We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room

8 Fort St, Springfield, MA 01103-1208
+1 413-734-7475
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good27%
  • Average10%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“schnitzel” (51 reviews)
“fried cheese” (18 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, German, European, Central European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
8 Fort St, Springfield, MA 01103-1208
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We, all 9 of us came in for an early dinner around 4 pm. We had a reservation but seating would not have been a problem since there is ample room in the dinning area. Our waiter was prompt and friendly. Our appetizers came out...More

Thank Tina P
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for your nice review. It is funny how the once shunned Brussels Sprouts have become stars in the culinary firmament. We have been greeting toddler on Fort Street for over 80 years and it is lucky-that we had some spare room to let the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Terrific classic German food, service, and atmosphere. Especially delicious were the SAUERBRATEN, CHICKEN SCHNITZEL, and SAUERBRATEN.More

Thank 952herbertf
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We have been happy that the guests at the casino take a break from gaming and a walk down Main Street to the restaurant. although the casino has several dining venues, they are without Germanic options, we also serve excellent seafood and steaks. Thanks for...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This noisy restaurant features German food. Unfortunately, our food was not very good. My meat loaf was ok but it was covered with a gravy that was very salty. My wife's veal was swimming in a white sauce with little flavor. Our friend had some...More

Thank swj
Rudirup, Owner at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your experience at the restaurant. We were unexpectedly busy that evening and the place got louder than usual. I wish that you had told us that your were not happy with the meals...we would have been...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I confirmed it with our server...some things have changed. The coffee, for instance. Not the same--still good after your meal, but not as good as coffee they used to serve. The bread they offer is AMAZING and there was plenty of it. My standby dish...More

Thank Jenny C
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am glad that you were happy with your dining experience. Some things have changed and perhaps needed to be changed. I will check out the coffee and make sure that it is being properly brewed. We hope to see you again on Fort Street.

Reviewed August 6, 2018

Had a really nice anniversary dinner here in Early June. I had the bratwurst with potato cakes. My wife had the special. We also got the fried brie appetizer that was excellent. This is a great place for special occasions or even just for a...More

Thank HotelAWeek1963
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Thanks for the nice review! Our fried cheese is a great start to an evening. The bratwurst is a classic German dish on Fort Street. I like it with a bit of sauerkraut. We are glad that you enjoyed your anniversary and we hope to...More

Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

Carmel was extremely helpful with menu choices and photo ops. Thank You!! parked on the street just outside (meters FREE at night) but valet parking staff were waiting to make this an experience to savorMore

Thank John B
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2018

John we appreciate the nice review. Carm is a very pleasant server. Our valets do a great ob in making a first impression on our customers. I don't know if you enjoyed a lobster or lobster roll, even though Nova Scotia does a have some...More

Reviewed July 29, 2018

It started with free valet parking and stayed first class all the way. The staff was efficient and friendly. Our server had a great sense of humour, and made it an entertaining evening. The cuisine is German and our meals were delicious.

Thank Yvette C
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

We appreciater the nice review. The valets do a great job in making a favorable first impression on our customers. I am pleased that your enjoyed he food and had an entertaining time on Fort Street. Thanks Again!

Reviewed July 28, 2018

We've been eating here for 30 years and have never been disappointed. Tonight was no exception. We were celebrating our grandson's promotion. I had one of the specials--fried belly clams which I ordered with crispy brussel sprouts. Delicious and plentiful! My husband's duck was perfect...More

Thank Karen L
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2018

Thanks for the nice review! I think that our fried clams are a great item, and you don't have to drive to the shore. it is too bad that you could not enjoy dessert. I guess that eat inf dessert prior to the meal is...More

Reviewed July 26, 2018

Every city should have a restaurant that is "an institution", inextricably linked to its history and fortunes, good and bad. For Springfield, that's the Fort, which has been making most customers happy almost every night and day since 1935. After its near death experience a...More

Thank ulysses4
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Thanks for the kind words, Alan. The review means a lot coming from a long time and valued customer. Changes needed to be made, and a good job was done to brighten up the establishment while keeping the character intact. Some of the more obscure...More

Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

Excellent food and service at Student Prince! We really enjoy it as we always do! Great atmosphere and decor.

Thank Phyllis W
Rudirup, Manager at The Student Prince Cafe & The Fort Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

Thanks for the nice review. People have been enjoying lunch on Fort Street for over eighty years...See you on Fort Street!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Springfield
Tower Square Hotel Springfield
394 reviews
.25 km away
Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place
608 reviews
.29 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
737 reviews
.60 km away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield Downtown
14 reviews
.66 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Theodore's
375 reviews
.10 km away
Panjabi Tadka
71 reviews
.13 km away
Adolfo's Italian Restaurant
91 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Springfield Armory National Historic Site
255 reviews
1.41 km away
Springfield Museums
419 reviews
.62 km away
Dr. Seuss National Memorial Sculpture Garden
400 reviews
.66 km away
Basketball Hall of Fame
570 reviews
1.31 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Christopher R
October 7, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Bill P | Property representative |
Sorry for the delay, Saturdays andSunday's you can park anywhere, street meters are free. We do validate for the Hampden Street lot at the end of Fort st., Monday thru Saturday for our lunch hours. We also have Monday thru... More
0
Votes
Destination807505
October 1, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from StudentPrinceMgmt | Property representative |
Yes. Mikey and Al are still here.
0
Votes
Destination807505
April 14, 2016|
Answer
Response from Rudirup | Property representative |
I am still around. "I tried to get out, and they pulled me back in." I work a few shifts at the door and I am helping out with menus, etc. I will be working tomorrow evening, April 16. Thanks for asking., Come in and take... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$28
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Monday
11:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Tuesday
11:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Wednesday
11:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Thursday
11:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday
11:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Saturday
11:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8 Fort St, Springfield, MA 01103-1208
  • Location: United States  >  Massachusetts (MA)  >  Springfield
  • Phone Number: +1 413-734-7475
Description
The landmark restaurant of Downtown Springfield with dedicated service and a German accent since 1935.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing