We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bears Head

) #37 of 45 Restaurants in Penarth $ , British,
37-39 Windsor Road, Penarth CF64 1JD, Wales
+44 29 2070 6424
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good41%
  • Average12%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
“beans” (2 reviews)
“great pub” (6 reviews)
“quick drink” (2 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 23:30All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
37-39 Windsor Road, Penarth CF64 1JD, Wales
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2017

Eat here regularly, The steak days on Tuesday is very good value, their chips are not up to much, always a bit soggy so I usually ask them to double dip them, I've started having a baked potato and it's been very good. Their Flaming...More

Thank kimpeter2013
The Bears Head P, Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for leaving us some feedback on your recent visit. We are pleased to hear we hit the mark on our products and services and we are always happy to make any changes to any orders. we hope to see you again soon! Many...More

Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

We visited bank holiday Monday was extremely busy but managed to sit upstairs. We were just in time to order breakfast before midday. As a weatherspoons food was very cheap and just what we wanted for the children. Tables could have gone with clearing upstairs...More

Thank WelshChickjones
The Bears Head P, Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. Our apologies that your experience was not as positive as it could have been as customer service is of most importance to us. We have passed your comments onto the team and will provide...More

Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

Poor meal, got the burger mixed up. Asked for an original gourmet beef burger got a plain beef burger. Asked where the sauce was (bacon and a Stilton stropshire blue & spring onion) there is no normal beef burger on the menu so couldn't of...More

Thank Tiffany L
The Bears Head P, Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you leaving a review on your dining experience with us. We're sorry to hear that there an issue with your order and that it wasn't dealt with immediately. We have spoken to the team about this and aim to resolve these kinds of issues...More

Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

Vist this pub yesturday with my friend we both ordered fish and chips, it was the beat fish ever, great service friendly staff. will definatly be going back :), highly recommend to everyone.

Thank Jacky J
The Bears Head P, Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Thank you for leaving us a review, we are always pleased to hear when our customers have a positive visit! We hope to see you on your next visit! Many Thanks The Management Team

Reviewed 27 April 2017

Friday Night is Bear's Head Night! I meet a group of friends at the Bare Zed every Friday. Great! Interesting clientele, cheap booze, cheap (good) food on occasion. A terrific business model. Try a breakfast (more than I can eat for £5.99) and watch the...More

Thank alriyan
The Bears Head P, Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback. It is always a pleasure to hear good reviews and we're glad that you are enjoying our products/services/atmosphere! Many Thanks The Management Team

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Visited this Witherspoons today for breakfast. Amazed at the quality and quantity of the food. Excellent value and superb service. Served by 'Spencer', exceptional service, highly recommended.More

Thank Eddie F
The Bears Head P, Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your recent visit. We are pleased to here that you had a enjoyable time and that you would recommend our services. We shall certainly pass on the praise to the staff member and...More

Reviewed 30 March 2017

I was there for breakfast and multiple teas. Breakfast was a miss: No tomato on mine but not told - and no apology Sausage over cooked No choice of egg - fried egg not runny and black at edges No table check Wi Fi a...More

Thank andrewjetjockey
The Bears Head P, Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our apologies that your visit was not a positive one as we do aim to provide the highest level of customer service. The issues you experienced should have been brought to the managers attention...More

Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

My wife and I decided to have breakfast here, the breakfast wasn't bad the only thing is I wish it was hot when you get it, not cold, who train's the staff, it was edible but would be so nice to be hot. The staff...More

Thank Fishandcod55
The Bears Head P, Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Our apologies that it wasn't a totally positive one, but we will aim to rectify this issue. We are always willing to put right something that falls short of expectations so please do not refrain...More

Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

We regularly go here for fish and chips on a friday. Yesterday something occured my husbands meal was perfect, mine looked good but the fish was solid and unflakey in the middle. This was quickly exchanged for a fresh meal which sadly was the same...More

Thank Judith S
The Bears Head P, Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Hi Judith, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad the issue you had was dealt with promptly and with the minimum of fuss as customer service is of the highest priority to us! Our apologies again for the issues...More

Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Popped in for brekkie as daughter wanting a cooked breakfast. Staff attentive and very polite. Coffee tasted good. Very reasonable and brekkie devoured. No complaintsMore

Thank maggie1966
The Bears Head P, Manager at The Bears Head, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on your recent visit to us. We're pleased to hear that you had such a positive experience as we always aim to please! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Many thanks The...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Busy Teapot
187 reviews
.17 km away
Bar 44
360 reviews
.07 km away
The Crepe Escape
60 reviews
.11 km away
The Windsor
150 reviews
.23 km away
Nearby Attractions
Penarth Pier Pavilion
344 reviews
.79 km away
Glass By Design
16 reviews
.42 km away
The Golden Lion
31 reviews
.24 km away
Railway Hotel Penarth
45 reviews
.48 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Bears Head staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:30
Monday
08:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:30
Thursday
08:00 - 23:30
Friday
08:00 - 23:30
Saturday
08:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 37-39 Windsor Road, Penarth CF64 1JD, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Vale of Glamorgan  >  Penarth
  • Phone Number: +44 29 2070 6424
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing