We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lava Restaurant

) #1 of 9 Restaurants in Grindavik $$$$ Seafood, European,
240 Grindavik | Blue Lagoon, Grindavik, Iceland
+354 420 8815
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good28%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“rack of lamb” (45 reviews)
“cod” (102 reviews)
“tasting menu” (44 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, Scandinavian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
240 Grindavik | Blue Lagoon, Grindavik, Iceland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 120 of 1,335 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Booked the Premium package although didn't take the opportunity to book a reservation at that point. As we arrived early for our entry time to the lagoon, we were in the cafe and then decided to enquire about gluten free options and then decided to...More

Thank Sue1967_35
BlueLagoonIceland, Manager at Lava Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Dear Sue1967_35, We are glad that you had a lovely visit and enjoyed our service. Look forward to seeing you again in the future! Kind regards, Lava Team

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

This was a delicious meal, not at all traditional Icelandic food but fresh and tasty. Excellent drink selection as well.

Thank Kelly J
BlueLagoonIceland, Manager at Lava Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Dear Kelly J, Thank you kindly for your nice words. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food and service. Kind regards, Lava Team

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Worth the visit after the Blue Lagoon. We booked our reservations online with a package and it was worth it. The food was wonderful and so was the service. A great way to wind down after being in the water for 5 hours. The main...More

Thank vinihochee
BlueLagoonIceland, Manager at Lava Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Dear Vinihochee, Thank you for taking your time and sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our food and service. Every comment helps us to improve for the better. Have a great day. Kind regards, Lava Team

Reviewed 9 April 2017

On our first day in Iceland, with little sleep from a night flight, we stopped at the Blue Lagoon. Needless to say, after the flight and a few hours in the lagoon, we were starving by the time lunch rolled around. Even though we didn't...More

1  Thank Caroline S
BlueLagoonIceland, Manager at Lava Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Dear Caroline S, Thanks for a lovely visit! Your praise means a lot to us and we are delighted to hear that your visit was fulfilling. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards, Lava Team

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Highly overpriced and overrated. If you can eat somewhere else, do it. Even if it means you have to buy a sandwich at the lagoon cafe. We were on Iceland for ten days and this was our worst dinner. The place is cool to have...More

Thank Porf F
BlueLagoonIceland, Manager at Lava Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Dear Porf F, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We value every constructive comment that we receive. Kind regards, Lava Team

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Before going into the Lagoon I booked lunch for my wife's birthday. It was really nice, we were welcomed with a glass of bubbly and the waiter really made a fuss of it being my wife's birthday. The food was lovely, fresh and well presented....More

Thank JakeDaniel
BlueLagoonIceland, Manager at Lava Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Dear JakeDaniel, We at Lava are highly appreciative of your review and thanks for a lovely visit. It is delightful to know that you enjoyed all aspects of our service and that you had a wonderful experience for this special celebration! Hope to welcome you...More

Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Fantastic environment by the lagoon. Surprisingly good food for a tourist attraction. Had a great lunch with family. Go for the set menues, especially the Icelandic.

Thank Peter R
BlueLagoonIceland, Manager at Lava Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Dear Peter R, Thank you for a lovely visit! We are delighted to hear that your experience was fulfilling. Come back soon! Kind regards, Lava Team

Reviewed 6 April 2017

We booked the premium package ISK 9,500, which came with a reservation and complimentary sparkling wine at LAVA. First was the choice of sparkling wine - dry or sweet Next was the complimentary bread..the butter was heavenly Torched Arctic char starter was next - an...More

Thank borderless_w
BlueLagoonIceland, Manager at Lava Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Dear Borderless_w, Thank you for your kind words and sharing your dining experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again! Kind regards, Lava Team

Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

On an overnight stopover we visited the lava Restraunt while staying a short walk away at the silica hotel. We opted for the taster menu and were not disappointed. We had amuse bouche of smoked lamb with Avocado cream presented in a tiny jar which...More

Thank joolsinthecrown
BlueLagoonIceland, Manager at Lava Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Dear Joolsinthecrown, We are delighted to read your review and thank you very much for a lovely visit. How great that you enjoyed the Icelandic Brennivín! We look very forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Lava Team

Reviewed 5 April 2017

We decided to dine here after our spa experience at the Blue Lagoon because we were heading straight to Grimsbourg where there were no real dining options. It's in a really cool room that overlooks the spa. The food was good. I had the Langostine...More

Thank Margaret R
BlueLagoonIceland, Manager at Lava Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Dear MargaretRobbins, We would like to thank you for your visit. We will continue to do our best to improve. Have a great day. Kind regards, Lava Team

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Blue Lagoon Restaurant
223 reviews
.01 km away
Bryggjan
680 reviews
4.62 km away
Salthusid
390 reviews
4.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Blue Lagoon
12,406 reviews
.01 km away
4X4 Adventures Iceland
306 reviews
4.84 km away
Volcano Tours
94 reviews
4.97 km away
Arctic Horses
23 reviews
4.14 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Garcia P
29 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from nameisjeff | Reviewed this property |
We went at about 7:30pm but I am not sure what time it starts from.
1
Vote
lizabethb78
14 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from carlversuslife | Reviewed this property |
When I visited last month the restaurant was near full (approx 140 people), of which about 9-10 were in robes - just as a heads up... It's acceptable but you'll be very outnumbered.
1
Vote
Margaret S
4 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from NurseRoodaal | Reviewed this property |
You must wear shoes.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$24 - US$59
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 240 Grindavik | Blue Lagoon, Grindavik, Iceland
  • Location: Europe  >  Iceland  >  Reykjanes Peninsula  >  Grindavik
  • Phone Number: +354 420 8815
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing