The Boathouse

The Boathouse

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 7538 038824+ Add website
Hours
Sun
12:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.12:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Mon
12:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue
12:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed
12:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu
12:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Sat
12:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Is this a British restaurant?
About
The Boathouse is a contemporary restaurant situated on Antrim Loughshore. We serve proper fish & chips, wood fired pizza and a range of fresh seafood dishes, along with old favourites, such as steak pie, gourmet burgers and tacos. We serve food for lunch and dinner, with everything made fresh, in-house and we also offer take-aways!
PRICE RANGE
$9.00 – $44.00
CUISINES
Pizza, Seafood, British, Grill
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Table Service
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles279 reviews
Excellent
178
Very good
36
Average
18
Poor
26
Terrible
21
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Insomnimum85
Belfast65 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 family
A good addition for Antrim, with nice surroundings and view but left a little bit disappointed. We arrived for breakfast at 930 (opens at 9 on a Sunday) and were the first table there (might have been a smaller table seated out of sight) and were told that they had ‘just run out’ of smoked salmon. So they definitely ran out the day before and this was disappointing to my mother who had checked the (rather limited) breakfast menu beforehand and was excited to eat it. If you run a small menu, you really need to have those limited items in stock. We were sat in a booth that had sooooo many cushions and as such there was no room for our whole party to comfortably sit together - so, my mother asked a waitress if she could use a chair to sit at the end of our booth, she was told yes. Only to be approached by a manager and be told ‘he couldn’t allow this” which felt like a scolding. The food we ordered was nice, but the service has a long way to go. We had a few items forgotten that had to be chased up and when the bill arrived, we had been charged for the smoked salmon dish when my mother had ordered eggs and toast just. The coffee was lovely but wasn’t hot and as such, went cold very fast but we asked for some boiling water and were able to refresh some of the cups. Now, it was all ironed out after we raised it but I would expect to have to be alert next time to ensure everything arrived and that our bill was accurate. If I heard the service had improved, I think I’d go back.
Written January 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Colm M
Belfast19 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 couples
Good food, nice decor and great views from this new Lough shore restaurant. Good addition to the restaurant scene in the area but it could be so much better. First, as others have mentioned, the service could be better eg: our waitress had to go off to the bar to determine what the fish of the week was and when she returned I asked whether there were any potatoes with the dish - she thought there was but couldn’t tell me what type! At the end of the meal we ordered two Americano coffees but the coffee was too bitter. It wasn’t an issue of being too strong because we both like strong coffee and often order espressos - it was just too bitter. Both these problems should be easily resolved. If resolved this could be our top restaurant in the area!!
Written January 25, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Rachel G
Belfast65 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 family
First time eating here. There's something for all tastes on the menu. The monkfish scampi was lovely and the steak and goujons my family got were very tasty. Price was reasonable and the view was good, overlooking the boats and Lough Neagh. The only reason I didn't give The Boathouse 5 stars is because the staff seemed a bit preoccupied and had to be reminded a few times for the dessert menu. They also brought our cutlery out, after the meal had already been served! If you're wanting decent food and a view when you're eating your meal without paying an extortionate amount, then visit this restaurant.
Written July 22, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Brian R
Antrim2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 friends
Please note : this Resturant is subsidised by ANTRIM and NEWTOWNABBEY Borough Council attended the Boathouse on Saturday for breakfast. Service was a bit slow but food arrived and was excellent and value for money. Had to ask 3 x different staff for the bill though. We ordered a pot of tea as there was 4 x of us. We each got 1 x cup each approx As with most breakfast fry’s we decided to ask for another pot of tea. On our bill we were charged £8 per pot of tea x 2 = £16!!!! It states £2 per cup of tea on the menu but nothing to accommodate ‘a pot ‘ I think this is a disgrace and and easy way to loose 4 x customers.
Written January 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roam57598580763
Hi Brian, Thanks for your review. We are glad that you found the food excellent and value for money. Sorry to hear you were otherwise disappointed. We charge £2 per cup of tea, and your party ordered 8 cups total, which is why you were charged £16. We do have our prices on the menu, so we apologise if there was any confusion.
Written January 15, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

robertandsimone
Belfast124 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
1. When we booked we requested a window seat. When we arrived not only were we not given a window seat we were squashed in beside other people despite there being a number of tables free...including one at the window! 2. When seated we were not offered a drink...this should be automatic when customers are looking over the menu. 3. We were left for quite a while and found it impossible to attract anyone's attention. 4. When some one eventually came back to our table we enquired about the lunch menu (seen on line but not provided when we arrived), we were then informed the lunch menu was no longer being offered as it was being worked on...don't advertise it if you aren't serving it. 5. Once again left to look at the menu without an offer of a drink. A lovely setting and could be fantastic but unfortunately being badly let down by the basics. It is almost as if it is being run by someone with no knowledge of the hospitality industry.
Written January 17, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roam57598580763
Hi there, We are really sorry to hear about your recent experience. We have taken your points on board regarding the service; that is not the standard we wish to provide. With regards to window seating, we do accommodate requests where we can but as we have been fully booked since opening, it is impossible to meet every request and instead our booking system operates a first come, first serve basis when booking. Although it may appear that tables are free, they are waiting for expected arrivals/ other bookings to arrive. We have not advertised our lunch menu since we have stopped doing it, so you may have seen this on an older Facebook post. Again, we have taken your points on board and we appreciate the feedback.
Written January 22, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

K2010x
Stranorlar11 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 family
We were up for a visit from Donegal last week & I Decided to go here with my children, on arrival and after being ignored, I was informed we came in the wrong door; (there was no signs, and had no idea we came in the exit) it was obviously an ongoing problem as I seen at least 5 other sets of customers do it from the time we arrived until we left. We sat for a good 20 minutes and no one came near us, I had to ask a member of staff to take our order, I requested a baby bowl for my baby and specifically said I wanted a baby bowl (potatoes & soup) and not two separate portions. I also ordered tagliatelle and pizza for my older son, the pizza came along with a tossed salad. I told the waitress I didn’t order that and I ordered a tagliatelle. I had to wait a further 10 minutes for my order to be prepared. My sons “baby bowl” came which was a full soup with bread and a separate portion of potatoes. Exactly what I said I didn’t want. There was at least 2-4 flies around every table in the restaurant the entire time. Everybody was pushing them away, I couldn’t even take a drink as they were landing on our food the whole time, it was absolutely disgusting. The most uncomfortable meal I think I’ve ever had. My food was bland and not tasty, I didn’t finish it but I didn’t complain either as I already felt like I’d complained a lot up to this point. Although I will say My son did enjoy his pizza and my baby seemed to enjoy his food also. I asked for a desert menu and waited again for 10 minutes before I asked for it from a second waitress again, The desert was really nice and we all enjoyed that. When the bill came the soup and potatoes were priced separate and I did say I wasn’t willing to pay for them both as I did order a baby bowl. The lovely waitress with the red hair sorted that for me. I found the other female waitresses very rude and unfriendly. All in all I would not recommend this place and I certainly would not return.
Written August 17, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TOTTBarGrill
Hi there, I am really sorry to learn of your recent experience at The Boathouse. It is certainly not the experience we aim to provide. I have carried your comments back to the team to ensure that this does not happen again, with your request for baby bowl coming out as two separate items. I'm sorry to hear you found the tagliatelle bland, it's one our most popular dishes, so again I have relayed this to the chef to see what happened on this occasion. Due to being on the Lough, we do have Lough flies in the area, but we do have measures in place to stop them being in the restaurant, so I am shocked to learn that you witnessed so many. Again, we are looking in to this as this is the first time we have heard this complaint.
Written August 24, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Aimee
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020 couples
Firstly when we arrived we waited 15 min for them to even knowledge us. The staff were all at the bar and then seen us standing but kept doing there own thing even if they were busy I’d expect something to be said like “ be with you in a couple of minutes” but nothing! Then we were seated we waited 20 mins for someone to take our order and as if that wasn’t bad enough we were servered our food. I got chicken Goujons and the batter was wet and soggy. Overall worst customer service ever and food wasn’t even good. I do not recommend
Written September 27, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

EllaK321
Antrim13 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 family
9.30am on a sunday morning we entered the restaurant to be asked bluntly had we a reservation. We hadn't. Well the drama! Especially because we needed a high chair! After a lot of messing about we were offered one of the many free tables and were told they need it back in an hour. We just wanted a quick fry up! The table was pointed to us and no drinks were offered! After 15 mins of waiting a waitress took the order. We asked if they had wifi as the little one was getting restless and the iPad needed to come out. We were told 'no, sorry' 20 more minutes had past until our food arrived. When we ordered I asked could they send the wee one out some toast when it's ready. It arrived with the rest of the food. No top up of teas coffees were offered when the food arrived. Beautiful place and food was great however seriously let down by the service! Would not rush back.
Written January 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

David S
Belfast6 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 family
Table booked for 4:30, arrived on time, were asked after a few minutes were we ready to order, we declined and asked for a few more minutes, 15 mins went by and we tried to get attention of the servers. We had to get up and ask could we order, there were 5 girls congregated at the dessert fridge chatting and not worrying about paying customers. Food arrived and I can’t fault it at all, was tasty and I wanted more. Asked for the bill, it arrived and all of a sudden the server appeared saying are you paying by card, my father in law was taken aback as he was just looking through the Bill. 18:05 another waitress was hovering around are table as we finished our drinks and she then turned and said I need your table as I have a table of 8. I thought that was so rude and disrespectful after we have just had a lovely meal and Toney wanted us out. This was my 3rd time there and my in-laws 6/7 over the past few weeks, and I can quite Happily say we won’t be back. Management and staff need trained in manner and food service. If the management can’t be bothered then why should the staff.
Written January 31, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roam57598580763
Hi David, Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear you were left feeling disappointed. I can assure you that we do not take this lightly, as every single customer is important to us.We would like to properly address this with staff, and we would really appreciate it if you could email us with the date and time you visited to info@boathouseantrim.co.uk
Written February 3, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jonathan R
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 family
Requested a window seat on booking reservation which we did not get. Food of a good standard but service took 50 mins. We approached the manager due to a discrepancy with our food bill she was extremely rude, totally unacceptable. The manager could benefit from a customer service training update Will not be returning or recommending to family or friends.
Written October 3, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Sean M
Antrim3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 family
Booked a table for 4 persons, On arrival restaurant was busy, but within a short time, we were greeted with a smile, and shown to our table. Joanne the waitress took time to go through the specials and recommended the Chilli squid to start, which was delicious. We also had the dragon’s tongue, which was equally tasty. For main course, I was pleasantly surprised with the Halibut(fish special) which was excellent and highly recommended. The steak of the week was also cooked to perfection. Kids had pizza and burgers, portions were excellent. Also had ice cream and cremated brûlée. Staff were over several times to check if all was ok, Will be back again. Only thing missing is the drinks license, but think ahead and bring your own. Overall, very reasonably priced extremely tasty food, friendly staff, will be back again, thanks
Written January 25, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

GrahamNI
274 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 friends
Table booked well in advance, yet the 6 of us were seated/squeezed into a space clearly meant/suitable for 4. After a few minutes wait for our table,menus handed out, without any further comment. We ordered some drinks,no longer BYOB, and we were informed of this in advance. The food was tasty and good, the squid was judged to be excellent as were the mussels. The goat's cheese fritters amounted to 3 battered balls with some nice salad and a tasty beetroot puree.It all looked a little list on the dish. Monkfish tail scampi was very good as were the chips. Desserts were unremarkable, but perfectly acceptable. In conclusion, this restaurant is undoubtedly a busy place. A restaurant this size should be able to accommodate those calling in for breakfast without fuss. So many others manage to do this with ease.
Written February 17, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roam57598580763
Hi Graham, Thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our food. We would like to know which table were seated at, as we would like to look into a party of 6 being seated at a table meant for 4, as this is not something we would generally do s we do have tables that accommodate 6 comfortably. If you could email us at info@boathouseantrim.co.uk, we would like to look into this. We do take walk ins for breakfast, and where we can throughout the day. On opening we were incredibly busy which did mean we had to turn people away due to the high demand - we simply did not have enough seats/tables to accommodate everyone that wanted to dine with us. Hopefully you will dine with us again in the future.
Written February 19, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Alistair P
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020 couples
This was our third time visiting the boathouse and each time the food is superb. Sadly last night the service was absolutely dire. Had to wait 10 mins to even get the table we had booked, then only got one menu, food came and was beautiful, but no one asked about more drinks or checked if everything was good. Asked for a dessert menu and after 10 to 15 mins , we gave up , the young fella was past us q good 8 or 9 times in a daze seemingly doing very little. Such a shame a superb venue and quality food is let down by underskilled and unattentive staff. Badly in need of a restaurant manager
Written September 13, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Germaine
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020 couples
Service was non existent.. was here on Sunday evening for my birthday meal and wasn’t the best experience..arrived girl told us to stare into the machine at the til I hadn’t a clue what it was for as she went and walked away only my husband knew what it was for.. showed to our seats with the menu.. waited nearly 20 mins for someone to come take our order, was took quick as possible that we realised we haven’t got a drink.. waited a further 10 mins to get someone to order our drink with. Steak cutlery came and our starters arrived my husband had to ask for starter cutlery..thankfully starters where beautiful! Main course came I asked for very well done steak and my husband was medium in actual fact his came rare and mine was medium I didn’t bother sending it back because it was hard enough to get a member of staff to come and take another drink order without sending food back, I left the middle and ate the ends of the steak which was well done was a shame because it was lovely! In the whole time we were there we had no one near us to ask if everything was ok, anyway main course dishes were lifted and the waiter asked us do you want a dessert we said yes please so he disappeared with our plates and we waited patiently for 15 minutes finally I got a hold of a young girl and asked can again can we have dessert menus please..only to receive them and wait a further 10 minutes to order. Finally ordered dessert I was so excited for the creme brûlée I had seen advertised on your Facebook page so much with the homemade shortbread.. waited nearly 15minutes for the dessert (getting very boring now all this waiting!!) for it to arrive with no shortbread but half a broken bar of crunchie sat on top of it.. very disappointing! Not the birthday meal I was expecting such a shame because it’s in a beautiful location it has so much potential but I can’t see me giving it a 2nd chance!
Written September 15, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TOTTBarGrill
Hi Germaine, Sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience with us for your birthday meal. It certainly sounds like you did not receive the standard of service we aim for at The boathouse. We have employed some new staff, which is no excuse, and further training is on the agenda to make for smoother running of the restaurant.We did run out of shortbread unfortunately, we make it all fresh in house and on that day we did run out, but that should have been highlighted to you on ordering. Again, sorry you felt disappointed and I do hope that you do give us a second chance in the future.
Written September 18, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Glenjo
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 family
I’m so disappointed that we wasted our time and money on this so called restaurant which is more like an overpriced chippy . Service was slow and food was basic . The waiters and waitress all miserable although after speaking to the management over an issue, I can understand why they looked so glum because if the management speaks to customers in such a rude And unprofessional manner I can only imagine that she treats the staff the same way . I won’t be returning and wouldn’t recommend this place to friends and family !
Written October 3, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-15 of 279
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Top Of The Town
$$ - $$$ · British
McLarnon's, The Ramble Inn
$$ - $$$ · Irish, Bar, British, Pub
Dunsilly Hotel Bar and Grill
$$ - $$$ · Bar, European, British
The Back Shed
$$ - $$$ · Bar, Pizza, Pub
Rococo
$$ - $$$ · European, British
moes grill
$$ - $$$ · European, British
Jakes Cocktail Bar And Grill
$$ - $$$ · American, Bar, British, Grill
Ho wah
$$ - $$$ · Chinese, Cantonese
Masala Fusion
$$ - $$$ · Indian
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE BOATHOUSE, Antrim - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Things to DoFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars