We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cafe Sandspit

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1440 Sandspit Rd, Warkworth 0982, New Zealand
+64 9-425 9475
Website
Today
09:00 - 15:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Wed - Mon 09:00 - 15:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 237: English reviews
Hinwil
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Dirty knives and forks in a tin can on the table. A cook in dirty clothes that said he was a fine dining chef - must have been his dream to be as he wasn't in reality!!! Food edible but not impressive in taste or presentation. Expensive - $63.00 for 1 chicken schnizel and 2 chowders including mussel stomachs and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Joan F
rva1441, Owner at Cafe Sandspit, responded to this review

i imagine you enjoy putting others down to make yourself feel better about yourself... However you just come across as a pretentious loser. 63 bucks for three full meals and three drinks is cheap i reckon. More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent food, service and location! What more could you ask for? Gluten free choices for a coeliac? They had plenty of those too! One of my favourite places to eat out.

Helpful?
Thank Lunchbandit
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely place to get a generous plate of food with a nice view. Service was great, food delicious and well portioned. Cosy cafe. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful veiw whilst eating delish food being serve tasty coffee always with a smile.. was a good day 😊 thank you ginger man for good banter aswell 😊😊😊 will be back again

Helpful?
Thank Danielle R
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Located at the tip of a spit of land jutting out into the bay, it feels like you are eating on a boat! Wide panoramic East views, fresh delicious food, we will go again. Really easy to find (go to sandspit and just keep driving until you run out of land!) Good to enjoy fresh fish with a sea breeze,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dan M
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have had some very good meals here in the past. Turned up with some friends for Thursday lunch. Big sign outside saying " yes we are open" went in and asked for a menu. Only had one take-out menu on a clipboard with very meagre offerings, no "eat in" menu at all. My companions had sat down and found... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Kiwi_Pat_and_Paul
S.Glos.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2017

If you sit at the few tables in the window, it's like you are actually on the water as this part overhangs to sea. Lovely setting and scenery. Food very enjoyable but problem is that restaurant is not always open.

Helpful?
Thank Margarita2008
Level Contributor
103 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

We popped in to grab a coffee before taking the Kawau Island Mail run cruise & wow what a disappointment. Asked for a flat white and got told "no we do lattes", the coffee tasted burnt and was so hot that I couldn't hold the cup. Sad as they're the only coffee shop at the jetty. The other goods they... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank nomadmattm
rva1441, Owner at Cafe Sandspit, responded to this review

hello again.... lets be accurate, you asked for a large flat white and i explained that we only have a flat white at 190ml or a latte at 250ml.. you ordered a flat white in a large cup, which is a latte. secondly you asked for your coffee to be extra hot. i explained that we heat the coffee to... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Friendly staff, great chips and good coffee. This was a good stop with kids as we headed to Kawua island on the ferry.

Helpful?
Thank ShaneDooley
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2017

I don't understand the owner's attitude, but it seems that the customer must pass his rudiments of politeness test. Very inappropriate and unpleasant. Almost a Fawlty Towers type persona.

Helpful?
4 Thank Nihonihoohura
rva1441, Owner at Cafe Sandspit, responded to this review

i think you understand us perfectly well... if you're gonna come here and be impolite to us we will be impolite back.. most of our customers are nice people and therefore have a nice experience... a small percentage of our customers are not nice and have a not nice experience. More 

Travellers who viewed Cafe Sandspit also viewed

Warkworth, Auckland Region
Warkworth, Auckland Region
 
Warkworth, Auckland Region
Warkworth, Auckland Region
 
Snells Beach, Auckland Region
Warkworth, Auckland Region
 

Been to Cafe Sandspit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$17
Cuisine
Cafe, European, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 15:00
Monday
09:00 - 15:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 15:00
Thursday
09:00 - 15:00
Friday
09:00 - 15:00
Saturday
09:00 - 15:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1440 Sandspit Rd, Warkworth 0982, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Warkworth
  • Phone Number: +64 9-425 9475
Description
A pretty seaside cafe with the water coming right up to below the conservatory window at high tide. All meals are cooked freshly to order or chose a quick home baked snack. Fully licensed and open 7 days a week for breakfast lunch and dinner. If you would like to come for dinner due to our scenic location please be sure to book so we know you will be coming along.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cafe Sandspit staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?