to Deer Lake where we were staying. The night we were there the Kilted Chief was guest chief. The rolls were divine, we asked for seconds....More

Thank Cheryl S
Jenny P, Owner at Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the great conversation. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience here at the Seaside Restaurant in Trout River. Hope you were just as lucky with the 'fly fishing'. Hope you have enjoyed visiting our beautiful & spectacular Gros Morne...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From start to finish, our experience at Seaside was top notch. Recommended by the workers at Gros Morne - West Brook Pond boat tour (Bontours), we decided to visit the Tablelands in Gros Morne and then head to Seaside for dinner. Couldn't be happier we...More

Thank Tim W
Jenny P, Owner at Seaside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your feedback. We are very proud of our staff here at the Seaside - they do a splendid job. It's all about the experience! Seaside works hard to deliver fresh seafood to their table . . . thanks for being appreciative....More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Old Loft Restaurant
205 reviews
15.44 km away
Earl's
388 reviews
18.04 km away
The Black Spruce Restaurant
152 reviews
19.70 km away
Nearby Attractions
Green Gardens
55 reviews
1.32 km away
Galliott Studios
31 reviews
15.29 km away
Gros Morne National Park
763 reviews
19.87 km away
Trout River Interpretation Centre
8 reviews
.47 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lynnmclean48
1 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Young0252 | Reviewed this property |
I highly recommend you make a reservation. First of all, it is one of the fancier restaurants in the area, secondly I find it is courteous for the owners allowing them to manage their business better, and thirdly you have a... More
0
Votes
Nick Y
11 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jenny P | Property representative |
Good Morning. Just so beautiful here in Trout River this morning. Our Menu for the seaside Restaurant is not a published one as we like to keep it unique too our place. We have a price range from $22 to $32 for dinner... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$20
Cuisine
Canadian, Seafood, Soups
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 263 Main Street | Gros Morne National Park, Trout River, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 5P0, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Newfoundland and Labrador  >  Newfoundland  >  Gros Morne National Park  >  Trout River
  • Phone Number: +1 709-451-3461
  • E-mail
Description
Winner of Hall of Fame Restaurant! Harp Music on Sunday & Wednesday evenings! 7 to 9 pm Seaside Restaurant is located in the most scenic part of GROS MORNE NATIONAL PARK, in the small fishing village of Trout River (Route 431), on the beachfront overlooking the ocean with its spectacular sunsets & a kilometer of boardwalk... less than a 10 minute drive from the Tablelands Exhibit. Enjoy the best of Newfoundland cuisine and enjoy beautiful sunsets over the water. After a hike up the Tableland Mountains, or a boat tour up Trout River Pond, this is a great place to come and relax with some real cultural delicacies and picturesque view. Great Food, Great Wine & Great Views of the Ocean!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing