We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

lake tekapo tavern

$$ - $$$
Bar, Pub, New Zealand
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
lake highway 8, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 118: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of the few places at Lake Tekapo that wasn't too expensive, only had a snack here and a beverage, but was good value for money.

Helpful?
Thank avenue12016
Paphos District, Cyprus
Level Contributor
145 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a nice drink of beer in nice surroundings. Played pool but unfortunately the white ball had been stolen. Met a nice English couple. A great end to a great day

Helpful?
Thank Michael H
oswestry
Level Contributor
154 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Called here on our first evening for a couple of beers service was friendly beer good choice and view amazing

Helpful?
Thank rhianslip
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2017

We went as a couple to Lake Tekapo Tavern. They had a limited menu as they also had a function on, but this suited us as they were the cheaper options. The fish and chips basket was very big and tasty. They also had a good selection of beers. The staff were friendly and it had a good atmosphere. It's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Isabel H
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2017

Pros: -well priced beer -view of the lake and mountains -outdoor seating Cons: - literally everything else about this place Review: Lets start at the beginning. We walk in and notice it is most definitely a run down old pub. This place probably hasn't had a makeover in 30 years. We approach the bar and the manager can be heared... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank OnTheGoJoe77
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Well I will start with two things that were approaching good. The Jeffrey pizza we ordered was delicious and the wait staff fairly helpful. Unfortunately the entire experience was ruined by the by the appalling attitude and general lack of ability of the people in the kitchen that we later informed were the owners. We ordered nine meals on four... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank 777Viki
Sydney
Level Contributor
180 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2016

We had burgers and were probably the worst food we had all trip. Plenty of other dining options in town.

Helpful?
Thank Turkey_Baster
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

Ordered a half pint of apple cider. Staff member didn't seem to understand what half a pint was. I'm not sure if they even have half pints. Explained again I wanted a half pint. Other staff member had to translate into German that I wanted a half pint. Too hard. I said I'd have a full pint to make things... More 

Helpful?
Thank kimsue100
323ness, Owner at lake tekapo tavern, responded to this review

Dear Kimsue100 Thank you for reviewing the tavern and bringing this issue to my attention. As you have said everybody deserves to be treated with respect and there is no need for the patrons to feel uncomfortable as you are the ones that do supply the staff with jobs and pay the wage bill so all I can say is... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2016

Friendly place we were welcomed by the duty manager nice guy, fire was on lake views rabbits running around outside, good beers reasonable price great food incl $15 daily specials everyone in the place was being served great food. Must have lifted their game in response to previous reviews

Helpful?
Thank Keith H
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

We came here for a takeaway coffee but stayed back munching our way through delicious chips and spring rolls and had more Than one coffee . ( we do not drink)Loved the hospitality and the food Keep it up you rock guys !!!!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank puneet_mishra

Travellers who viewed lake tekapo tavern also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to lake tekapo tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, New Zealand
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: lake highway 8, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Mackenzie District  >  Lake Tekapo

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from lake tekapo tavern staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?