We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Horseshoes

Dean Street, East Farleigh, Maidstone ME15 0PR, England
+44 1622 741683
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good21%
  • Average18%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“wagyu burger” (6 reviews)
“spicy chicken” (8 reviews)
“scallops” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Dean Street, East Farleigh, Maidstone ME15 0PR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

This was our first ever visit to The Horseshoes, and we weren’t disappointed! There were 11 of us for a family birthday lunch and every single person at the table couldn’t speak highly enough about the venue, the food and the service; everything was absolutely...More

Thank KJE_78
General Manager A, Manager at The Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Wow! Thankyou for leaving us such an amazing review. It is great to hear what a lovely time you had with us and that you will be recommending us. The team work so hard and will be over joyed that they made your experience so...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Well it is an excellent menu, food well presented and served by friendly staff who have been trained how to serve (often not the case) pleasant décor, nice ambience but one of the joys of this restaurant is that there is no loud background music;...More

Thank joanna390
General Manager A, Manager at The Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thankyou so much for your 5* review. I am delighted to hear what a lovely experience you had with us. It is great to hear that our team and food impressed you and that the music was at the correct level - this is something...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

The food is great - the service itself we found slow both times we visited. Then again it's that typical type of Pub where they want you to keep ordering drinks whilst you hang around waiting for your food. Between starter and main we waited...More

Thank Claudia M
General Manager A, Manager at The Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review. I was disappointed to hear that you waited a long time for your food and cannot apologise enough. Although all dishes are cooked freshly we do sometimes run over our standard 30minutes cooking time, so...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Out for a drive and came across this excellent Pub, staff were very welcoming, food very good,a return visit is already being planned. A nice clean Pub well worth the visit.

Thank MJSnobes
General Manager A, Manager at The Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello, thank you for your lovely review! So glad you popped in to give us a try and thrilled to hear you will be returning! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Chloe Harris Shift Supervisor

A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We try to go out at least once a week for lunch. We happened to be passing and thought we would give it a try. Oh what a find. Our food was fantastic. The staff were friendly, attentive and knowledgeable. Good value for money. I...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
General Manager A, Manager at The Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thankyou so much for your lovely review. It is great to hear what a lovely time you had with us. We work so hard to ensure all guests enjoy their time with us so the team will be delighted that their passion shone through. We...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As a family we decided a few years ago to eat out together every 2 weeks on a social note, so you can imagine we have visited quite a number of restaurants in that time, and I have to say that our visit to The...More

Thank Linda B
General Manager A, Manager at The Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wow what an amazing review! Thankyou so much for taking the time to write this. We work so hard here at the horseshoes to ensure each and every guest has the best possible experience so it is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It’s a while since we have been here and we were surprised by the refurbishment it’s tastefully done sadly that’s the only good points. Unfortunately they seem to have crammed as many tables in as possible you feel like a sardine! The soup was watery...More

3  Thank Hooch2015
General Manager A, Manager at The Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review. We have not had the pleasure of having a refurbishment but we are glad to hear that the pub looked tasteful and in good condition. Our seating plan constantly changes in regards to what tables...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely Sunday lunch here, the only downside was there was a long wait due to it being so busy, defo worth the wait though!More

Thank Becki L
General Manager A, Manager at The Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thankyou so much for your 5* review and lovely comments. We do apologise for the long wait on Sunday but we are so glad you found the food worth the wait. We do hope to see you again very soon. Many thanks April Krom Assistant...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a meal and several drinks here last month with a friend. Menu was large and had lots of different options. Perhaps a little on the expensive side. Portions were a little small however the quality was great so I didn’t mind to much. The...More

Thank DanWalker55
General Manager A, Manager at The Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us and that the atmosphere was great. We like to give our guests the choice of casual dining or table service and the open...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We made a late reservation 7pm for a 9pm booking. We got lost on the way and were 10 mins late, and this wasn't an issue. The atmosphere was quiet and informal. We were given menus and drinks orders were fulfilled quickly. Starters arrive promply...More

Thank Kaz M
General Manager A, Manager at The Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thankyou so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We completely understand due our location some of our guests may get lost along the way but I am so delighted to hear the team were welcoming. I am glad to hear that...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Bull Inn East Farleigh
131 reviews
1.30 km away
The Walnut Tree Inn
18 reviews
1.08 km away
Spice Lounge
109 reviews
1.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Cock Inn
15 reviews
2.98 km away
Teston Bridge Country Park
105 reviews
3.38 km away
All Saints The Parish Church of Maidstone
33 reviews
4.03 km away
Whatman Park
42 reviews
3.97 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Anonomus_45
26 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from maxwellhubbard | Reviewed this property |
Nothing creepy about this
0
Votes
wookent
27 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Kelly R | Property representative |
Good afternoon, We do add a 10% optional service charge to tables above 8. This is completely optional though and can be removed at the guests request and can not be added if preferred or again requested. Kind... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$34
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic, View
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dean Street, East Farleigh, Maidstone ME15 0PR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Maidstone  >  East Farleigh
  • Phone Number: +44 1622 741683
  • E-mail
Description
A Country pub set in the beautiful village of East Farleigh. Offering a relaxed dining experience with fresh pub food. Ales, beers, and cocktails all available, along with a wide selection of soft drinks. Outside dining in the summer months, real open fires in the winter. All welcome; including dogs.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing