We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shanghai Cooking

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Triq Il-Halel | +356 2157 4303, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 2523, Malta
+356 9902 7608
Website
Today
11:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 12:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 12:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 69: English reviews
Bugibba, Malta
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017

If you are on holiday or even a local visiting Bugibba looking for Chinese food this is the place to be. Ask for the buffett list of food mark any item you want to eat and you`ll get everything you ask for . Great place.

Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey S
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2017

The food is decent and plentiful at very cheap prices. The service is prompt and friendly. It's not a place to visit for an important occasion or date, however it must certainly be tried if in the area. It exceeds any expectation if you're after satisfying a craving for Chinese cuisine.

Helpful?
Thank Diana655
Qormi, Malta
Level Contributor
142 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2017

If you are fussy about atmosphere do not go there. If you love chinese food and you want to have a huge, good, cheap meal this is the place to be. The staff are very friendly and they have a (by order) buffet system which is very convenient.

Helpful?
Thank Spidey513
Swanley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

After getting lost because app pinpoint wasn't where the restaurant was we then found it by the main square. Food was all freshly cooked and was very nice. Prices are very reasonable. Worth a trip if you fancy a Chinese.

Helpful?
Thank DWhitlock77
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Found this place by accident and ended up visiting twice in 3 days. Superb food, great value and such friendly people.

Helpful?
Thank Shirl R
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

I had big expectations before going to this restaurant after reading the other reviews on trip advisor. I must say I am very disappointed British Visitor as we arrived before other people but were served after. Waited an hour for the food which when it did arrive was tasty. But, either we did not fully get how the buffet menu... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
xihuanhu, Owner at Shanghai Cooking, responded to this review

hi!dear sir/madam first i am very sorry to make you hungry.and we really have problem for the served ,because on that day ,all the tables are come on the same time,that's why we don't know which one be the first but that is our problem . because we cooking all fresh ,so the food will be waiting longer than the... More 

Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

It was good Cantonese buffet dinner.excllent family service,authentic chiniese tasty food,affordable price. space to develop serving platter&cutlary. Overall good indeed.

Helpful?
Thank Sultan M
Bath
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Amazing food and great service highly recommend this awesome restaurant there was so much food and it was of great quality we were stuffed definitely worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank rosie M
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016

€7 Set menu with glass of wine was ok but could we have a more professional waiter/waitress appearance even if we were early entries.The appearance of 1st floor washing on the line does nothing to encourage entry.

Helpful?
Thank IHATEFRANKHARRIS
xihuanhu, Manager at Shanghai Cooking, responded to this review

HI, dear sir/madam.thank you for your proposal.we will try to do better,we are family business.maybe we are very tired on that day,because it is not easy to running business and baby care,baby cost us a lot of energy and time,but we try to doing the best,because you are not stay in malt ,so you don't know we change something by... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

We found this place by mistake and returned lots of times in the week we were in Malta. Food was lovely the young family who own it were fabulous. We received a good warm welcome. We hope to return next year. Thank you suki and jonny.

Helpful?
1 Thank Beckybuff25

Travellers who viewed Shanghai Cooking also viewed

Bugibba, Island of Malta
Qawra, Island of Malta
 
Qawra, Island of Malta
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 
Bugibba, Island of Malta
 

Been to Shanghai Cooking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Chinese, Asian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 12:00
Monday
11:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 12:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 12:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 12:00
Thursday
11:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 12:00
Friday
11:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 12:00
Saturday
11:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 12:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Triq Il-Halel | +356 2157 4303, Bugibba, Island of Malta SPB 2523, Malta
  • Location: Europe  >  Malta  >  Island of Malta  >  Bugibba
  • Phone Number: +356 9902 7608

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Shanghai Cooking and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Shanghai Cooking staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?