Top Of The Town

Top Of The Town

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 28 9442 8146+ Add website
Hours
Sun
9:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Mon
9:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Tue
9:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Wed
9:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Thu
9:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Fri
9:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Sat
9:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Travellers' Choice 2023

RATINGS
Food
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
$5.00 – $25.00
CUISINES
British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
meals, features
Does this restaurant have tables with seating?
PRICE RANGE
$5.00 – $25.00
CUISINES
British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles640 reviews
Excellent
427
Very good
101
Average
41
Poor
32
Terrible
39
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Buttons C
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020 family
We prebooked our family lunch the previous day and we arrived bang on time The place was busy and so we had to wait approx 5 minutes or so before we got in and got seated .No issues with that whatsoever . After we placed our order we had a 15 or 20 min wait for the food to come but it was certainly worth the wait . We had all ordered different meals and each one was delicious . The staff were very pleasant and professional too and we will definitely be returning at our first opportunity. Highly recommend!!
Written September 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

deeemgee
Stirling47 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 none
My partner and I were returning to Scotland from a few days at the North Coast and decided to stop at Antrim for lunch before catching the ferry. We made a great choice in visiting Top of the Town and immediately were made welcome by the two girls at the entrance/ bar and given a table despite it being very busy and we were “walk ins”. I had chicken wings for starters and they were very tasty and a really good- sized portion. For mains I had the chicken carbonara pasta ( I spotted the girl next to me having it when I ordered) and my partner had gammon steak. Both dishes were delicious and she and I both agreed it was a very tasty and well- priced meal. I was surprised to see a few negative posts but I suggest many businesses and staff in hospitality are just finding their feet after the past year or so. I can’t fault the efficient and prompt service, the restaurant, staff or the food and I will definitely revisit when I’m back in Belfast area with work or over on a break.
Written August 13, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TOTTBarGrill
Hi there, thanks for the review! It's great to hear you enjoyed your meal at Top of the Town and the service was great too! We pride ourselves on fresh, tasty food and great service so it's great to hear about your experience and thanks again for your kind comments. Hope to see you back again soon!
Written August 15, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nicholas D
Larne1092 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020 none
Top of The Town is a great bar & restaurant in Antrim Town for food, sport & entertainment. The beer garden is fantastic on any sunny day and is popular on a weekend during the football season with plenty of TV's, summer seating, enclosed booths and two bar/kitchen areas and plenty of staff buzzing around after your orders. I recommend the south west chicken wrap and although I didn't order it the honey chilli chicken looks fantastic and don't forget to get a nice cool refreshing beer to go with it.
Written September 20, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

IAN W
London22 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 family
This was the third Thursday early meal at the new Smokehouse open restaurant area. The previous visits were excellent. Good service, excellent food and pleasant occasion for Grandad, Son and D in law with 3 year old. Today however sat at table, ordered drinks when arrived girl said you must pay now and prepay for your food!! Manager requested, he explained they had had walkouts - So everything had to be prepaid. I pointed out that it really was unacceptable for an 80 year old man to get the card out for drinks, then more drinks, then food, then desserts etc! Lovely food, lousy policy 0Plenty of restaurants in Antrim delighted to operate a ‘normal’ restaurant service. Reds was just as good this evening. NeitherI, nor family and friends will be smokehousing again. Seriously bad management decision?
Written August 6, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TOTTBarGrill
Hi Ian, Glad to hear you enjoyed your visits at The Smokehouse previously. Yes, we did have to implement a 'pay at time of ordering' system in the beer garden as unfortunately people were ordering food and either leaving or changing tables and not paying their bill. Paying at the beginning of the meal, rather than the end, is the only difference as it is still a bar service in our beer garden. We have since reverted back to paying at the end of your meal, as we have done a recruitment drive and now have adequate staff to man the beer garden. Sorry that this hindered on your experience with us.
Written August 24, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Grace
5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020 couples
We rang to book a table on Wednesday afternoon (9th) for that dinner time - table booked for 5.30pm. We had been here before and the food was lovely so as we had booked the week off work we decided to go back again. We arrived on time, walked in the door and a staff member who was sitting behind a table just inside the front door pointed to a table and told us that was for us. We sat down at the table which was right beside the front door in the bar area....I was on a low bar stool. Not the kind of seat you want when going to a restaurant. We received menus and made our drink and food orders. While waiting on our drinks the table behind did nothing apart from shout and swear - constantly. There was a constant queue of people arriving and leaving the restaurant standing around and walking past our table. The smell of cigarette smoke coming in the front doors was awful. After a 15min wait we still hadn’t received our drinks however the noisy table behind were able to shout over to the bar area for more drinks - which they received instantly. After a while of being cold by the door, on an uncomfortable chair, smelling smoke, listening to drunk people shouting and not receiving our drinks I decided to go up to the bar and tell the server we were just going to leave. The girl said she could move us somewhere else and seemed a bit apologetic but why did they not seat us in the actual restaurant section to begin with? I was so disappointed with the service and I understand we had left it a bit last minute to book in but if that was the only table available they either should have let us know beforehand or tell us they were fully booked.
Written September 12, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TOTTBarGrill
Hi there, Thanks for your review. Because the restaurant is operating at a limited capacity due to Covid-19 and adhering to the correct social distancing guidelines, we have been using the entire building for diners, given that the bar cannot operate as normal either and this allows us to cater to demand. For reservations, we use the bar area last, which tells me that we were fully booked and this is why you were sat in the bar, otherwise you would have been seated in the restaurant. Some people prefer to sit in the bar and some prefer the restaurant, and because things can change, we don't generally guarantee which tables guests will be sitting on before arrival unless a request was made on booking. We always try to accommodate to requests and if you had of let our staff know you were not happy to be sat at the bar, we would have looked at alternative arrangements but unfortunately we cannot fix a problem if we do not know there is one at the time. Sorry that you felt disappointed on this occasion and hopefully you can return to the restaurant and enjoy a more positive experience.
Written September 18, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nadine
4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 friends
Service was really poor. About 5 members of staff standing at the bar doing nothing while we were trying to get someone's attention to order drinks. We ordered 3 plates of food which took almost an hour to arrive. Mine actually arrived first without the people I was with so I asked them to take it back and keep it warm because they said the rest of the food would be 10 minutes so trying not to be difficult I said no need to remake it. The food took another 40 minutes and I thought surely no chef would keep it under a heat lamp that long. I was wrong. I got it back and it was like a brick. I emailed using the website to say this had happened and didn't even get a response. Not a chance would I go back.
Written June 23, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TOTTBarGrill
Hi Nadine, Sorry to hear about your experience with us. We have recently hired a lot of new staff due to growth and they are still undergoing training but that is no excuse for your wait on ordering. I can assure you that your meal would not have been under the heat lamp for 40 minutes as this is not up to the standards of high quality that our chefs work to. We would have happily fixed your meal for you at the time and changed it for another option as we never want our customers to leave unhappy. We'd love for you to come back in the future for a more positive experience.
Written July 13, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

tony m
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
Called in on 08/08/2020 without a reservation which was no problem. Seated qucikly and drink ordered and served all within 10 minutes of arriving which was very pleasing. For starters I had the Salt an Chili Chicken which was delicious, the curry sauce was a great accompaniment. I had the slow cooked beef for main and once again I could not fault it. Very generous portion size and the onion mash was delightful. Also very nice pints of Guinness which is always a bonus.
Written August 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TOTTBarGrill
Hi Tony, Delighted to hear you had a great experience with us and that you enjoyed the food so much. We have been told we do a great pint of Guinness, so glad you enjoyed that too! Hopefully we will see you back again soon!
Written August 24, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Diner
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 none
Booked for dinner they put us in the bar area in the left. There was a couple with a young baby who was being fed on the table the which was not cleaned after they left, the next customer had to ask for it to be cleaned. We were told what we ordered was not on the menu anymore opted for something else which was burned and dry. Not at all impressed with our meal could have done better myself. The service was really bad asked for our bill and nobody came over to us for ages, horrible atmosphere the only tip I would leave is don’t go there
Written July 7, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TOTTBarGrill
Hi there. I'm sorry to hear about your experience, I can assure you this is not up to our usual high standards of customer service. We have recently hired several new staff due to growth and following this there has been some teething problems, however this is no excuse for your experience. I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meal, we would have happily exchanged it for something else as we never want our customers to leave unhappy. Hopefully you can try us again in the future for a more positive experience!
Written July 14, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

JO B
Bangor84 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2020 family
Having had friends who have been here lots of times we decided to visit when up this way. So glad we did it was better than expected. Really friendly serving staff in the restaurant. Food was hot and delicious.the menu choice was very good. Kids menu had alot of choice and with two young children this is exactly what we needed. The price of the food was so reasonable. They are taking the covid rescriions and procedures very seriously unlike other establishments. Will be sure to visit again if ever in the area.
Written September 27, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Matthew J
18 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 couples
Right away I want to say that our food was tasty. Nothing exceptional, but a tasty meal. However the service we received totally ruined it. We arrived for our reservation at 5:30. Noone came to take our drinks order until around 6:10 and this was only after my wife waved them over. They had clearly forgotten about us. We then placed our order, a chicken burger with side and chilli chicken with side but our wait was to go on. Our meal finally came to us at 6:50. I know it was busy due to the eat out scheme, however during this time two tables in our view sat down after us, yet they had their orders taken and food served before we received ours. Like I said, the food was tasty and I have enjoyed meals here in the past, but in the end we had a one course meal and we were at our table for almost two hours. A good place spoilt by poor service on the night.
Written August 26, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TOTTBarGrill
Hi there, Sorry to hear you were left disappointed by the service in our restaurant. It does sound like you did not receive our usual standard of service and we apologise for that. We were incredibly busy throughout the Eat Out to Help Out scheme and have a lot of new staff finding their feet at the deep end, but that is no excuse. We have since implemented more staff training. I do hope you can give us another chance in the future.
Written September 18, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Angela B
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 family
On Sunday the 25th July as a family we visited the Top Of The Town it had been recommended by a friend, we arrived here around 4.20 in afternoon and was seated quite quickly and place our drink and food order ar 4.29. We sat chatting away waiting on our food order and we noticed that the table next to us hadn't received there food order yet also as we had been waiting for nearly 1 and a half hours so i called thw waitress to which she told me the order r hasn't went through to the kitchen and would put our order through again as we had been waiting sonlong i said no Thank's. I seen whom i assumed was the manger behind the bar so i got up and went to speak with him as he had already new what had happened as the waitress had spoken with him i was told there was a problem with the printer the order hadn't went through and. It had been a problem from Saturday night i then said if you's new that why didn't yous check up on the orders as in the whole 1 and a half hours not one staff member had came to ask us if we had our food order yet, i asked him his name to which he told me was Seamus he apologised for the inconvenience and took my name number and email address and told me that someone from HR would contact me, it is now a week later and i haven't heard a thing, not only was it ridiculous service but also to be told i would be hearing from HR and never did not very good buisness really disappointed and really looked forward to having a meal there but myslef and my family would never be back by the way this matter was a handled. A Black.
Written August 1, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TOTTBarGrill
Hi there, sorry to hear about your experience with us. I'm sorry you were left waiting so long, at Top of the Town we pride ourselves on great service and excellent food so sorry to hear this didn't live up to our usual standards. If you could please email us at restaurant@topofthetown.co.uk with more information we'll get back to you as we never like to see our customers leave unsatisfied. We'd love for you to return for a more positive experience, thanks!
Written August 2, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

David T
Whitley Bay960 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2022 none
Staying nearby and reading the reviews we decided to give this place a try for Sunday lunch. We entered the bar which is very traditional and when we were asked if we had booked (which we had and I would recommend as it gets quite busy) were taken into a light and airy room. The staff were friendly, attentive, and efficient. The amount of food coming out of the kitchen was amazing and we all had the traditional roast which was both plentiful and tasty. There was a good choice of desserts which were also tasty. Well worth a visit.
Written May 26, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

First Class
Newtownabbey502 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022 friends
Was told that this place was nice so had to try it out myself. Went for lunch and found the restaurant Very light and nice decor and the staff greeted us with a smile. Drinks came quick and starters quickly and I must say you got to try the chilli Chicken starter it was presented beautifully and tasted even better amazing taste. Then we had had bird & beef burger with garlic chips and pepper sauce Again looked great and tasted fantastic. All well priced but no mater the price it was worth it We certainly will be back !!
Written February 23, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TOTTBarGrill
Thanks for the review! Great to hear you enjoyed your trip to Top of the Town as we aim for excellent service and to serve amazing quality food. We're so glad to hear you liked the decor and your meal and we hope to see you back again soon- thanks
Written February 27, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jonathan R
Antrim22 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2022 couples
My fiancee and I went for a meal prior to the Adam Mogey/Jamie Henry event. We were excited for our meal and arrived on time at 6pm. The restaurant was fairly quiet and we were shown to our table (right beside another couple despite other tables being available). We were offer drinks quickly and after a few minutes, we ordered our meal. As we waited for our meal, the restaurant started to fill up. By 630pm, we still hadn't received our food...in fact no-one who was there from 6pm had gotten any food, including the couple beside us. One waitress came to the couple beside us and asked if they had received their meal, to which they politely replied 'no'. The waitress apologised and asked the lady what kind of wine she was drinking and proceeded to bring her a small bottle of red wine. Another 20 minutes passed and there was still no food - not one of the waiting staff approached us regarding the delay and there was no offer of a drink to us. Eventually at 650pm, our meals arrived and again, no mention of why there was a delay. The food itself was pleasant but not what I was expecting from the newly crowned restaurant of the year. I was underwhelmed by the food, service and overall experience. I'm not asking for free drinks, but some consistency for customers and a bit more attention to them is sorely required Thankfully the night was salvaged by the incredibly funny Adam and Jamie.
Written June 17, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Stu_B77
Belfast9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
Called into Top of the Town last Sunday afternoon on our way back from our Sunday walk. Just wanted to get a bite to eat for our daughter and chill with a pint. Parked up outside and entered via the rear entrance. Asked for a table for 3 but the girl looking after the restaurant stated that there were none available and pointed us in the direction of the bar.... Much better for what we wanted!! Sat up on big high soft chairs and ordered a couple of pints and a few nibbles. Guinness was great, GF loved the chicken wings and my daughter left nothing but an empty plate (goujons and chips). Service was great and not too pricey. We will def call again!!
Written January 8, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-15 of 634
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
The Boathouse
$$ - $$$ · Pizza, Seafood, British, Grill
McLarnon's, The Ramble Inn
$$ - $$$ · Irish, Bar, British, Pub
Dunsilly Hotel Bar and Grill
$$ - $$$ · Bar, European, British
The Back Shed
$$ - $$$ · Bar, Pizza, Pub
Rococo
$$ - $$$ · European, British
moes grill
$$ - $$$ · European, British
Jakes Cocktail Bar And Grill
$$ - $$$ · American, Bar, British, Grill
Ho wah
$$ - $$$ · Chinese, Cantonese
Masala Fusion
$$ - $$$ · Indian
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

TOP OF THE TOWN, Antrim - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Things to DoFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars