We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Smoke Shack

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
322 N Milwaukee St, Milwaukee, WI 53202-5814
+1 414-431-1119
11:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Sun 10:00 - 21:00
Mon - Fri 11:00 - 22:00
Sat 10:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 246: English reviews
Beloit, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
109 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were on a quest for good BBQ. The Smoke Shack is a cute little find in the Third Ward Milwaukee. It was quiet when we stopped in on a Friday afternoon. We were seated immediately. The wait staff was attentive. We ordered the habanero mac and cheese with pulled pork and a 3 meat sampler of sausage, pulled pork,... More 

Thank Donna0829
JoeSorge, Owner at Smoke Shack, responded to this review

Thanks for stopping in, Donna! Glad you got to try the sauces to take your BBQ to the next level. - Joe More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

we order 4 mixed of meat and got very disappointed with the quality and amount of food. I would not recommend anyone to eat here. This place is well deco and may proper for drink but not for BBQ fans.

Thank Yuppieinbkk
JoeSorge, Owner at Smoke Shack, responded to this review

Hey! Sorry you feel that way. We do our best to serve up quality BBQ, but we understand we can't please everyone. Hope you give us another shot sometime soon. - Joe More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were visiting Milwaukee and didn't know anything about the Smoke Shack. We had parked out front and immediately noticed the best smoke smell ever. After roaming for a while, we decided to go back there for brunch. Our waitress was very friendly and happy to make recommendations when asked. The mule made with grapefruit vodka was an excellent beverage... More 

Thank Lyn I
JoeSorge, Owner at Smoke Shack, responded to this review

Sounds like the ideal brunch to me! Thanks so much for stopping in, and for taking the time to review us. - Joe More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Went there with one of my friend, we ordered pulled chicken sandwich and pulled brisket sandwich, and few sides of macaroni and cheese and beans. The pulled chicken was very good. The food was really good, would definitely come back. Only thing that bothered us was the seating. We were too close to another table, my friend had to get... More 

Thank Jas2013
JoeSorge, Owner at Smoke Shack, responded to this review

Hey, thank you for the review! Sorry the seating was irksome - this is something we can look to improve. Glad you enjoyed the BBQ, though! - Joe More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

We had the beef brisket and it certainly was not smoked. Smoked meat should not have liquid dripping from it. The meat tasted like it was slow cooked with a lot of water. I was disappointed!

Thank Michelle T
JoeSorge, Owner at Smoke Shack, responded to this review

Hi Michelle, I assure you that all the meats on our menu are smoked. We do use a wet rub on our chicken, but everything else dry-rubbed, then smoked to juicy perfection. Sorry you were disappointed; I hope you give us another try in the future! - Joe More 

New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

We went there for brunch and wanted to sit on the patio. We were told it would be a 25 minutes wait. We were too hungry so we sat inside. The time to place our drink order took almost 15 minutes. What l am guessing was the "manager" asked if we had our drinks on order and seemed concerned about... More 

Thank kstoll
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

We never got the chance to eat. Waited for tables for 6 for 45 minutes on a Tuesday evening. When asked when will our tables be ready. The host was rude and unorganized and stated "I can't make anyone leave!"Ok I get it, but you can stop seating customers in one or the other empty tables next to each other.... More 

Thank Tiffany P
JoeSorge, Owner at Smoke Shack, responded to this review

Hey Tiffany, I'm so sorry about this. Not the way our customers should ever be treated! Would you be willing to let us make it up to you? Email us at feedback@hospitalitydemocracy.com if you're interested in coming back. - Joe More 

Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
351 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Cannot beat the BBQ at this small, cosy shack with an atmosphere better than Jupiter. Colorful, inviting and tasty. The sloppy joes are delicious. Will go back more than once.

Thank wlamb123
JoeSorge, Owner at Smoke Shack, responded to this review

Thanks so much! You're welcome back for sloppy joes anytime. - Joe More 

Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We ordered, Brisket, pulled port and chicken. The pulled pork was the best, the brisket and the chicken were as good, but still enjoyable. We had some salads and a few sides, the corn bread was very nice, but more like cake than bread. The service was very good and the whole experience was lovely. I would go back if... More 

Thank Andrew S
JoeSorge, Owner at Smoke Shack, responded to this review

Thanks, Andrew! You're welcome to stop in anytime you're in town. - Joe More 

Staten Island
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We ate brunch there, so they had a few breakfast choices in addition to their regular menu. The restaurant is very small and does not take reservations, but you can put your name on a waiting list using the nowait app. the biscuits and gravy was good and came with andouille sausage. The barbecue comes with the ability to add... More 

Thank merlin1124
JoeSorge, Owner at Smoke Shack, responded to this review

Hey, thanks for stopping by! Glad you enjoyed the Blues Brunch. - Joe More 

Travellers who viewed Smoke Shack also viewed


Been to Smoke Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$12 - US$25
American, Bar, Barbecue
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Television
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
10:00 - 21:00
11:00 - 22:00
11:00 - 22:00
11:00 - 22:00
11:00 - 22:00
11:00 - 22:00
10:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 322 N Milwaukee St, Milwaukee, WI 53202-5814
  • Location: United States  >  Wisconsin (WI)  >  Milwaukee
  • Phone Number: +1 414-431-1119
We're a cozy little joint with just 47 seats. This means we’re unable to accept reservations. Please feel free to walk in. Ooh, be sure to show up early – we sell out of much of our menu daily!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Smoke Shack and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Smoke Shack staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?