We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Olive

308 Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri, New Zealand
+64 9-407 9693
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good34%
  • Average13%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“black olives” (64 reviews)
“pizza” (99 reviews)
Closes in 30 min
All hours
CUISINES
New Zealand, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
308 Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 60 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2016

Went to dine only to find the menu has changed a lot since last visit, only offering three main courses. Staff seemed unconcerning, we ordered the rolled chicken which was so dry and had hardly any stuffing very disappointed in the quality compared to last...More

1  Thank Hiddentallents
Management response:Responded 23 November 2016

We are really sorry you didn't enjoy your meal. The staff are not unconcerned, in fact the menu was changed in an effort to avoid disappointing our customers. While this is clearly a work in progress please be assured we are addressing the issues you...More

Reviewed 9 November 2016

This was our second visit to Black Olive. We did not reserve and just walked in off the street. The ambience was still the same, relaxed, quiet with good wait staff. For this visit we each chose to have the small pizza having had the...More

Thank Allen827
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Had a wonderful meal with my family during school holidays had a delicious pizza service was quick and efficient, lovely lady on counter friendly and helpful also. Dessert was amazing chocolate cake and toffee pudding great presentation would easily recommend to others

Thank 13ninjas
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

We arrived at the restaurant early evening (5pm as with our young son). The restaurant had one large group in it only. We were shown an option of 2 free "unreserved" tables. Whilst deciding someone in the back decided they did not want us in...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
emz1921, Manager at The Black Olive, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

I am so sorry this happened it should never have occurred in the first place. We definitely do not have any issue with children and am so embarrassed you were treated this way. I can only again apologize again and ensure you that this would...More

Reviewed 17 September 2016

Recently visited this previously very good restaurant to find that it had changed ownership. Unfortunately, after a long wait, our meals arrived: very tasteless pasta and a very indifferent pizza. The best part of the meal was the wine. Hopefully things will improve as the...More

5  Thank 634janeb
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We ordered a takeaway pizza - Black Olive Special. It was ready on time, hot and very tasty. I would highly recommend.

Thank dickiebird2014
emz1921, Manager at The Black Olive, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Happy to hear you are a happy customer hope to see you again

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Had a Black Olive Special medium for $22. Pretty good pizza although base not crispy like I prefer. Flavoursome and good value. Friendly staff and a nice dimmed restaurant with a funky relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff.

Thank Shane D
emz1921, Manager at The Black Olive, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Thanks for your lovely comments hope to see you again

Reviewed 25 August 2016

Over the years the place never ceased to impress. Once again we had an amazing family reunion. The people the people the people. They make the place. Great service with smiles on faces. The food is second to none and of course Pizza and pasta...More

Thank Serge B
emz1921, Manager at The Black Olive, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Happy to hear you enjoyed your night with us look forward to seeing you again in the future

Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

So glad we decided to come here! Great pizza and calamari, delicious 👍. The carnivore pizza was perfect, great base and perfect amount of toppings.

Thank Daisy_Chain_xx
emz1921, Manager at The Black Olive, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Carnivore pizza yes is so popular and delicious happy to hear you thought so too.

Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Nice place with nice food. We were there for a birthday celebration. Pricing was average. There was a good amount of parking out the back of the building. They also do takeaway which unfortunately had people coming into the area we were in and getting...More

Thank Kim G
emz1921, Manager at The Black Olive, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Sorry about the takeaway customers getting in your way, thanks for your comments and glad you found the place to be a good option to dine in. See you again

PreviousNext
14567824
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 16 hotels in Kerikeri
Motel Kerigold Secluded Chalets
74 reviews
.22 km away
Orchard Motel
30 reviews
.40 km away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
245 reviews
.44 km away
Kerikeri Court Motel
51 reviews
.61 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Cafe Jerusalem
300 reviews
.52 km away
Madly Indian
191 reviews
.36 km away
Curry King Indian And Thai Cuisine
230 reviews
.52 km away
The Village Cafe
98 reviews
.55 km away
Nearby Attractions
St James Anglican Church
30 reviews
.47 km away
Bay of Islands Farmers Market
27 reviews
.34 km away
Masterpieces Art Gallery
5 reviews
.64 km away
Bay of Islands Honey Shop
22 reviews
1.10 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
mayvis8
I also dined at this restaurant last night and came here to post a glowing review for the staff and meals we all received last night. So I beg to differ with Ms Hannam21 and find this review quite disturbing and dillusional. I was dining near these customers who were all clearly drinking alcoholic beverages. We were dining at a large table and a member of our group even approached the owners out of concern should they need our support in dealing with you and your group. You spoke rudely, you demanded, you did not listen clearly to what the staff were informing you and continued to harass all staff when they tried to clarify things. I could see the wrist bands on your hands indicating you had all been to the Paihia food and wine festival which indicates, as well as your behaviour that you had previously consumed alcohol before coming out to this restaurant. There was also one member of your group who was persistently up and down at the bar harassing the staff. And young lady for someone who does not post reviews I have just read the many you have left here and they are ALL complaints for other places...... so perhaps you just dine at home in the future. Thank you Black Olive for an awesome evening...we will be back!!!!
24 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from jeminae | Property representative |
Thank you so much for your feed back. I am sorry you were subjected to the unpleasant behaviour from these customers. The festivals in Northland are great but unfortunately we then have to deal with the odd unsavoury... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$26
Cuisine
New Zealand, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
4:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Tuesday
4:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Wednesday
4:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Thursday
4:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday
4:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Saturday
4:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 308 Kerikeri Road, Kerikeri, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Northland Region  >  Bay of Islands  >  Kerikeri
  • Phone Number: +64 9-407 9693
  • E-mail
Description
Family friendly funky atmosphere relaxed and friendly, great food and great prices. Takeaway and dine in
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing