Crest Hill Tea Room

Crest Hill Tea Room

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+1 540-253-5790+ Add website
Hours
Sun
10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Wed
10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Thu
10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Fri
10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sat
10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
CUISINES
American, British
Meals
Lunch
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Family style, Non-smoking restaurants, Gift Cards Available
Is this restaurant good for special occasions?
About
English-style country Tea Room, serving light fare and Afternoon Tea from 10am - 5pm, Wednesday through Sunday. Custom-blended loose-leaf teas, also available for purchase, along with wide range of tea accessories. Also carrying fine china, vintage jewelry and silver, home décor items and gifts.
CUISINES
American, British
Meals
Lunch
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Family style, Non-smoking restaurants, Gift Cards Available
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles48 reviews
Excellent
35
Very good
6
Average
4
Poor
1
Terrible
2
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

cardinalfrog
McLean15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2022 none
This hidden gem of a tearoom serves some of the best food and an unexpected assortment of teas we've had the pleasure of encountering. We love tea. We love scones and finger sandwiches and little desserts. We didn't necessarily expect a tiny little shop in a tiny little town to serve up an innovative and delicious tea menu that topped all of our London experiences. Really delicious. Very homey and down to earth. Just lovely in all sense of the word.
Written August 5, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CrestHillAntiques
Thank you for visiting us and for posting this review! We're delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again.
Written August 6, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Roshnibegum
Washington DC89 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2022 none
My companions and I stopped for tea at Crest Hill Antiques & Tea Room after spending an afternoon at the Scottish Games in The Plains. We had not made reservations but were greeted very warmly by host Matthew McClelland and seated right away. Because we had lunch of sorts at the Scottish Games, we opted for the Cream Tea and assorted sandwiches. The scones (which come with lemon curd, Devon cream and jam) were out of this world. I had the Hummingbird tea ( a black tea with notes of tropical fruit and white chocolate) which smelled and tasted divine. We had a wonderful experience, and my companions thanked me for persuading them to stop at the tea room. We will be back!
Written September 3, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Crest Hill B
Thank you so much for the great review and for coming by! I'm glad we were able to get you and your friends in and treat you. Please come back and see us again real soon! Matthew
Written September 11, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Brian D
Miami23 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2023 couples
Delightful small intimate classic English tea room. Menu features a full selection of every imaginable tea served properly hot. Lunch was a curried chicken salad sandwich on a croissant for me and a turkey sandwich for my wife. Tea pots were refilled as requested and lunch was followed by two delicious, freshly baked, cranberry/orange scones with the addition, of course, of clotted cream and strawberry jam.
Written June 24, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Bobby Jo
Frederick17 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 friends
A great variety of tea and taste. Many of the food items were good. But the presentation needs work. We had 8 of us - we asked for 3 checks and we expected three different food trays similar to other tea houses we have been to. They brought one stand with only two rows and shoved all of the food together on one two layer tray for 8 people. It was a stuffed mess. We were expected for 8 of us to come across the table and grab like it was a pizza party? We said no, it needs separated out. They only brought a second tray and put some sandwiches on them. It was not a pretty or impressive display like you expect to see at an afternoon tea. The silverware was dirty too. Not sure it had been washed well. Many cups chipped and stained. There was a long wait and not sure the waiter knew what to do. Only a few people working for the whole room. It takes a while for tea refills and food. The taste was good, but the presentation and atmosphere are less than average for a tea room.
Written February 25, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

AggieJoe79
Haymarket966 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 family
I don't go to a lot of tearooms, but my wife, sister and I made a reservation for a little place is a small town not too far off the interstate, well into the country. This is a small place, less than 10 tables with nice British and historic look. There was every kind of quaint tea, plus fresh baked scones, tea sandwiches, pasty samplers and a variety of items to taste. Great staff, well worth a visit.
Written August 25, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Crest Hill Brands
Thank you so much for coming by and visiting, as well as the kind review! We hope you will come and see us again!
Written August 27, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Cl T
McLean12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021 none
This is our second visit in a month as we found it delightful! The tea, savories, scones and sweets are definitely worth another visit! We celebrated a birthday and our guest received a special treat! The variety, freshness and presentation of the tea items was impeccable. The attention to safety during this pandemic was one of the reasons we will return in the future. Ms. Sally and her capable staff were extremely attentive in making sure we had our tea pots full and were able to enjoy our conversation without feeling at all rushed.
Written April 17, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CrestHillAntiques
Thank you very much for posting this review! We're delighted that you have enjoyed your visits with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Written April 18, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Theresa G
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2023 family
My mom, daughter and I made a last minute reservation at this cute little tea room, not knowing what to expect. We had such a wonderful time. The delicacy options were great and we loved being able to smell the many different tea selections before making a choice. We really enjoyed the tea sandwiches (larger than most tea services provide, and different and tasty combinations). Everything was very reasonably priced. The service was outstanding. We felt relaxed and pampered. The tea room was not overcrowded with tables, which was extra nice, especially since we had a service dog with us and needed a little extra room. We will definitely be back again.
Written October 16, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

LandCtravel
33 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 friends
Crest Hill used to be quite nice at its former location, but my recent visit was disappointing. On the good side, the selection of teas is excellent and I enjoyed drinking the tea, and the servers were friendly. However, a big part of afternoon tea is the setting, and this aspect needs some love and attention. Everything on the table is mismatched and not of good quality, and not in a charming, cottagey way; it just looks cheaply and carelessly thrown together. Thrift shops are stuffed with nice china cups and saucers, so it wouldn't be hard or expensive to provide each guest with a matching cup and saucer with some visual appeal, but they don't do that. The food also was only average -- the bread is cheap grocery-store bread, and the scone I had had a dry area of unmixed flour. Overall, the experience didn't feel special in any way.
Written January 30, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Marie M
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 none
My girlfriends and I love a great high tea. We typically go to fancier settings but this tea shop seemed sweet. The shop itself is cute. The tea was decent and that is where it ends. The server was unpleasant to the point of being rude. It is like they have no idea about customer service. The young assistant was very nice but took the wrong order. We were disappointed in the food which could have been from Costco. They were impressed with their scones. They were okay, I would avoid the butterscotch (overly sweet and a bit weird). I wish we had gone to a fancier place.
Written July 18, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

familylady888
Gainesville8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2021 none
My family and I had "The Full Monty" tea this afternoon. Do make a reservation, because spacing is taken seriously (as it should be). I felt totally safe and totally delighted. I told my husband I felt like we should do this about three to six more times to ensure that we liked it as well as I thought the first time. This is a quiet, friendly tea service in a small antiques store (china, teapots, etc.). The tea choices are delicious, and the food is good (and bountiful). They are happy to accommodate a vegetarian guest. After this year of isolation, it felt wonderful to be here!
Written March 7, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CrestHillAntiques
Thank you very much for posting this review! We are so glad your family enjoyed your time with us. We'd be delighted to serve you three to six more times, to make sure we get it right! Thanks again.
Written March 8, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

mozemom
Haymarket19 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 none
My mother in law was in from out of town and we live over the mountain in Haymarket. We have driven by this tea room several times and were excited to try it for the first time. We were met at the door by a server whom was annoyed by our arrival time by looking at the clock and upset that we were in the shop that late (3:45pm) with a 5:00pm closing time. After setting a table she acted as though she was doing us a favor. At first it was not clear why she was behaving this way later it was obvious she was upset that we came in unmasked. We were looking forward to the full experience "Afternoon tea" and the server told us that would not be possible because they did not have enough product for the next day reservations. So- we tried to be cordial and brush off the lack of warm welcome. The server continued to be annoyed with us by finally asking my 13 year old daughter to put on a mask when she was not seated. The servers passive aggressive behavior became more clear, she was upset with our non-compliance. It would have been much easier to be greeted at the door with a warm and kind welcome and the policy verbally stated. Then we could have decided to stay or leave, if masking was that big of an issue for our party. The treatment to a customer was unacceptable and made the experience miserable from beginning to end. We will not be returning and will be sure to share our unpleasant time with our friends.
Written May 29, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CrestHillAntiques
We are very sorry that you had an unpleasant experience here. Your party did not have a reservation and you did not call to see if we could seat you; you came in after our service hours (posted on our front door) were already over, but we seated you anyway. Also posted on our front door was a large sign that plainly states masks were required, just as everywhere else. When the young girl started walking around the shop unmasked, we asked her to wear a mask for her own protection as well as that of the other customers here who were still here. It's probably just as well that you won't be returning because customers who think the rules don't apply to them are more trouble than their business is worth.
Written June 4, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Miss B
Vienna28 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2021 none
It was absolutely the best afternoon tea in a tea room I’ve had in a while. The scones were nice and everything is homemade. The service was excellent and I loved all the little antiques and vintage items available for sale. The cost for afternoon tea was a real value. Overall an excellent experience!
Written September 6, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CrestHillAntiques
Thank you very much for posting this review! We're so glad you enjoyed your experience here -- hope to see you again soon!
Written September 30, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Donna F
Bryn Mawr94 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2024 family
We obtained take out while passing through. The iced tea...which was an earl gray lemon ginger was sublime and had hints of lavender. The lavender tea cake had wonderful flavor. The tea sandwich Sampler had something for everyone. Particularly enjoyable were the cucumber sandwiches. The hostess was an absolute delight!
Written May 24, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Lauren H
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 none
I live in TN and wanted to do something special for my mom and her friends that live in Northern Virginia. So I contacted Crest Hill Antiques & Tea Room. Sally was wonderful to work with and everyone had a fabulous time. An amazing assortment of tea and the food was fabulous. By far the best High Tea we have ever had. We will go back.
Written October 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CrestHillAntiques
Thank you, Lauren, for posting this review. We're glad that you and the ladies enjoyed your time with us -- it was delightful having you all here! Will look forward to your next visit.
Written October 25, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bonnie K
Condon4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2023 family
What a lovely find! The staff were friendly and the room was charming. I enjoyed my meal and my kid was welcomed with hot cocoa. The Mediterranean platter was a great gluten-free option too.
Written October 28, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-15 of 48
Best nearby
We rank these hotels, restaurants, and attractions by balancing reviews from our members with how close they are to this location.
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

CREST HILL TEA ROOM, The Plains - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Things to DoFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars