We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smackwater Jacks Taphouse

71 River Road, Grand Bend, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
+1 519-238-5556
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good29%
  • Average14%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“fries” (39 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Canadian, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
71 River Road, Grand Bend, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

On this year the whole family back again on Father's day, last year was awesome but this year really disappointing. No pizza available on the menu, Turkey burger more bun than meat, onion soup no tasty at all, spaghetti so dry 8 people no happy.

2  Thank Jairo_11
Reviewed 4 days ago

We arrived and were seated outside, we sat for almost 10 minutes - then I got up and went inside and asked a server to get us menus - then I went back inside and asked for drinks. When the server came back we asked...More

1  Thank Abcd13578
Reviewed 1 week ago

We like going to Smackwater Jacks before the play, for the view. The food is very ordinary. The prices are high for the quality you receive. Our server was fabulous, no issues there!

Thank Judi T
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Amazing View The food was disappointing though I had pasta with shrimp (popcorn size) Great spot but they need to step up the foodqualityMore

Thank Bill2457
Smackwater_Jacks, Public Relations Manager at Smackwater Jacks Taphouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Bill2457, I am glad that you enjoyed the view and location of Smackwater Jacks. However I am disappointed that your food did not live up to our reputation. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I hope we can make it up to you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good, not great. Have had this elsewhere on a ciabatta roll. Much better as my bun got soggy with the relish-which I couldn't really taste. My husband had the Thai chicken bites . Not as good as the last time. Were grisly and more breading...More

1  Thank kathye681
Smackwater_Jacks, Public Relations Manager at Smackwater Jacks Taphouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

kathye681, I am disappointed to hear that your most recent visit to Smackwater Jacks did not live up to your pervious experiences. We want our customers to have a great visit consistently every time they dine with Smackwater Jacks, and I apologize we have missed...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

a few beers and two cheeseburgers set me back about a hundred. Looks like a favourite watering hole for the locals. We sat inside and had an excellent waitress - very pretty and very pleasant... Burgers were preformed frozen looked like from M&M. at these...More

2  Thank Real_Duke_of_Hockley
Smackwater_Jacks, Public Relations Manager at Smackwater Jacks Taphouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Real_Duke_of _Hockley, I am glad you had a excellent customer service experience with our servers, as we pride ourselves on giving our guests excellent customer service on every visit. I am disappointed that your experience as a whole was not what we are looking for...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This restaurant used to be top notch dining, the last two visits the taste and quality of the food have gone down hill. Tough meat in the beef dip, specialty pizzas that have potential to be great but the flavors are not enjoyable. I have...More

2  Thank PrettyLady21
Smackwater_Jacks, Public Relations Manager at Smackwater Jacks Taphouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

PrettyLady21, I am disappointed to hear about your experience at Smackwater Jacks on your most recent visits. We value the quality of the dishes we serve, and your experience is not one we want our customers to have. I would like to gain a little...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A group of friends were treated to a tour of the local area and then dinner at Smackwater Jacks last weekend. Brad Oke, the owner, personally picked our group up at my home and took us to points of interest such as Hayter's Turkey Farm...More

1  Thank Lomo60
Smackwater_Jacks, Guest Relations Manager at Smackwater Jacks Taphouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Lomo60, Thank you for the wonderful review. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour of the local spots in Grand Bend and surrounding areas. We want all of our guests to have a wonderful customer experience and I am happy that...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We discovered Smackwater Jacks Taphouse 3 years ago on our annual Memorial Day camping trip to the Pinery. We had a group of about 20 and they accommodated us with no problems. The last 2 years have been just as good. They offer a free...More

1  Thank jazzycat1968
Smackwater_Jacks, Public Relations Manager at Smackwater Jacks Taphouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Jazzycat1968, I am so happy that you have taken the time to write this review and glad to hear that you return annually for your memorial day celebrations. Our complimentary guest shuttle is just for that reason; to take the worry off of you and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Certainly the most beautiful restaurant/bar in town! Very modern and with such gorgoeuos views of the river, lighthouse and breathtakinly beautiful homes across the way! The service was excellent as were the craft beers! Our server was very friendly and informative. We Had the lobster...More

1  Thank haguetoni
Smackwater_Jacks, Public Relations Manager at Smackwater Jacks Taphouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

haguetoni, So pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience at Smackwater Jacks. We take pride in our selection of craft beers and I am very glad that you have enjoyed our selection. Thank you so much for the visit and we look forward...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Midori Sushi Bar
100 reviews
.44 km away
F.I.N.E. A Restaurant
171 reviews
.62 km away
Paddingtons Pub Eatery
139 reviews
.71 km away
Nearby Attractions
Grand Bend Beach
283 reviews
.28 km away
Grand Bend Farmers' Market
10 reviews
.89 km away
Paddingtons Pub Eatery, Ale house and Wine Bar
18 reviews
.76 km away
Grand Bend Parasail
18 reviews
1.21 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Denisele99
Do you allow dogs if we have dinner on patio?
26 June 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from BRAD O | Property representative |
we have a special area that you can have your dog beside you but he is on the other side of a planter. We will provide a=water and shade for your friend In Ontario we are not allowed to have any dogs on the Patio other... More
0
Votes
Tour2016
I was told the fish comes from lake erie? Certainly doesn't come from Purdy's next door.
30 May 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Smackwater_Jacks | Property representative |
Our Yellow Perch comes from Wheatley on the shores of Lake Erie , i hope you enjoy them.
0
Votes
Yvonne P
Hi Brad I spoke to you last week enquiringly about Friday night November 27. It's my birthday and we would like to know if there will be any entertainment with dinner. Please advise so that I can make the decision and book for dinner. Thanks Yvonne P
19 November 2015|
Answer
Response from Smackwater_Jacks | Property representative |
yes we have booked entertainment for the this coming Saturday and Sunday from 6- closing
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$21
Cuisine
American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Canadian, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, View, Bar Scene, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 09:00
Monday
11:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:00
Thursday
11:00 - 21:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 71 River Road, Grand Bend, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Lambton Shores  >  Grand Bend
  • Phone Number: +1 519-238-5556
  • E-mail
Description
For a front row seat to one of the most beautiful sunsets in the world, Smackwater Jack's indoor seating and spacious patio on the water's edge is the place for you. Our newly renovated restaurant serves locally grown produce served with meat from local farmers along side quality craft beers. Owned and operated by father and son team, Brad and Andy Oke, Smackwater Jack's is the summer go-to restaurant and bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing