We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Chertsey Bridge Road, Chertsey KT16 8LF, England
+44 1932 579811
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

717 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 713: English reviews
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We often come here when we are staying at Chertsey. We really enjoy Whitby fish and chips but these were really good as well. The next night we had Sunday roast which was very good but just too much for us to finish.

Helpful?
Thank Pauline S
General Manager A, Manager at The Kingfisher, responded to this review

Really appreciate the wonderful review Pauline! So looking forward to having you back at The Kingfisher soon! Best, Geraldine, General Manager More 

Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My friend and i met for lunch recently. It was a bit of an emotional occasion and I expected nothing. The young lady who attended us was sweet and very attentive, however when our order pf roast beef arrived, a traditional Sunday roast was served...it most certainlly was not. The meat was not properly cooked and a green vegetable was... More 

Helpful?
Thank kem036
General Manager A, Manager at The Kingfisher, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Kem, it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to make improvements to our pub. I was very disappointed to read of your recent visit with us, and whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this particular occasion, I do extend it with all sincerity... More 

Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

nice atmosphere, warm, maybe a little slow at the bar, food was very nice, the black pudding and poached started is excellent, staff were friendly

Helpful?
Thank dianawarne
General Manager A, Manager at The Kingfisher, responded to this review

Thanks for such a great review Diana! So looking forward to your return! Black pudding is one of my personal favourites too, and thankfully, it's popular with many other guests, so no need to worry about it coming off of the menu any time soon! Best, Geraldine General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Went today with a friend for roast. We drank beer and cider and the food we had was mostly delicious but there were a few issues: -Need more bar staff, especially considering you also have to order your food at the bar. I was waiting to be served quite a while and only got served once another customer pointed out... More 

Helpful?
Thank jollydigger
General Manager A, Manager at The Kingfisher, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Jollydigger, it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to make improvements to our pub. I was very disappointed to read of your recent visit with us, and whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this particular occasion, I do extend it with all sincerity... More 

Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

A bit of a disaster as far as service was concerned, order got wrong and had to wait a while for the correct meals. Once served the food was found to be average pub standard that did not really complement the excellent venue, which is a busy and vibrant atmosphere providing a warm and comfortable setting. Food and service need... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
General Manager A, Manager at The Kingfisher, responded to this review

Paul, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. If possible please could you get in touch to discuss your feedback further. 01932 579811 - Thanks in advance, Geraldine More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

My Wife and I stopped off here for a drink on the way home from friends only to be absolutely shocked when we were advised that the 2 large glasses of wine was to cost us £19.90. We reluctantly paid as it had been poured but if you fancy a stop off for a drink best avoid here as it... More 

Helpful?
Thank davie50scotland
General Manager A, Manager at The Kingfisher, responded to this review

Very disappointed to read of your poor experience with us at The Kingfisher recently Davie. We always try and deliver value for money, and I'm very sorry we were not able to provide you with it on this occasion. If you would like to discuss this further, please don't hesitate to contact either myself or another member of the management... More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having joined their wine club ( free) we took advantage of a £10 bottle of wine on their wine Wednesday offer . Sat outside on a sunny eve watching the boats go by. Mezze sharing plate to go with. Just lovely.

Helpful?
Thank Andy and Jo G
General Manager A, Manager at The Kingfisher, responded to this review

Great to hear you're making use of Wine Club -- you'd practically be losing money if you didn't join up, it's such a great deal! Looking forward to spending many more Wednesday evenings with you at The Kingfisher. Best, Geraldine General Manager More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely venue by the River Thames but lunch food disappointing especially for prices charged. Service variable depending on servers. Some very good, others not so good.

Helpful?
Thank JeremysPaws
General Manager A, Manager at The Kingfisher, responded to this review

Firstly Jeremy, I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise of your recent visit with us at The Kingfisher. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and improve upon the service that we provide our valued guests. I was very disappointed to read of your experience, and whilst an... More 

Addlestone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I work for a local charity. Today, myself and my colleague came in for lunch accompanied by two of our members who are in large electric wheelchairs. The staff found us a table with plenty of room to maneovere. They went above and beyond to ensure that our requests were met. I was particularly struck by how well the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Starbunny74
General Manager A, Manager at The Kingfisher, responded to this review

We always strive to deliver the best possible service to our guests, and I'm so glad that on this occasion it's paid off. Thank you for taking the time to leave us such positive feedback. I will be sure to inform the team and let Vicky know that their efforts have been recognised. So looking forward to your next visit... More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's been a year since our last visit hear and I must say things have very much improved. The food and service was fab, we arrived half an hour before food serving time and were still shown to our table so we had plenty of time to sit and study the menu to decide what to order. The menu has... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louise M
General Manager A, Manager at The Kingfisher, responded to this review

So pleased we were able to improve on our last efforts Louise. And even more thrilled that the dishes on our menu 'took your fancy'! You'll be happy to know that we've only just changed our menu at The Kingfisher, so there's plenty of time for you to revisit and taste some more of our delicious seasonal dishes! Best, Geraldine... More 

Travellers who viewed The Kingfisher also viewed

 

Been to The Kingfisher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Chertsey Bridge Road, Chertsey KT16 8LF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Chertsey
  • Phone Number: +44 1932 579811

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Kingfisher and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 month ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Kingfisher staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?