We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Good Story Restaurant

484 Pelena Road, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
+94 77 454 6141
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good16%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible10%
17 Apr 2017
“Good food at good prices”
8 Jan 2017
“Good food a little loud mu”
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
484 Pelena Road, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2017

amazing for group travellers, young people and couples, only one place in welligama serving SHISHA(hookah) nice staff, when we get there it was almost closed but bartender still serve us and made a Shisha, he let us sit there even after he left)) was very...More

Thank Yura K
Reviewed 17 April 2017

A lot of haphazardly built buildings that s now a surf school frequented mainly by Russians. The open kitchen serves up good sandwiches and soups and salads. Very clean and open spaces. Reasonable prices. Highly recommend the tuna tartare

Thank anura1961
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Very small menu, but good food and relax atmosphere. Not very child friendly food. Good and friendly service.

Thank HansJakob P
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

We came to this restaurant because it looked really nice, modern and inviting. But then we were really disappointed by the slow and incapable service (they didn't know what's exactly in their dishes!) and the small portions compared to the high prices. Furthermore I have...More

Thank valeriaoceane
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

The Good Story Restaurant is decidedly more upscale, and more pricey, compared to it's neighbours on the beach (W15 the only exception to that rule). The food was good but in an International Pan-Asia style and service quick at least early in the evening. But...More

Thank Stefan K
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

Turned away initially as the restaurant wasn't ready. We got in and ordered a special, which was a veggie lasagne. Came quickly and tasted good. However the portion sizes were tiny, my wife's was around 6 bites and clearly just the scraps. On leaving we...More

2  Thank Rob P
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately, chefs weren't prepare and couple of the item were missing. So we had tuna burger which was bad and chips were uncooked. Also when we wanted to order a dessert, waiter gave us a menu, took an order and only after said, that now...More

Thank Julia G
JohnyGOODSTORY, Owner at Good Story Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2016

Hello Julie, thanks for your review! Its is always important for us to hear feedback from our guests, because we want to be better and better everyday! Well yes, sometimes its happened that we don't have some dishes because some products out of stock in...More

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

It took us 1 hour for the food to be given to us. And even then the waiter missed an order and we had to order again.More

Thank Vincent M
JohnyGOODSTORY, Owner at Good Story Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

Good day , Vincent. Thank you for you feed back, it's really important for us. We need your help to figure out the situation. Can you clarify exactly date, time and may be the waiter of your visit, because our manager didn't hear any information...More

Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

This has been a great restaurant to eat at; efficient, clean and airy with an affordable menu. For an avid meat eater it has been great to enjoy the fresh vegetable, seafood and fruit options. They have also been very gracious in accommodating our children's...More

Thank Sibueno
JohnyGOODSTORY, Owner at Good Story Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

Good day, Sibueno! Thank you so much for your comment, it is always good to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay, atmosphere . We wil do our best for your next visit, so hope to see you soon. Good Story team.

Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

We had breakfast at Good Story even though we didn't stay there. It was very good! I had the pancakes which was great! The boys omelettes was a bit small which didn't come with much else besides toast. Great staff! Great accommodation on the beach!!!...More

Thank Rachel V
JohnyGOODSTORY, Владелец at Good Story Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Good day Rachel, Thank you for your comment, it is really nice to hear such greats words! Hope you going to stay at our place next time, and enjoy even more! With best wishes, Good story team

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Meewitha Cool Spot
256 reviews
.57 km away
Aloha Home&Kitchen
104 reviews
.62 km away
Hangten Rooftop Restaurant
75 reviews
.35 km away
Soul cafe
64 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Surf 'n Lanka
137 reviews
.16 km away
Surfmakers Surfing School
75 reviews
.35 km away
Good Spa
29 reviews
.91 km away
Weligama Surf Tours
138 reviews
.62 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Good Story Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$5 - US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 3:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 3:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 3:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 3:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 3:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 3:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 3:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 484 Pelena Road, Weligama, Matara 81700, Sri Lanka
  • Location: Asia  >  Sri Lanka  >  Southern Province  >  Matara  >  Weligama
  • Phone Number: +94 77 454 6141
  • E-mail
Description
Original cuisine restaurant with a selection of vegetarian and fish dishes. Our kitchen use only local farm products and fresh morning seafood. We work with Moscow chefs Ilya Vasiliev and Konstantin Matveev proven "DOOR 19", "PINCH", "Olive Beach", "Restaurant" 15 kitchen + bar "... and others. Especially here, in Sri Lanka, the boys have the opportunity to experiment, searching new combinations of flavors. The ability to be creative in their work, moving away from stereotypes and concepts of megapolis restaurants. It's a great opportunity to express themselves , always prepare delicious food, surprising all our guests.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing