We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The View

Western Esplanade Kingsway | Brighton, Hove BN3 4FA, England
+44 1273 207100
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good18%
  • Average15%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible19%
Travellers talk about
“hummus” (4 reviews)
“kebab” (3 reviews)
“pancakes” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
British, Persian, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly
$$ - $$$
Western Esplanade Kingsway | Brighton, Hove BN3 4FA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a private party - my choir goes there every year for a post-concert jam session and boogie. They provide decent food and the bar staff are lovely and cheerful all night, even though they must be feeling tired. The guys on the security...More

Thank samanthamcdonough
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

3.70 for 10 frozen chips , 7 quid for a 6inch frozen pizza. Will not be returning. Clearly relies on seafront location. Not that clean either

1  Thank LondonLondonlondon1
Reviewed March 23, 2018 via mobile

Don’t bother. I live close by, the food is average or less and the service is poor. They don’t try to do a good job, they rely on the fact that they are the only place on the seafront in this location. The worst thing...More

1  Thank G123456789
Reviewed March 2, 2018

Very slow service. My partner's meal arrived and was cold. The waiter asked if we wanted microwaved or a freshly cooked meal. We opted for the latter. The seating in the far left corner is knackered, completely uncomfortable and unsuitable. I have previously left this...More

Thank Garden M
Reviewed February 12, 2018

The view is the only thing going for this place. The food & service are terrible & dirty tables. Got completely ripped off...paid £13 each for what was meant to be a gourmet burger but was anything but! Over done chewy meat, awful. Couldn't be...More

Thank nicky s
Reviewed February 2, 2018

One look should have been enough but we made a mistake by entering The View. With a nearly empty establishment we waited nearly twenty minutes for two simple snacks. When they finally arrived they met the trade descriptions act but what was presented was not...More

Thank plantsman8
Reviewed November 13, 2017

We tried to have lunch here last week. Despite the fact that there is now a law that states that a restaurant ought to know what ingredients are in the food, neither the one junior server nor the chef had any idea and were more...More

1  Thank Cjh4810
Reviewed November 2, 2017 via mobile

Ordered two lattes. Rough as old boots. Wanted a quick toastie but had missed breakfast so was told no. Obviously didn’t want any more money from us. The place looks like it needs a good clean. Avoid

1  Thank Dale O
Reviewed October 28, 2017

Lovely setting, we had a window seat looking out at the sea view on a bright sunny Saturday. Liked the ambience and the staff were friendly. I was pleasantly surprised by the menu on offer - I didn't expect as much choice for a seaside...More

2  Thank Mandy d
Reviewed September 27, 2017 via mobile

The venue located on the beach in a hove, could not fault the location. The venue was booked out for the wedding reception we were guest at. Plastic cups were provided after 9pm which I could not work out why, when I challenged the bar...More

1  Thank scott h
Nearby HotelsSee all Hove Hotels
Best Western Princes Marine Hotel
801 reviews
.39 km away
Langfords Hotel
520 reviews
1.18 km away
The Courtlands Hotel
485 reviews
1.44 km away
629 reviews
1.50 km away
Nearby Restaurants
176 reviews
.71 km away
Sini Restaurant
276 reviews
.60 km away
Franco's Osteria
331 reviews
.84 km away
233 reviews
.71 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hove Lagoon
104 reviews
.80 km away
Three Angels by Vintage Charm
7 reviews
.49 km away
Xpress Beauty
11 reviews
1.01 km away
The Therapy Shop
63 reviews
1.11 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
September 24, 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Rob i | Reviewed this property |
Sorry Angela I also haven't a clue what dry hire is either , but I enjoyed the food and would eat here again Regards Rob
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$7 - US$20
Brunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, View
Open Hours
9:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
9:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
9:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
9:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
9:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
9:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
9:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Western Esplanade Kingsway | Brighton, Hove BN3 4FA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Hove
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 207100
  • E-mail
We offer a variety of atmospheres to suit all guests. You can dine in our restaurant area where you dedicated waiters will offer you friendly table service or sit in our indoor or outdoor casual seating area where we offer our full menu from the fully equipped bar area. In the summer months you can take a seat on the beach or our terrace area over looking the sea while experiencing unbeatable 180 degree views of the coastline.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing