We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scotts of Helmsley

6 Bridge Street | Helmsley, North Yorkshire, Helmsley YO62 5BG, England
+44 1439 772465
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good17%
  • Average8%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (206 reviews)
“calamari” (13 reviews)
“tartare” (20 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Fast food, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
6 Bridge Street | Helmsley, North Yorkshire, Helmsley YO62 5BG, England
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

We pass through Helmsley quite often and stopped off for a quick snack. It took a couple of minutes for our server to come up with the goods but I think she was off buttering the breadcakes as it was fairly early for the lunchtime...More

Thank imacbeth
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello, Thanks for the review and you're right. We blanch the chips first and then fry again at a higher temperature, so Twice fried to get that crisp outside and fluffy inside. Come back soon. Regards Tony

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was such an enjoyable experience and first class for quality, service and value for money. Lewis and Jordy who looked after me were just great, take a bow you guys! Helmsley is a lovely, picturesque town, and Scotts Fish & Chips eatery just made...More

Thank AiredaleMiriam
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, Thanks for the review and great comments. The whole team try hard everyday to do their best and delighted you enjoyed your visit. Regards Tony

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm sure the fish was frozen, not fresh. It was watery inside. The batter was stodgy and undercooked. Chips were no better, also being undercooked. Would avoid at all costs !!

2  Thank Doglover19700419
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, thanks for the review, but why didn't you say something at the time. That is the only way we can rectify things if they are not right. Regards Tony

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was twelve noon and we were worn out from visiting the castle and the walled gardens, and then it started to rain. We walked into town and peered into the windows of various tea shops and cafés, they were all full. Every visitor to...More

Thank Vanessa K
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Vanessa, Great review, thank you. All our fish is certified by the Marine Stewardship Council, MSC as being from sustainable waters. In fact every company in the supply chain, from sea to plate are certified MSC and we are one of only around 50...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A group of us went on Saturday lunch for a take away and the majority of us got the Calamari after seeing how good it looked! And it was delicious i wanted to go back the next day to get it again, i will be...More

Thank ruby1211
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, Thanks for the review, great comments and much appreciated. Spread the word and hope to see you back soon. Regards Tony

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you want to wait ages for under cooked Fish 'n Chips. This is your place. Chips that were still solid in the middle and fish that had water running out of the fish. We didn't eat at all, didn't fancy spending a night on...More

4  Thank Petethebiker
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We both had fish and chips which were good, but not excellent. The service was good and the restaurant clean.

Thank bribar72
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello, Thanks for the review and we do appreciate your comments and wonder what we need to do to be 'excellent'? The whole team do strive hard every day to achieve the highest quality. Hope to see you back soon. Regards Tony

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having spent £23 on 3 cod, 2 large chips and 2 sides to take out and serve a family of three. I was disappointed in what our 'local' chippy served us. Usually the quality of meals and service are pretty good, but we caught this...More

1  Thank Bertie H
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello, Thanks for the review and disappointed with your comments. Apologies for not living up to our usual standards. However, I can confirm we have not changed any supplies, food preparation or process in hat we do and we do NOT ever use frozen chips....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Scotts is a lovely "up market chippie" in the picturesque market town of helmsley. Take away or dine in available. Also a small external terrace at premises which are attractive and spotlessly clean. Owner/Staff welcoming, efficient and friendly. Set price lunch including drink and bread...More

Thank Paulsmithcasty
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you for the review. The whole team were delighted to read your comments. We all work hard everyday to ensure every customer has a great experience and great food. Spread the word and come back soon. Regards Tony

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited Helmsley and became extremely peckish, I noticed that Scotts was open so I decided to give it a try. It was very busy resulting in receiving the food after about 20 minute wait, however I did not mind as I understood the chaos....More

2  Thank cshakespeare34
JaneTony13, Owner at Scotts of Helmsley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, Disappointed by your comments and somewhat confusing. 20 minutes wait for chips and gravy is unlikely and we can't accept your comments. You don't mention whether you were takeaway or restaurant, I suspect takeaway and all food is freshly cooked, especially at busy times....More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Cocoa Tree
266 reviews
.13 km away
Mannion & Co
120 reviews
.10 km away
Gepetto's
325 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
National Centre for Birds of Prey
955 reviews
1.10 km away
Helmsley Castle
490 reviews
.19 km away
Helmsley Walled Garden
365 reviews
.35 km away
Hunters of Helmsley
71 reviews
.07 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Johnfromyork
Thank you for your response to my review. I can assure you none of the party including my 65 year old mother in law had been drinking and take offence that you want to accuse people of drinking to cover poor customer service.
15 July 2015|
Answer
Response from JaneTony13 | Property representative |
Hello and firstly let me say I do not want to accuse people of drinking to cover poor service. Nor do I want to offend anyone, but we do get some unjust and untrue reviews and we take offence when these are posted. As you... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$23
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 - 18:30
Monday
10:30 - 18:30
Tuesday
10:30 - 18:30
Wednesday
10:30 - 18:30
Thursday
10:30 - 21:30
Friday
10:30 - 21:30
Saturday
10:30 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6 Bridge Street | Helmsley, North Yorkshire, Helmsley YO62 5BG, England (Formerly Beechers Fish and Chips)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Helmsley
  • Phone Number: +44 1439 772465
Description
A fabulous family friendly, award winning fish and chip cafe. Just voted Best Fish and Chip shop 2013. Either take away or eat in. With 80 covers there is plenty of room, coach parties welcome. We aim to provide the best fish and chips available from sustainable and local sources at a value price. Gluten free and veggie chip shop chips. Served with a smile. Our premises are not your usual fish and chip cafe and are a pleasurable and inspiring place to spend some time.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing