We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fishpond Freehouse

204 South Parade, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3NR, England
+44 1629 55006
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good30%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (85 reviews)
“bread” (24 reviews)
“chilli” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
204 South Parade, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3NR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 551 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We came to the fishpond a few days ago and it was absolutely lovely. The meal was delicious, the best cooked steak I’ve had in a good while, salad was lovely, and the chips were fabulous. We went upstairs on the roof terrace to finish...More

Thank Kimberley W
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Popped in for lunch & food was great & good value. Staff were really friendly & they have live music on in the evenings at the weekend. Out of season this seemed to be the only nightlife in Matlock Bath. The only disappointing thing was...More

1  Thank Debbie L
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and friends went for a day out at Matlock and Matlock Bath,after walking around the quaint little touristy villages we were getting very peckish and decided on Lunch in The Fishpond.... Nice atmosphere inside and a good substancial menu very reasonably priced. The Sunday...More

1  Thank Glen F
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited this pub for a meal in October and had 2 pizzas for £12 and they were delicious! It was a very warm and welcoming atmosphere in this pub and great value for money as we are a family of 3 and all ate...More

1  Thank lukeycrouch
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Appalling service. Staff not interested in being there more interested in talking to each other. Overpriced and burnt food.More

Thank caroldr2016
Fishpondteam, Manager at The Fishpond Freehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Oh Dear, sorry to hear this, sounds like we didnt create a good first impression. If you can let us know when you dined with us we can talk to those who were on shift when you visited, otherwise please allow us to reassure you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fabulous pizzas on an offer of 2 for £12 on weekdays. Great kids menu and a perfect place for a family meal.

1  Thank MooeyWirral
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for a meal here while we were here for the weekend. Food fantastic make sure you are hungry before you go in. Second time we have been went there back in July when we went for the weekend. We share the baked Camembert it...More

1  Thank weehen63
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Only popped in for a couple for drinks after being at Alton Towers all day, lovely friendly staff, water fall & pond in garden was very pretty

2  Thank Heidi D
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

great choises of drinks and food very nice outside garden ,feature waterfallfab staff very helpfull good service

2  Thank mim g
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited around 1pm Saturday afternoon, second visit a year apart. The pub wasn't very busy. The bar staff were rude and sharp. Garlic bread pizza with cheese was lovely however very small. Kids meals were chicken dippers, home batter chicken piece however it was so...More

2  Thank Picky1x
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kostas Fish Bar
204 reviews
.18 km away
Cherry's Cafe
111 reviews
.04 km away
China Rose
266 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Heights of Abraham
2,670 reviews
.58 km away
Birdswood
86 reviews
1.23 km away
Gulliver's Kingdom
1,117 reviews
.16 km away
Cascades Gardens
34 reviews
1.19 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
siobhan h
7 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Fishpondteam | Property representative |
Yes we do from 11am until 9pm every day
1
Vote
Joanne G
4 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Rachel M | Reviewed this property |
Not specifically however they have a really good menu range and home baked pizza oven so I’m sure you will be absolutely fine. Enjoy
0
Votes
1 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Steve S | Reviewed this property |
Yes..... I'm sure they had a great choice of ciders and ales...
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$17
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Buffet, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 11:30 PM
10:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Monday
10:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 204 South Parade, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3NR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Matlock  >  Matlock Bath
  • Phone Number: +44 1629 55006
  • E-mail
Description
The Fishpond Matlock Bath represents the ultimate free house experience for the people and visitors of Matlock Bath. Offering an unsurpassed range of traditional beers, continental lagers, fine wines, spirits and soft drinks, the bar is a great place to meet with friends or family. By working with our local breweries we hope to provide our customers with a more sophisticated selection at the bar. Guests of our establishment are not only offered a dynamic place to gather and mingle, but also a place to participate in the entertainment through interactive events, celebrations, and live music. Our Artisan bakery provides our menus with the finest breads, pastries and pizza - all served in our casual dining ambiance. The philosophy of food at the fishpond is to ethically source seasonal fresh produce and to deliver an unrivalled taste experience. Our Espresso coffee and Teas selection is available throughout service along with menus that reflect the time of day. For those wanting a spot of live music Over the years The Fishpond name has become synonymous with Live Music, our 200 capacity Ballroom regularly hosts live bands and entertainment. To see our full event listing please check our gig guides. And we are also proud of our somewhat undiscovered Raft Restaurant... The Raft restaurant floats neatly on The Fishpond at Matlock Bath and retains many of the historic buildings original features. This restaurant is currently only available for private hire, with bespoke menus and various options. Dont be put off by this, our restaurant is usually free to hire if you're having a meal. We also host special events and themed evenings here, so watch this space. We take pride in the reputation we have as a friendly, welcoming and professional venue, and hope to see you soon at The Fishpond!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing