We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Longlands Restaurant

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Reserve a table
2
Sat., 06-19
20:00
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Single-use or sanitised menus
Read more
Updated 20-07-23 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Longlands Restaurant
Updated 20-07-23 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$6 - US$26
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (534)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveller rating
237
147
82
36
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
237
147
82
36
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza steak fish and chips pudding tewitfield marina half price booked a table lovely meal the pub evening meal sunday lunch excellent value for money rob inn canal gravy lakes
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Our visit was good , we were served straight away , our starters were good and we had the beef roast and the beef was really good ! Pudding was delicious! We then got to watch the euro game which my boyfriend loved ! I...thought it was great customer service!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Not a very satisfying experience. We had previously booked but arrived early hoping to have a pre dinner drink. There was great difficulty trying to work out the system of phone ordering and eventually gave up and went inside. We were shown promptly to our...table and ordered drinks and two Sunday roasts. The roast beef was good but the rest of the meal was very poor. A meagre amount of vegetables cold potatoes half of an undercooked carrot and two small sweet corn heads. £15.50 each. The single Yorkshire pudding was crispy. With a tonic water and a pint of lager the bill came to £37.50. No wonder we prefer holidays abroad!More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely place. We enjoyed a great meal with more than 1 vegetarian choice which we were very grateful for. The staff were friendly and helpful and although busy did not appear rushed or harassed. Would definitely recommend for a lovely meal nice ambiance in a...lovely setting.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Rob Falcon, General Manager at The Longlands Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thankyou so much for your positive review of our Hotel, after the year we have had we are putting all our efforts into creating great experiences for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Rob Falcon Hotel Manager

Reviewed May 9, 2021

We did not stay in the hotel - this review is purely based on our outside seating experience for dinner on a Friday evening. I'd like to make it clear that it wasn't a terrible experience, it just wasn't a great one. We had pre...booked a table for 4 people at 7pm, knowing that we would be seated outside due to covid restrictions, and we were fine with this. We did call ahead to check if there was any covered seating, to which we were told that it was a first-come-first-served basis & thought this was a bit odd due to the lack of table allocation to bookings but no gripes here. When we arrived, we were sort of greeted by a woman seated with her back to us at a picnic table on a laptop & pointed in the direction of "one of two tables we have left" - It did not feel as though we had a booking & we were not seated or walked though any of their ordering/app systems. We found our table by itself on the pavement outside their main wall - right on the pavement of the car park - again, quite secluded & didn't feel like part of the restaurant at all. At this point it is worth noting that there seemed to be some tables free under the shelter, however it appeared they were only seating larger tables under there. Nobody came to speak to us at any point, and although there seemed to be a lively atmosphere with quite clearly a lot of locals who were just drinking, we didn't feel super welcome at any point. The manager was standing quite close with some of the locals he clearly knew, but had pulled his mask down under his chin, which we didn't love. At this point, we decided to order our food to takeaway and about 40 minutes later, someone came over to us and handed our food to us. Again, not super poor but it did seem a little slow since only one other table seemed to be eating. The food itself was fine, nothing really wrong with it - the burgers were a little black & bottom of burger bun was kind of wafer thin, but pasta dish was pretty good & the steak and mushroom pie was great! Very generous portion sizes to be fair, and we're not sure about price comparison with other places to eat in the area, but it was average food with higher than average prices. I think that this place seems to be really popular with locals & I'm sure would be great if you were willing to wait a while or were just having a drink, but we may not recommend for tourists as it didn't really tick many boxes for us. Speed of service was not great, customer service pretty poor - we just felt ignored for our whole experience. Food quality was okay but only okay. Atmosphere seemed great if you know a lot of people there. Like I said, really honest review: nothing super wrong but nothing super right either.More

Helpful?
Rob Falcon, General Manager at The Longlands Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Afternoon I Harrison, Thankyou for the honesty in your review , it seems that this was not the experience we strive to give and I feel we have let you down on many levels. The points you have made have been brought to my...More

Reviewed May 8, 2021 via mobile

As the sun was shining we decided to walk here from where we were staying. This was our 1st venture out for a drink in months and we were very impressed. Being retired and not very I.T savvy we were easily able to order drinks,...minutes later they were brought to your table. No queuing at the bar. In this horrid time we felt very safe and the pint of Wainwright’s was perfect. In fact we had a few. Well done to the staff in this very difficult time.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Rob Falcon, General Manager at The Longlands Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Susan , It sounds like you had a great time. We change our guests ales daily so I hope we see you soon when you are out walking. Regards Rob Falcon General Manager

Reviewed May 3, 2021

We were staying in the caravan site up the road and booked a table at The Longlands which was just down the road. We visited as a group on Sunday afternoon and we were made to feel very welcome. The staff looked like they’ve gone...above and beyond to make customers feel comfortable with the current situation having to dine outdoors. . We were lucky to be in the gazebo and had a lovely long overdue meal out with family and friends. We loved the food also and look forward to returning on our next visit.. Thank you.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Rob Falcon, General Manager at The Longlands Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2021

Thankyou for your comments, I am so glad you enjoyed your visit to us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Rob falcon General Manager

Reviewed April 29, 2021

Popped in on an unplanned visit to see if we could get some lunch, quick service and nice outdoor table next to a heater. The fish platter was nice (although wish I'd ordered pizza as it looked great!) friendly staff who explained there may be...a delay (which there wasn't). Great service and lovely food. Would recommendMore

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Rob Falcon, General Manager at The Longlands Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2021

Thank you for your lovely comments, I will pass these to my team. You will have to have the pizza when we welcome you back! Rob Falcon General Manager

Reviewed April 27, 2021

We was staying at Tewitfield marina and this was on site . We really enjoyed our drinks and we ordered pizzas which were freshly made. Due to covid you ordered by the app on your phone which we found very useful. Staff also friendly and...plenty of seating outside however we booked just incase. Recommend the pizzas but could easily share as quite big. We would return again .More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Rob Falcon, General Manager at The Longlands Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2021

Hello Venture, Thankyou very much for your review, its always great to see our guests response to our Covid processes, food and service. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Rob Falcon General Manager

Reviewed April 27, 2021 via mobile

Visited for a quick bite to eat in the sun. We did not book but were told there was space for us if we were out by a certain time, which was good. We ordered on our phones, using the QR code on the table,...which was easy enough to do. The menu was quite small, but that is understandable coming out of lockdown, and probably due to reduced staff etc. We ordered a Fish Platter at £14.50, and a side of chips for £4 (to share as we were only peckish). We were expecting prices to be around that mark, as similar to most restaurants and pubs in the area. We were quite disappointed with the the Fish Platter which was advertised as: 'Smoked salmon, salt and pepper squid, fish goujons, prawns with Marie Rose sauce, roll mop herrings served with walnut bread'. To be honest, it was exactly as described, but we did not expect there to be 2 fish goujons, 2 tiny pieces of squid, a small spoon of prawn cocktail, and 1 roll mop! Most of the plate was made up of salad and bread. There was a decent portion of smoked salmon though, and the chips were also nice. We were sharing but I think anyone would be disappointed with £14.50 for a couple of fish fingers, so would not recommend the Fish Platter. On a positive note, the staff were generally very nice and helpful 👍 and the food and drink were brought out very quickly.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Rob Falcon, General Manager at The Longlands Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2021

Good Morning Ellen, Thankyou for taking the time to review us, I am sorry that you were disappointed with size of the fish platter. I have spoken with our head Chef the dish is designed for one person, so with this in mind I can...More

Reviewed April 23, 2021 via mobile

We went just after lock down when you could only eat outside, while due to this the menu was limited the food was excellent. We did get chance to speak to the manager who was very pleasant and had great ambitions for the place. The...outside area was large clean friendly and had great vibe We hope to returnMore

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Rob Falcon, General Manager at The Longlands Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2021

Thank you for your 5* review, we are so glad to hear to you enjoyed your time with us and we can't wait to see you again soon.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
726 reviews
.01 km away
Royal Station Hotel
53 reviews
3.76 km away
Redwell Inn
164 reviews
4.60 km away
The Wheatsheaf
86 reviews
6.32 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
New Inn Restaurant, Yealand
357 reviews
1.97 km away
Kings Arms
114 reviews
2.94 km away
The Eagles Head
775 reviews
3.75 km away
Burger King
25 reviews
2.49 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Greenlands Farm Village
373 reviews
.22 km away
Capernwray Diving Centre
73 reviews
2.22 km away
Warton Crag
60 reviews
2.53 km away
The Hawk Garden
27 reviews
2.59 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lizfrankish
September 9, 2019|
Answer
Response from abmccann47 |
Yes very dog friendly
0
Votes
jackieCumbriaEngland
July 17, 2019|
Answer
Response from alibirkett | Reviewed this property |
They serve afternoon tea everyday 12 till 4 but you need to book with 24/48hours e is a selection of sandwiches, cakes and scones with jam and cream.
1
Vote
simmo36
April 15, 2018|
Answer
Response from alltheteam | Property representative |
Hello, We do indeed! We serve food 7 days a week. 12-2.30pm and 5.30-9pm. Check out our website to see if we have any special offers on! Regards, Ross Knipe Front of House Manager
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Longlands Restaurant

Yes, The Longlands Restaurant is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Longlands Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 3.5