We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bective

$$ - $$$Irish, European,
Bective Square | Meath, Kells, Ireland
+353 46 924 7780
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good19%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (27 reviews)
“chicken wings” (14 reviews)
“seafood” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
Irish, European, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Bective Square | Meath, Kells, Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Food is very good and the staff are friendly, but the service can be slow depending on the amount of customers. Again the food is very good so worth the wait.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
2  Thank benkirwan
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a lovely meal for my mother’s birthday last month. Great atmosphere, great food and thanks Luke for the great service!

3  Thank RMT1996
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

we just had an amazing family meal in the garden, it was perfect . Everybodies starters and main meals were delicious . I would like to say that everyone was extremely accommodating and helpful when needed. Kudos to all the wait staff ...Florence was the...More

4  Thank Muriel K
YvonneFlanagan, Manager at The Bective, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback Muriel K. I will happily pass your comments onto Florence and all the team. We look forward to your next visit. Yvonne

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our lunch during the seafood festival, crab claws, lobster and seabream to die for, compliments to the Chef and the warm welcome! In addition don't miss out on the very cute back terrace! Thanks for a lovely time!

5  Thank Christelle B
YvonneFlanagan, Manager at The Bective, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Christelle B Feedback like your makes all the hard work worthwhile. Yes our garden is my favourite place. Glad you enjoyed. Yvonne

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited the Bective recently as a party of 10 for my sons first communion..everything was perfect from start to finish .lovely decor and spotlessly clean and staff are so warm and welcoming.the food was delicious and really affordable.we had a selection of dishes from...More

5  Thank roisf29
YvonneFlanagan, Manager at The Bective, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

roisf29, Thank you or your lovely feedback. The team is delighted with your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Yvonne

Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Had my second visit to the Bective last week and unfortunately it was a very disappointing experience. Although the service was great and waiters were very friendly the food did not live up to the standards that the prices set. The first visit here I...More

1  Thank Kpotts7
YvonneFlanagan, Manager at The Bective, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your opinion Kpotts7. We accept both positive and negative feedback here at The Bective. However we are disappointed that you didn't bring this to our attention on the night in question and more disappointed that you had a previously good experience and...More

Reviewed 13 April 2018

We are staying at the remarkable Hideaway at Foxhollow farm and so Kells is a convenient and short drive. Had seen the tripadvisor reviews but they really cannot define how warm and welcoming everyone is . The brightly lit orange exterior is a beacon to...More

9  Thank Scubaprinces
YvonneFlanagan, Manager at The Bective, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank You Scubaprinces, I reecall your visit and it was our pleasure to look after you. Do visit next time you are in Ireland. Yvonne

Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Visited here with nine friends. Unfortunately the table was a little cramped but it was a very busy Friday evening so we were totally prepared to forgive! The staff were very friendly and very accommodating as they had to change certain meals to cater for...More

7  Thank EileenBM
YvonneFlanagan, Manager at The Bective, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks EileenBM, Happy you enjoyed your experience with us while on your golf trip to Kells. We took your feedback about our posset on board, next time you visit you will find it is more zesty..!!! Yvonne

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Love this restaurant, food is amazing, staff very friendly & helpful. Not really suitable for babies but a perfect couple spot!

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
YvonneFlanagan, Manager at The Bective, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your lovely comments.. Yvonne

Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

This was an an experience to remember. We came in by chance as we were passing through on our way back home to Galway. Firstly the outside was well presented , clean good signage and we'll lit up. Inside was very warm with a quirky...More

10  Thank Eugene G
YvonneFlanagan, Manager at The Bective, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Eugene G, Thank you for your lovely feedback. Delighted you enjoyed your visit. Yvonne

Nearby HotelsSee all Kells Hotels
Headfort Arms Hotel
708 reviews
.48 km away
Newgrange Hotel
710 reviews
15.35 km away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
592 reviews
15.50 km away
Ardboyne Hotel
389 reviews
16.66 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Khyber Garden
134 reviews
.35 km away
vanilla pod
253 reviews
.48 km away
Butterfly Garden Cafe
130 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Grove Gardens
6 reviews
6.50 km away
Causey Farm
259 reviews
7.02 km away
Headfort Golf Club
47 reviews
2.85 km away
Spire of Lloyd
55 reviews
2.89 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
March 8, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from YvonneFlanagan | Property representative |
Hi AliensAreReal69.... Are blind guide dogs real too...?
Simon F
July 23, 2017|
Response from KJ1910 | Reviewed this property |
Simon, We're a friendly, fun bunch and we don't hold grudges, and you are entitled to your opinion. It's just we were all a little hurt by the poor review as we always go the extra mile as we did on your brothers 18th, to... More
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
3:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bective Square | Meath, Kells, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Meath  >  Kells
  • Phone Number: +353 46 924 7780
  • E-mail
We run a full restaurant service and all of the items on our A La Carte menu are also available to take away - simply phone in your order and collect it (this service is not available during very busy nights). We also have a lovely dining room/bar available upstairs to hire for private functions of any kind (seats 50 people). It has a private terrace, its own bar and bathroom facilities. Contact us for details of our party platters and finger food menus. We take bookings, but walk-ins are also welcome. We cater for groups and private parties and we are family-friendly, with a children's menu and outdoor play area available. General manager Joan Donegan (Head Chef) & Yvonne Flanagan Johnson (Restaurant Manager) look forward to welcoming you to The Bective. We are open from 5pm to late from Wednesdays to Saturdays and from 3pm to 9pm on Sundays (and bank holidays) and there is ample street parking available outside the restaurant.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing