We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Koko's Beach Bar &Grill

Certificate of Excellence
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Yaddehimulla Road, Unawatuna, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
+94 77 582 6739
Mon - Sat 09:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

661 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 462: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The food was tasty and reasonably priced. We ate a fish taco and mixed kebab. They actually looked pretty similar, albeit with an exchange of meat. So expect something that is not uour classical taco or kebab. They were still delicious though. And the service was friendly and expedient.

Thank Luke A
Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It's not fancy but it's nice and clean. On the beach. Fast. Great hamburger, really tasty meat. French fries also very good. We stayed 3 days in Unewatuna and had this hamburger twice.

Thank CatiaGomes
gary r, Owner at Koko's Beach Bar &Grill, responded to this review

hi, Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we are pleased to see that you enjoyed the food and services that we offer. All our food is prepared daily using fresh local ingredients,and we bake our buns fresh on site. we are now adding to our menu and offer fresh Italian coffee and homemade Brownies. and a new... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Complete value for money. The owner, Gary is very warm and genuine, not money minded. So he serves the best food, and is cheapest around here. The reason they don't have alcohol is due to local politics and licensing issues, don't let that stop you from visiting here. Totally worth it. PS - the view is brilliant too.

Thank Esha M
gary r, Owner at Koko's Beach Bar &Grill, responded to this review

hi, Thanks for writing a review. it was great to chat to you guys and i hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday. thanks and blessings KOKO'S FAMILY More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This place is not a bar. They didn't sell beer, or even know what beer was. Unfortunately I had high expectations of this place, as their SEO was on point and a Google search of bars in Unawatuna kept showing Kokos. So we tried it. But if I were you, I certainly wouldn't bother. Unless you like overpriced Lime and... More 

Thank dlovatt
gary r, Owner at Koko's Beach Bar &Grill, responded to this review

Hi. So disappointed to see that you felt compelled to write such a review. Unfortunately we can't sell alcohol. We have operated this restaurant for nearly 4 years and our emphasis has always been on excellent fresh made food and value for money. If you had looked at the recent reviews you would of seen that we don't sell alcohol... More 

Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hand-cut and piping hot! Unlike the ubiquitous, crap, frozen 'fries' that come out of a plastic bag and are cooked to death, soaked in grease. Excellent burgers on house-baked buns, accompanied by a tray of 6 tasty sauces/dressings incl. garlic, honey-Dijon, Chili, plus a nice burger sauce. The lovely location right on the beach makes it all taste even better.

Thank malbecvancouver
gary r, Owner at Koko's Beach Bar &Grill, responded to this review

hi, Thank s for your review, we are glad to see that you enjoy your visit, we believe in offering only the freshest food from our kitchen and we don't buy any pre-made products. we offer a range of sauces to enhance the flavor of our dishes as per the guests preference. hope you enjoy the rest of your stay... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a slightly upset tummy so fancied something simple and baked potatoe with cheese from Koko's was perfect. Plenty of butter and cheese and a well sized potatoe.

Thank Don F
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The food here was ok. We came as trip advisor rated it highly. Definitely had better meals with better atmosphere further along the beach. Staff were polite however we ate quite early and were their only customers. Maybe ok for lunch but go somewhere nicer for tea.

Thank Kat E
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

...after seen the listing. I wish the food was not fried. My chicken taco was. Great location. Nice people :)

1 Thank TonjeJok
gary r, Owner at Koko's Beach Bar &Grill, responded to this review

hi, thanks for taking the time to write a review. we are deeply saddened that you felt you needed to give us only an average rating. The Menu is listed with ingredients and description of each meal. Taco:- Baja Californian Style Beer Battered Served on a Homemade soft shell Taco. Had you have spoken to one of our friendly staff... More 

Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Best fish and chips in the Galle District. Chips are made from potatoes not re-constituted. Friendly place.

Thank DaveStirling
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Brilliant!! Big selection of burgers and western food. After a week of curries this went down a treat. One not to miss!

Thank Daniel9990

Travellers who viewed Koko's Beach Bar &Grill also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle

Been to Koko's Beach Bar &Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
Mexican, American, British, Vegetarian Friendly
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Street Parking
Good for
Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
09:00 - 23:00
09:00 - 23:00
09:00 - 23:00
09:00 - 23:00
09:00 - 23:00
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Yaddehimulla Road, Unawatuna, Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
  • Location: Asia  >  Sri Lanka  >  Southern Province  >  Galle  >  Unawatuna
  • Phone Number: +94 77 582 6739
a small family run restaurant on the beach, offering the best in western cuisine for those who need a bit of familiarity in there diet whilst in Asia. all created by Chef Gary(UK) and his team ensuring 100% satisfaction by using only hand picked local ingredients and preparing all food cooked to order.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Koko's Beach Bar &Grill and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Koko's Beach Bar &Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?