We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coach and Horses

) #9 of 87 Restaurants in Bishops Stortford $$ - $$$ , British,
Thorley Street | Thorley, Bishops Stortford CM23 4AS, England
+44 1279 710991
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good26%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (14 reviews)
“sunday roast” (18 reviews)
“pavlova” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Thorley Street | Thorley, Bishops Stortford CM23 4AS, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Went here for the Monday evening quiz night. The quiz was good fun and we decided to have some eats while there. The cheese board was lovely, maybe just needed a few more crackers to eat with the lovely cheese selection and apple and grapes....More

Thank RussShaw
CandH_Stortford, General Manager at Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Customer Many thanks for outstanding 5 *s. Alex the man with the microphone will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed the quiz, as am I as I write it each week. Our Quiz has recently become very popular, and most Quizzers dining whilst...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

A group of 16 from our Friendship Club went for lunch. Prices were very high - my Vege Dish of stuffed sweet potato was £12.95. A large glass of wine was £8.10 and even a member of staff agreed it was high but priced by...More

1  Thank ThatSandy2014
CandH_Stortford, General Manager at Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Customer Many thanks for reviewing us after your recent meal. I in fact, was the lady that served your table, so I am pleased that you thought the service was good. I appreciate your comments regarding the cost of wine and I am saddened...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent service and delicious food, great choice and value. What more can you want really. We had lunch recently for my birthday and it made the day super enjoyable. Thank you and keeping the excellent standardsMore

Thank JoRChurchLangley_UK
CandH_Stortford, General Manager at Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Valued Customer Many thanks for the brilliant review, we love it when we receive such superb feedback. Many thanks for choosing us and we hope to welcome you again very soon. Myself and the team really appreciate the time and effort taken to write...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Disappointing lunch. Slow service, not great quality. Gone downhill lately such a shame used to love the placeMore

1  Thank saraharding82
CandH_Stortford, General Manager at Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Customer I'm really saddened to hear that you had a disappointing lunch. Myself and the team haven't changed our ethos, we still try our hardest to ensure that each and every customer leaves only wanting to return. I apologise that you have left with...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited the Coach and Horses last night with friends.The two men ordered fish and chips my friend chicken with chips,and i ordered Roast rump of lamb.The fish and chips were very disappointing hard dry batter and dry chips.Most of the chips were left with a...More

1  Thank Frances504
CandH_Stortford, General Manager at Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Customer Firstly, may I pass on the apologies of all the team at the Coach and Horses. We are saddened to hear of your disappointing evening. We try our hardest to make sure that everybody leaves only wanting to return, unfortunately we didn't get...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I'm a fairly frequent visitor of the coach and horses and I have to say I've never been disappointed. The food is ok excellent quality and value and the service is really efficient and friendly. Top pub in Bishops Stortford!More

Thank Shawsie1981
CandH_Stortford, Front Office Manager at Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Customer Many, many thanks for your kind comments and generous 5 *'s. Myself and the team are delighted to hear such positive comments, it really makes us proud. I hope we continue to impress you, and please introduce yourself in person next time you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On our way home to Norfolk having been at Goodwood all day we googled pubs that were nearby, we had the Coach and horses suggested and as it was closest , off we went. We were so pleased we did when we arrived , this...More

Thank Happycampers1971
Sam T, Assistant Manager at Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello HappyCampers1971, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! We're so happy that you enjoyed the food and service it's lovely to read after a long busy weekend! I hope we get to see you again if you're passing this...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Such welcoming and friendly staff, excellent service and delicious food, the three things that continue to make our visits to the Coach and Horses such a great experience. Always good to see such friendly faces. Thanks for a lovely evening Coach and Horses. See you...More

Thank chrisflaps6
Sam T, Assistant Manager at Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Chrisflap6, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review! I'm glad you enjoyed the food and service, we train our staff to high standards of customer service and I'm delighted when I read it is showing! Thank you again and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely pub/restaurant with seating in the garden when the weather is lovely. Fab for relaxing and enjoying some delicious food. In the winter it's cosy and atmospheric inside. The staff are friendly and helpful and the menu suits a lot of tastes. The food is...More

Thank Lesley M
Sam T, Assistant Manager at Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Lesley M, Thank you for leaving such a lovely review. Terri our head chef has been working hard with her kitchen team to produce good food and they will all be pleased to know that hard work is paying off. The team will be...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went for Sunday lunch & despite the restaurant being really busy the service was good! The food however was exceptionalMore

Thank Susan W
Sam T, Assistant Manager at Coach and Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Susan W, Thank you for leaving your review. The entire team is so happy to read that you enjoyed both the food and service especially after such a busy day - it makes us all happy to read we got it right. We look...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The George
96 reviews
1.28 km away
Alberts
153 reviews
1.57 km away
Baan Thitiya
191 reviews
1.55 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Green Room Sawbridgeworth
23 reviews
4.01 km away
The Henry Moore Foundation
161 reviews
5.19 km away
Hatfield Forest Nature Reserve
154 reviews
5.38 km away
Mountfitchet Castle
362 reviews
6.54 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Neil J
17 May 2016|
Answer
Response from James C | Property representative |
Hello Neil J - As we are predominantly a restaurant we don't welcome dogs inside the pub, however we openly welcome dogs outside in our garden area. Understandably, this doesn't help you on rainy or cold days, but please... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Thorley Street | Thorley, Bishops Stortford CM23 4AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Bishops Stortford
  • Phone Number: +44 1279 710991
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing