We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$10 - US$40
CUISINES
American, Seafood
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveller rating
253
25
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
253
25
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mussels fresh lobster corn on the cob steamers blueberry pie corns tacos hard shell picnic tables vending machine citronella candles cooked to perfection outdoor seating wonderful meal fine dining acadia national park visiting bar harbor
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 24, 2020

Very reasonable! Fresh lobsters steamed up for you that were caught by the proprietor's husband that morning! If the weather is bad, and the fisherman wasn't able to go out to catch lobsters that morning, they may be closed .

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
34DavidP34, Owner at Rose Eden Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2020

We like to think of it as one of the original old fashioned lobster shacks. The best and freshest of seafood cooked the way it should be. Many thanks for the review.

Reviewed October 19, 2020

We picked up 4 lobsters here and Mussels. They were cooked to perfection and delicious. I have to say the Mussels were just fantastic and some of the best I've ever had. Prices were very reasonable too.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
34DavidP34, Owner at Rose Eden Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2020

Many thanks for the great review. Fresh seafood cooked as it should be wins the day every time.

Reviewed September 29, 2020

We’ve been to many a lobster restaurant - lobster pound to fine dining - and the lobsters we had last night we THE BEST lobsters ever. They were cooked to perfection and we tender and sweet. The shells were easy to crack and the whole...experience was a delight. We appreciated the distanced dining and the mask wearing at the restaurant. Even though it was drizzling I wouldn’t trade the meal for another. Well done!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
34DavidP34, Owner at Rose Eden Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2020

So good to hear that you enjoyed the lobsters. Fresh lobsters cooked the way they should be is a winner every time. Thanks for the review and hope you can come back again.

Reviewed September 13, 2020 via mobile

We scheduled our visit because we were on a short schedule-everthing was ready when we arrived & was not disappointed-EXCELENT to the last bite-will go back the first chance we get-Mike Watts& Friends!

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
34DavidP34, Owner at Rose Eden Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2020

Many thanks for the kind words. Please do come back again.

Reviewed September 7, 2020 via mobile

Just lobster, corn and mussels. Drinks from a vending machine. Plan ahead and get wine or beer from next store or BYOB. Lobster was best we had on the trip.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
34DavidP34, Owner at Rose Eden Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2020

Many thanks for the review. Sometimes doing only one thing and doing it very well is the best way to go. That's the way it is for our little lobster shack which only does traditional lobster dinners .

Reviewed August 29, 2020

Imagine you and your family are in your backyard with large metal pots of slightly salty boiling water exuding the steaming smell of lobsters, mussels, clams, and corn. That's Rose Eden. No frills. Just you, the 4-person all female staff, a few picnic tables, and...paper towels. The butter is kept melting in a coffee pot! Didn't know you could BYOB so make sure to BYOB or wine. There is a soda machine. I cannot overemphasize how perfect the food was! The husband goes out in the morning, catches what he catches, and then you eat it from 3p-7p. We got there at 6p and got the last two 1 1/2 lb. lobsters, there were some 2 and 2 1/4 pounders left, if you want a choice get there earlier. Not sure what was in that water but the meat was tender, juicy, melt in your mouth goodness with an ever so soft salty aftertaste, and the mussels, omg the mussels, melted in my mouth. No sand, no salty bitterness, not chewy or tough, just incredible. A must when visiting Acadia and Bar Harbor! Oh and 2 lobsters above, 1 lb. mussels, and 2 ears of corn only $49. Sweet!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
34DavidP34, Owner at Rose Eden Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2020

Many thanks for the great review. Good to hear that your experience was so positive. Hope you can visit again.

Reviewed August 28, 2020

With so many glowing reviews we were disappointed with our lobster dinner. The lobster meat in the tail was very small. One lobster was an appetizer and not a meal, you definitely need 2 lobsters to make a meal of this (they told us to...order 1). We got there just over 30 minutes before closing and they were overwhelmed and out of corn. Took about 45 minutes to get dinner, it was good but not excellent.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
34DavidP34, Owner at Rose Eden Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2020

Sorry your experience was not to your satisfaction. Come back again and give us a chance to work with you to make your experience the best possible.

Reviewed August 12, 2020

We have eaten here several times in the past and again this week while visiting the area. Their prices were more reasonable than the other, close by lobster place. (won't name it) The lobster dinner for 2 was very good. Steamers instead of mussels are...extra $. Staff very friendly. With COVID-19, people had masks on and easy to stay 5 feet apart.Will go again when we vacation in the area again.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
34DavidP34, Owner at Rose Eden Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2020

Great to hear that you had such a positive experience. Thanks for sharing.

Reviewed August 11, 2020

Food was delicious and very reasonably priced compared to other places to get lobster. The two women running it couldn't have been nicer. It was my first time eating a whole lobster and they helped me pick one out and explained how to open it...properly. It's also BYOB which is definitely a plus! Just be aware that they don't serve lobster rolls, it's just the whole lobsters (which you can get with corn and mussels).More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
34DavidP34, Owner at Rose Eden Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2020

Many thanks for the great review. Good to hear that your lobster eating "lesson" was a success.

Reviewed August 9, 2020 via mobile

We actually ate at C-Ray the first night and then we ate at Rose Eden the second night. Rose Eden was better food and all so much cheaper at $7.50 a pound vs $12.99 a pound at Sea Ray. The Ambiance at Rose Eden is...also much better where C-Ray has a dusty filthy parking lot. Also did not like the fact that C-Ray cashier constantly asking everyone for tips. Thought that was very distasteful...definitely go to Rose Eden you will have a better experience, better food and better value. We are out-of-towners from Maryland and have no prior experience with either one of these restaurants, ever.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
34DavidP34, Owner at Rose Eden Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to do a very nice review for us. It is always good to hear that our simple lobster shack is appreciated.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Belle Isle Motel
433 reviews
.33 km away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
649 reviews
.86 km away
Edgewater Motel & Cottages
368 reviews
2.10 km away
Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites
200 reviews
2.13 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Smokey's BBQ & Lobster
180 reviews
4.64 km away
The Travelin Lobster
518 reviews
4.25 km away
Trenton Bridge Lobster Pound
1,052 reviews
4.46 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Lamoine State Park
27 reviews
2.40 km away
Mount Desert Island
2,890 reviews
4.36 km away
Scenic Flights of Acadia
373 reviews
4.65 km away
Acadia Information Center - Bar Harbor Chamber of Commerce
30 reviews
4.47 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ormondgirl
July 15, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from David P | Property representative |
Sorry we are not within walking distance. We are not open earlier when cruise ships are visiting.
0
Votes
GuilderlandBob
October 8, 2018|
Answer
Response from Yvonne P | Property representative |
Our last day will be 15 October.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing