We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Iron Skillet Restaurant

717 S Sylvania Ave, Sturtevant, WI 53177-1226
+1 262-884-7500
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good15%
  • Average26%
  • Poor20%
  • Terrible17%
21 Oct 2017
“We only stop for the Kringles”
19 Aug 2017
“Breakfast stop whole driving through”
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Diner
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
717 S Sylvania Ave, Sturtevant, WI 53177-1226
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 40 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2018

We have a group of friends who play golf nearby in Racine and as we come from Illinois, we stopped at the Iron Skillet for breakfast. Food was terrible, none of us like it. Hard to screw up eggs and biscuits and gravy but they...More

1  Thank Buckeye1251
Skillet333, Guest Relations Manager at Iron Skillet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at the Iron Skillet. We are sorry for your disappointment, but appreciate that you brought this to our attention. Thank you.

Reviewed March 2, 2018

Large buffet for dinner with many dishes from a variety of Americanized cuisines. The beef and noodles stood out as savory and salty. As truck stop buffets go, this was much better than typical in both selection and quality.

Thank D3336HDkevinp
Skillet333, Guest Relations Manager at Iron Skillet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

This is terrific to hear...we truly appreciate that you reached out to us and let us know about your visit at the Racine Iron Skillet. Your feedback is helpful. Have a great week!

Reviewed December 11, 2017 via mobile

We stopped in for lunch on the way to an appointment. We all ordered the lunch buffet. Right away I noticed that everything appeared old and crusty. The lunch buffet goes from 11-4 and we got there at 1pm so it wasn't like we came...More

Thank Stop_This_Car
Skillet333, Guest Relations Manager at Iron Skillet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit. We appreciate your detailed evaluation and always appreciate the feedback. Please accept our apologies for your disappointment with your meal.

Reviewed October 21, 2017 via mobile

I cannot review the restaurant as we've never eaten here. But. There is an O & H Bakery inside which has an amazing selection - and supply - of their famous Kringles. We've had cheese filled, berry filled, apple filled - but our absolute favorite...More

Thank bunnyyoop
Skillet333, Guest Relations Manager at Iron Skillet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our store. As a locally owned business, we take pride in our facility, food and service. Thanks for stopping in to see us!

Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile

We remembered the Iron Skillet in Portage WI as being good so we tried this place on our way to Chicago. Bad move. Soup was salty, salad ok, no bread and it was not up to our expectations. Maybe a bad day for them but...More

Thank Roger B
Skillet333, Guest Relations Manager at Iron Skillet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

We apologize for your disappointment with your meal last week. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your dining experience.

Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile

Average food. My omelette was over cooked. We waited for quite a while for our food so i just ate it. Our kids had cheeseburgers...they said they were fine.

Thank 1971wiel
Skillet333, Guest Relations Manager at Iron Skillet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Thank you! We appreciate that you took the time to let us know about your recent visit with us!

Reviewed July 5, 2017 via mobile

We had to see one of the waitresses because our plans changed but thought since we were there would have dinner. But after being greeted by a very rude hostess/manager our plans changed so we just wanted to speak to the employee which were told...More

Thank Barbara R
Skillet333, Guest Relations Manager at Iron Skillet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017

Barbara: We are terribly sorry to hear this and thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Reviewed May 16, 2017

We decided to give this chain a try. We were really pleased all the way around. We were seated immediately by the hostess. Our waitress, Latrice, was one of the best I have ever had. Friendly, knowledgeable, always knowing when we needed something. Our food...More

Thank nephnurse
Skillet333, Guest Relations Manager at Iron Skillet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

Wonderful to hear! We appreciate that you took the time to let us know. Have a GREAT DAY and we hope to see you soon!

Reviewed April 25, 2017

We will not go there ever again the food wasn't good at all the sever was slow and she didn't come back till we where ready to leave

Thank laurynrenee1
Skillet333, Guest Relations Manager at Iron Skillet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

We apologize for your disappointment with your meal last week. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your dining experience.

Reviewed February 21, 2017 via mobile

Usually not a huge fan of the chain truck stop food but on this day at this Iron Skillet the food was actually fairly good. Service was good and very friendly.

Thank Donald H
Skillet333, Guest Relations Manager at Iron Skillet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2017

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your positive feedback. Have a great day!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Sturtevant
Quality Inn hotel in Sturtevant
115 reviews
.32 km away
Excel Inn
2 reviews
.45 km away
Days Inn by Wyndham Racine/Sturtevant
334 reviews
.50 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Mt. Pleasant-Racine West, WI
196 reviews
.56 km away
Nearby Restaurants
O & H Danish Bakery
45 reviews
.05 km away
Culver's
23 reviews
.14 km away
Route 20
85 reviews
.19 km away
McDonald's
6 reviews
.43 km away
Nearby Attractions
BR8KOUT Escape Rooms
28 reviews
6.09 km away
Great Lakes Dragaway
8 reviews
8.85 km away
Jo-Don Farms
18 reviews
9.54 km away
Skydive Midwest
25 reviews
2.27 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kellyharmon
October 17, 2015|
Answer
Response from Richard C | Reviewed this property |
I don't recall the exact price but I thought it was too pricey for what I saw on the buffet. I'm sure that the restaurant would tell you the price if you made a quick phone call.
-1
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
American, Diner
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Takeout, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
6:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Monday
6:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Tuesday
6:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Wednesday
6:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Thursday
6:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Friday
6:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Saturday
6:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 717 S Sylvania Ave, Sturtevant, WI 53177-1226
  • Location: United States  >  Wisconsin (WI)  >  Sturtevant
  • Phone Number: +1 262-884-7500
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;