We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Norske Nook

) #8 of 66 Restaurants in Hayward $$ - $$$ American, ,
10436 State Road 27, Hayward, WI 54843-2000
+1 715-634-4928
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good34%
  • Average16%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“pies” (54 reviews)
“meringue” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
American, Scandinavian, Norwegian
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
10436 State Road 27, Hayward, WI 54843-2000
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Although Norske Nook is known for their pies, food is great also. Daily specials for breakfast included eggs, hashbrowns and toast for $4.99 on Mondqys and it was great!

Thank Janet-Chicago
Reviewed 1 week ago

I always enjoyed going to Norse Nook, especially for their homemade soups and pies.. This time was a big disappointment! I ordered wild rice soup, which is grown and raised nearby. The soup was mostly white rice with a few grains of wild rice. It...More

Thank nanekikai
CindeeParker, Guest Relations Manager at Norske Nook, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello, We are sorry to hear you didn't like our soup or chili, Sysco is our food purveyor. Our soups and chili are house-made. We have already addressed your concerns and hope you can give us another try.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A small but very good restaurant ... There are many Norwegian food offerings on the menu and about 50 types of pie! We ate there twice!

Thank mahurd51
CindeeParker, Guest Relations Manager at Norske Nook, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind review! We truly appreciate your kind words about our restaurant. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. We hope to welcome you back to the Norske Nook soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food is great. Good portions at reasonable prices. Friendly staff. Has daily breakfast and lunch/dinner specials.

Thank keev48
CindeeParker, Guest Relations Manager at Norske Nook, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest. Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us! We hope to see you agin soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed breakfast here. Homemade food and great service. We ordered omlete with baby potato pancakes and Norwegian pancakes with Lingonberries. This place is known for exceptional pies, so was extremely disappointed when they had none for sale.More

Thank D8471CJmariannem
CindeeParker, Guest Relations Manager at Norske Nook, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that overall your experience was positive. I am disappointed to hear that we were sold out of pies. We do our best to make enough pies to serve the demands without waste and at times...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Love their Osseo WI store, this one not so much. Slow, indifferent service, mediocre food (at best) and only one pie: sour cream & raisin :( We tried i again today and it was not better, maybe worse.More

Thank fbbennett
CindeeParker, Guest Relations Manager at Norske Nook, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such candid feedback of your experience. I am very sorry to hear that your food and service did not meet expectations. Please email us with an address or email so we can discuss your issues...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is one of our regular breakfast spots when in the area. It does get busy but the serving sizes are large and the kids enjoy the food.

Thank 2plustrio
CindeeParker, Guest Relations Manager at Norske Nook, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and for choosing our restaurant. I'm happy that you enjoyed your meals, and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest at Norske Nook again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Maybe because I am not Norwegian, or I didn't eat the pie, but I was unimpressed with the Nook. The menu is plain diner fare with a few Norwegian dishes added. Service was good, but the prices were on the higher side for breakfast.

Thank Mark S
CindeeParker, Guest Relations Manager at Norske Nook, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We have sent your feedback to the personnel concerned. I apologize you were not happy with your experience. This is very disappointing to hear, but we hope you give us another chance to make it up to you.

Reviewed 13 July 2017

We stopped for breakfast on 7/4/17 and enjoyed a very good meal. The waitresses were very good on filling up our coffee as well. The food was average in portionate.

Thank grossedout402
CindeeParker, Guest Relations Manager at Norske Nook, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. I am very happy that the staff was welcoming and accommodating and that you enjoyed your meal and service. However, I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied.

Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Great breakfast and pie! My husband had a breakfast lefsa wrap and my daughter had the biggest cinnamon roll! The pie was excellent!

Thank fitpie6948
CindeeParker, Public Relations Manager at Norske Nook, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind comments. I will be sure to let our staff know how much of an impact they made on your experience, we hope to serve you agin soon!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
West's Hayward Dairy
62 reviews
.50 km away
Old Southern Bbq Smokehouse
170 reviews
.52 km away
Anglers Bar and Grill
252 reviews
.44 km away
Hayward Family restaurant
71 reviews
.45 km away
Nearby Attractions
Fresh Water Fishing Hall of Fame
190 reviews
.33 km away
HookStone Winery
54 reviews
.67 km away
Hayward Lakes Visitors and Convention Bureau
16 reviews
.33 km away
Park Theater
13 reviews
.40 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kim K
18 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Heglund | Reviewed this property |
I am not sure since no one in our party required gluten free items.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
American, Scandinavian, Norwegian
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 19:00
Monday
06:00 - 19:00
Tuesday
06:00 - 19:00
Wednesday
06:00 - 19:00
Thursday
06:00 - 19:00
Friday
06:00 - 19:00
Saturday
06:00 - 19:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10436 State Road 27, Hayward, WI 54843-2000
  • Location: United States  >  Wisconsin (WI)  >  Hayward
  • Phone Number: +1 715-634-4928
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing