We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Johnnie Fox's Pub

Ballybetagh Road, Glencullen D18 X635, Ireland
+353 1 295 5647
Website
Share
Save
Certificate of Excellence
All photos (941)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good27%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“whiskey cake” (20 reviews)
“lamb shank” (78 reviews)
“mussels” (97 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
European, Irish, Bar, Pub, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Ballybetagh Road, Glencullen D18 X635, Ireland
All Details
Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here
Sponsored by: Johnnie Fox's Pub
1. Amaizing place
"atmosphere is great"
Aileen O
See reviews that mention Amaizing place
2. Proper good craic!
"excellent entertainment"
Lorraine S
See reviews that mention Proper good craic!
3. Always a hit!
"come here you are guaranteed to have an amazing Irish experience!"
James W
See reviews that mention irish experience
Write a ReviewReviews (1,763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Booked the seats for dinner with the Hooley show to entertain friends from Canada and we enjoyed every minute of it. The singers were good, the dancers even better. If you are here for the craic, the show and the location then this is the...More

Thank sue p
JohnnieFoxsPub, Public Relations Manager at Johnnie Fox's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Sue, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the entertainment at the Hooley show. We are so disappointed to hear the food did not live up to your expectations on this occasion,...More

Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed November 26, 2017

The place is just terrific. If you want to see a good river dance show, eat fabulous food and listen to wonderful music and pub songs, then this is the place for you. They have a bus which we took to get here which has...More

2  Thank Maria B
JohnnieFoxsPub, Manager at Johnnie Fox's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Maria thanks for the lovely warm and factual review, hope you make it back up to us very soon.

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Our neighbors visited here a few years ago and recommend to us if we ever went to Ireland. Our friends kindly took us here one afternoon for a drink. Very cool place! Very busy, but it was a Sunday :)

Thank TMM818
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have been her many times and every time the food is great the atmosphere is brilliant. Chowder is to die for and chef Florins special Hake was mouthwotering and delicious. I would defonetally be back!!!

1  Thank Elin P
JohnnieFoxsPub, Front Office Manager at Johnnie Fox's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Elin, We are delighted to hear you feel the pub is worth returning to! We can't thank you enough for your kind feedback and we can't wait for your next visit!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We first went to Johnnie Fox’s for a dinner on a random weeknight. We had the seafood platter for 4 for three of us and we were able to handle it. The seafood was fresh and delicious. There oysters were really good and the service...More

Thank danbot711
JohnnieFoxsPub, Guest Relations Manager at Johnnie Fox's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Dan, We are delighted to see such a glowing review of the pub! The seafood platter has been a favourite for guests for so long so its great to see people still enjoy it. I will be passing on your kind comments to our...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Before our trip to Ireland, one of our party ran into someone who had visited Dublin many times and recommended Johnnie Fox's as a must see. After checking out the website we decided that it was worth a try, so we took his advice and...More

Thank HeatherMMc
JohnnieFoxsPub, Guest Relations Manager at Johnnie Fox's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Heather, Firstly, we do appreciate you taking the time to leave some feedback from your visit. Sorry to see the pub failed to live up to your expectations, this is obviously something we hate to hear! We always advise booking the Hooley dinner &...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been there twice, and I am going back this month. It is a fine, fun classic Irish Pub with drinks, food and festivity.

1  Thank Samuel M
JohnnieFoxsPub, Guest Relations Manager at Johnnie Fox's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Samuel, Thanks for taking the time to leave such a kind review. We are delighted you have enjoyed your past visits to the pub. We can't wait to welcome you back again this month!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here today for dinner with my husband & two children.The lamb shank was so tasty but could have probably done with more veg.My husband & son had the beef which they said was melt in your mouth gorgeous & my daughter had the chicken...More

1  Thank heffernanmssineadh
JohnnieFoxsPub, Front Office Manager at Johnnie Fox's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there, We are delighted to see such a lovely review of the pub, thanks for taking the time to share your visit with us! I will indeed be passing on your kind comments about the food to our kitchen staff and to the waiting...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place is a must for Irish love music, food lovers and whiskey drinkers and obviously Guinness too. I love this place from the minute I walked in to the minute I left -the people there make the bar - the customers and the staff....More

Thank Kirpal S
JohnnieFoxsPub, Front Office Manager at Johnnie Fox's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Kirpal, Thanks for taking the time to leave such a glowing review of the pub! We are delighted to see you enjoyed your time with us and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the staff. We do hope it...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went on a Bank holiday in May, needles to say the place was packed as it was a nice sunny day. It’s a bit out of the city and accessible by car, no buses from what I know go there. Unless you are an avid...More

Thank Awesome D
JohnnieFoxsPub, Front Office Manager at Johnnie Fox's Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there! We can't thank you enough for taking the time to share your experience and your kind feedback with us. We are delighted to see such a lovely review of the pub. I will most certainly be passing on those brilliant comments about the...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Glencullen Hotels
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection
2,795 reviews
4.60 km away
Summerhill House Hotel
659 reviews
5.08 km away
Clayton Hotel Leopardstown
1,342 reviews
5.69 km away
IMI Residence Dublin
237 reviews
6.01 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Stone Grill
20 reviews
3.49 km away
Vanilla Pod Eatery
166 reviews
4.04 km away
The Enniskerry Inn
130 reviews
4.63 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Gap Glencullen Adventure Park
24 reviews
.30 km away
Powerscourt Gardens and House
2,277 reviews
4.71 km away
Powerscourt Golf Club
136 reviews
4.24 km away
ESPA at Powerscourt Hotel
69 reviews
4.84 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
indueby
February 27, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from EBTD | Reviewed this property |
This pub is quite some distance uphill from Dublin and if you want to get the full craic from the hooley experience i suggest you book a table and organise to use the shuttle from city centre. have fun
1
Vote
catemont
November 28, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from JohnnieFoxsPub | Property representative |
Strongly recommend reservations for the Hooley show or even dinner just to avoid disappointment, psssst sorry for the late reply....
0
Votes
angelamann73
November 2, 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from JohnnieFoxsPub | Property representative |
So sorry for the late reply, our TA page gets periodic updates as we are a bit short staffed but our Facebook page gets replies much faster and emails get them usually within the hour in office opening times, ok apology done... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$186
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Monday
11:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Tuesday
11:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Wednesday
11:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Thursday
11:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Friday
11:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Saturday
11:00 a.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ballybetagh Road, Glencullen D18 X635, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Glencullen
  • Phone Number: +353 1 295 5647
  • E-mail
Description
Johnnie Fox's Pub is situated in the heart of the Dublin Mountains and it is a pub that simply "has it all"! A living museum of Irish tradition, live entertainment nightly, food served daily from their a la carte menu which starts at 12:30 through until 9:30pm. The full range of menus are available to view online.Situated only 40 mins from Dublin centre, 10 minutes from Enniskerry or Dundrum, there is even a shuttle bus service which runs daily from the city to the pub and back down again, for full details contact EXPRESS BUS and these are also great for full coach and mini bus hire - only €10 return per person (10+). For a real treat - one must experienced the world famous "HOOLEY NIGHT" 4 course dinner and live traditional ballad music and dance show, for only €52.50 per person - a great night no matter the occasion or number of people in your group, book from one person to 130. Traditional Irish Peat Fireplaces, Live Entertainment, Great Food, Own Bakery, Ample Parking, Friendly Service and so much more.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;