We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cafe Royal

Certificate of Excellence
$
Cafe, Fast food, British, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
95 High Street, Annan DG12 6DJ, Scotland
+44 1461 202865
Website
Today
07:00 - 20:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 07:00 - 20:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 264: English reviews
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We arrived shortly before closing but were welcomed and served promptly. Fish and Chips were fresh and very good. Service was friendly and prompt. An excellent choice.

Helpful?
Thank Gillian1746
John P, Owner at The Cafe Royal, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It means such a lot to know that you have appreciated our efforts and we hope you enjoy your time in Scotland and Travel safely home. Best regards. John Pagani More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Top qaulity service and brilliant manners by this young waiter , had a nice time and good meal. Good to have service like this in our area 💥

Helpful?
Thank Owen M
John P, Owner at The Cafe Royal, responded to this review

Hello Owen M, I can honestly say you have made our day! We will pass on your comments to Thomas personally. He is indeed a true gentleman and a credit to our business. We hope to welcome you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to let us know what a wonderful visit you had. More 

Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely waitress food was ok but floor where the sitting in area is was a disgrace food having been dropped under tables it would not have been much of an effort o clean it up but staff did not seem to be bothered

Helpful?
Thank janmac07
John P, Owner at The Cafe Royal, responded to this review

Hello Janmac, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and your lovely comments about our lovely waitress., I'm glad you enjoyed your food and can only apologise for the mess under your table. Our cafe floor is cleaned many times during the day but whilst it is busy, our staff concentrate on serving our customers. You are... More 

Annan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Pagani family have run this establishment for many years and they always deliver 1st class service and fresh delicious food recommended to all

Helpful?
Thank 666Kev666
John P, Owner at The Cafe Royal, responded to this review

Hello 666Kev66, that is some review and thank you very much. I'm assuming your are a local as you know we have run The Cafe Royal for many years, in fact, this is our 50Th year. We pride ourselves in delivering great service and fresh food. We are so glad you have taken the time to write a review. We... More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great food, great atmosphere & fab service. Always made welcome no matter how busy or what time of day. Everyone should pop in & then you'll become a regular.

Helpful?
Thank Lynne K
John P, Owner at The Cafe Royal, responded to this review

Thank you for such a glowing review, I'm glad you felt welcomed, you sound like you've already made it to regular status! We appreciate everyone that takes the time to write a review, good and bad, we try to learn from them all. It is especially heart-warming to review a great review from a regular visitor. Thanks again. JP More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped off here for some fish and chips before an Annan Athletic match and it did not disappoint! Excellent quality and value.

Helpful?
Thank joeymcjoe
John P, Owner at The Cafe Royal, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It means a lot to us when our customers take the time to do so. We hope to see you next time you're visiting Annan. Please say hello! More 

Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My friend and I were travelling home,heading north. We took a detour off the motorway to stretch out legs choosing Annan and what a wee find this place is. We had wondered up and down the High Street and, on impulse chose The Cafe Royal to stop at for lunch. We realised when we found our seats that this must... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jan B
John P, Owner at The Cafe Royal, responded to this review

Hi there Jan B. What a lovely review! We will pass it on to all the staff that worked on Monday, they will be thrilled. We all work really hard and it makes it all worth while when we get such glowing reviews. Thanks Again, John Pagani More 

Annan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Although the cafe royal is famous for its fish and chips, you can't miss the burger! Cheese coleslaw salad topped with an onion ring and a side of chilli sauce, also the chilli cheese bites are fantastic

Helpful?
Thank Shannon H
John P, Owner at The Cafe Royal, responded to this review

Hello Shannon H, we love your review. You must be talking about our Gourmet Burger, it's becoming more and more popular. You know it's made with grass-fed beef and a brioche bun. Please say hello next time you're in, it's always especially nice to thank our trip advisors personally! Thanks again, John Pagani More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

You know it's never going to be good when they stick the pizza in the microwave before putting it in the deep fryer. Result - inedible. Check the picture. Shell pies microwaved too. Chips were OK. Definitely wouldn't go back. Much much better about

Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
John P, Owner at The Cafe Royal, responded to this review

That's not our food! We don't sell pizza! Make sure you get the right place before you post! We pride ourself in freshly prepared top quality food and we have done for 50 years! You have got the wrong place! More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Went in here for a carry out for the family, the TV was absolutely blaring it was pathetic, stood for a couple of minutes and decided to go else where, couldn't believe the noise of the telly everyone was saying " its Always the same when he's on" height of ignorance. His father would never have been that inconsiderate towards... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jimbob1959
John P, Owner at The Cafe Royal, responded to this review

Hello Jim, sorry you weren 't happy about the television being on in the take away. We have taken your comments on board. I have noted your last review of us, you gave us 5 stars and a glowing comment when we delivered your Scampi and Chips to your door. We will have a chat with you next time you're... More 

Travellers who viewed The Cafe Royal also viewed

Annan, Dumfries and Galloway
Annan, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Annan, Dumfries and Galloway
Annan, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Cafe Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$9
Cuisine
Cafe, Fast food, British, Scottish
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 20:00
Monday
07:00 - 20:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 20:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 20:00
Thursday
07:00 - 20:00
Friday
07:00 - 20:00
Saturday
07:00 - 20:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 95 High Street, Annan DG12 6DJ, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Dumfries and Galloway  >  Annan
  • Phone Number: +44 1461 202865
Description
Occupying the building on the site where Robert Burns wrote the 'diels awa' wi the exciseman', The Cafe Royal Annan was opened in 1967. We provide high quality food, from a Full Scottish Breakfast to Fish and Chips, Baked Potatoes, Salad and Filled Rolls. Open 7 days a week from 7am to 8pm. We have an outdoor eating area as well as a smoking shelter for our smoking customers.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Cafe Royal and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Cafe Royal staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?