We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ye Olde Tavern

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
47 Bath Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
+27 23 614 2398
Website
Today
17:30 - 21:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 17:30 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

527 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 442: English reviews
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We visited on a busy hot night without having a reservation . The food was delicious, the corkage charge very low and our waitress was friendly and efficient All good, nice evening had by all

Helpful?
Thank Jaluka123
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The food was very poor. The fillet steak had to be returned as did the creme Brulee We had a price reduction but no apology from the owner.we had previously eaten at the old location and the food was excellent

Helpful?
Thank gardeners94
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review

My sincere apologies that you return visit to us was not as enjoyable as the first and that I was not able to apologise for the poor dining experience in person. I am not sure which night you visited but it might have been at the time I had to sort out a few problems in the kitchen. We have... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice food. Waiter said there would be a bit of a wait for food but it came pretty quickly. I had curry and my wife had the ribs. Ps. Lovely onion rings

Helpful?
Thank John D
tavernowner, Manager at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review

Happy to hear that all was well with your evening spent at Ye Olde Tavern - nice review - thank you! More 

Blairgowrie
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

'Ye Olde' is now new and round the corner from the old place. Busy as ever, so we were glad to get a table without reservation. Out back is a nice garden with tables, where we enjoyed large steaks and good red wine at decent prices. Good to be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank WRB72
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review

A lot of hard work has gone into renovating this beautiful building and it is pleasing to note that you enjoyed the new premises, your food and found the prices to be of good value and better still, to note that you will return - thank you for your review! More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The restaurant had only moved premises a couple of days before our visit but you could not detect ant teething problems. The service and quality of the food was excellent (lamb shank to die for) but I felt the place lacked atmosphere. Perhaps that will come later.

Helpful?
1 Thank ght1948
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review

Your review is very much appreciated and your comments will be conveyed to all my staff members - thank you! More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We were recommended this place by our B&B on a Sunday evening with not much else going on in this quiet town. Initially the service was great with drinks orders being served promptly with a smile in the pleasant garden. Unfortunately the rest of the evening was spent asking when our food was coming. One staff member Jessica deserves a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dovinesque
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and effort to write your review - I do apologise for the slow service with your meal - we are experiencing quite a few electrical problems which we did not foresee which is causing quite a few difficulties in the kitchen but hopefully within the next week they should be sorted out and the... More 

Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a terrible experience at the Tavern, which was recommended as the go-to dinner place in pretty eventless Montagu. We got there at 7 pm and ordered food but left hungry and without being served at 9 pm. We were repeatedly told our food was coming in 5 minutes, then at some point they said the pasta we ordered... More 

Helpful?
Thank EHenning80
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review

Firstly, my sincere apologies that you left our restaurant without getting any food. This has only happened once before in 7 years since we have been in business. I do remember that evening we were extremely busy and short staffed in the kitchen and I had to jump in to help. I also apologize on behalf of our staff who... More 

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Delicious food!! Very good prices!! Wonderful waitress!!The patio at the back is awesome! Highly recommendable!

Helpful?
Thank Angie P
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review

Such a wonderful review - thank you for taking the time to post it - very much appreciated. More 

Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ate here on Thursday night as recommended by a local. Restaurant has recently and appears to be getting to grips with its new premises. Service was very poor as we waited 45 minutes for our main course. Menu accurately describes this wait time as a possibility at busy periods. Sonja the manager /owner apologised and waived part of the bill.... More 

Helpful?
Thank reavley
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. My apologies for the slow service! We are experiencing a few "teething" problems which one encounters when moving into new premises and we are working on improving them every day! More 

Montagu
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sonjia is the perfect host. This lady was all over the show when I had dinner ther last Friday, making sure her guests are being looked after. It was a wndless evening and we could sit outside, the admosphere was tranquil and I thought one could not do better. The Bobotie needed a bit more umph, but my spare ribs... More 

Helpful?
Thank SalominaMontagu
tavernowner, Owner at Ye Olde Tavern, responded to this review

This is such a nice and friendly review - I am so happy that you enjoyed yourselves and your comment "I wish you well" means a lot to me - thank you for the good wishes - it is very much appreciated! More 

Travellers who viewed Ye Olde Tavern also viewed

Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
 

Been to Ye Olde Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$12 - US$19
Cuisine
Bar, British, Grill, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
17:30 - 21:30
Monday
17:30 - 21:30
Tuesday
17:30 - 21:30
Wednesday
17:30 - 21:30
Thursday
17:30 - 21:30
Friday
17:30 - 21:30
Saturday
17:30 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 47 Bath Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Montagu
  • Phone Number: +27 23 614 2398

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ye Olde Tavern staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?