We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

White Hart

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Market End | Old English Inns, Coggeshall CO6 1NH, England
+44 1376 561654
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 75: English reviews
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went there on new years eve, all pre booked menu choices, so the restaurant knows exactly what is required. After two and a half hours, we eventually got our main courses, which were supposed to be "medium" rib eye steaks. They arrived, but were so rare they were blue. When we complained, we were told that they have a new... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dtaussie
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We always stop here when visiting family, and can always rely on a well priced and nice food and this time did not disappoint. The White Hart is a lovely old building the main main area could do with a little updating, and a few more staff, but they serve you as quickly as possible and for us nothing was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Winns1
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2016

had a superb dinner everyone enjoyed themselves staff were brilliant couldn't do enough for you will go back

Helpful?
Thank madelyn m
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016

Went here last Saturday for a sandwich lunch. What a disappointment! On a good point, we were served a lovely coffee but that is where it ended. Apparently they had run out of tuna so I opted for a prawn sandwich, my husband a fish finger sandwich. Our sandwiches arrived - have never in all my life been served a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lynda T
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016

Went to the 'local' for dinner - perfectly acceptable, but nothing special. The food was fine but nothing to rave about. Quite over priced for what it is.

Helpful?
Thank IWTBAT09
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you felt the meal you were served was over priced and nothing special, I will share your review with our kitchen team and hope you will visit again. Ross More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We visited The White Heart for a quick lunch, the girl serving was excellent we asked to sit in the window and she cleaned the table promptly for us and took our order quickly we were off to a good start. Unfortunately apart from this girl and the on duty manager who were excellent in resolving the issue this is... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Alice N
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear the staff were great, and can only apologise for the meal you were served, I will be discussing this with our kitchen team. I hope you will try us again. Ross More 

Chelmsford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Average meal with quite expensive house wine. Its ok but nothing special. Will come back but not in a great rush. Nice for a change

Helpful?
Thank Chieffitz
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear that your experience was just 'ok', we always aim to wow our guests so they are dying to come back for me! If you have feedback for us (other than expensive house wine which we cant change unfortunately!) then please do let us know. Ross More 

Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2016

Stopped here for late lunch after visit to Paycocks House and Garden . Good choice of dishes on menu and they serve all day , had large dining area and a garden out the back Waitress was very jolly and joked with local customers and manager helped out in restaurant helping to clear tables . We chose the Sea Bass... More 

Helpful?
Thank robbiefr
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is fab to hear that everything about your visit was excellent! We look forward to welcoming you back again! Ross More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Did we visit on a particularly busy day or just not enough staff? Drinks got and food ordered, though no 'Indian banquet' available. It hadn't been delivered. After a 40 minute wait the food arrived but the fish dish hadn't been heated through properly. It was dealt with professionally once I managed to find a staff member to tell. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marion S
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry for the (very out of character) poor experience you had with us, and am pleased it was dealt with professionally. I do hope you will try us again soon. Ross More 

Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

We stay here every 6 weeks or so, and we do enjoy staying here. The staff are all really welcoming and lovely, especially the gentleman we usually on reception and around the hotel. The prices of food and drink are very fair, and its a very beautiful place to stay and a very lovely village to stay in. The only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura H
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate our guests honest comments, and they are shared with the team and any issues rectified where possible. We are glad you enjoy your stays with us, if you have a favourite room then let us know and we will do everything we can to ensure that room is yours each time you... More 

Travellers who viewed White Hart also viewed

 

Been to White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$24 - US$43
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market End | Old English Inns, Coggeshall CO6 1NH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Coggeshall
  • Phone Number: +44 1376 561654

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of White Hart and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Colchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from White Hart staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?