We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Argo Restaurant and Wine Bar

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
European, New Zealand
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
328 Ocean Rd, Whangamata 3620, New Zealand (Formerly Oceanas Restaurant & Bar)
+64 7-865 7157
Website
Today
17:30 - 23:30
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 14:30 - 20:00
Mon 17:30 - 20:30
Thu 08:30 - 21:00
Fri 17:30 - 23:30
Sat 14:30 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 132: English reviews
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2016

Away from the town centre and unprepossessing external appearance this restaurant is a real gem to experience. Great menu, great taste, excellently presented by courteous and friendly staff. Nine of us in our group (aged 11 to 69) and all selected something really delicious to put big smiles on our faces.

Helpful?
Thank Brian_StNeots
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

We dined here in April. Not a great selection of nice eateries in Whangamata but this had good reviews. I had the entree of scallops and prawns as not terribly hungry. It was lovely. Seafood cooked to perfection. Hubby had the twice cooked pork. It was nice. Staff very friendly and attentive.

Helpful?
Thank Cherylcoutts
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

Well, tonight was a spectacular dinner. The staff were very professional and attentive without being overbearing. They knew the menu and could advise and recommend their dishes. The chefs special was truly 'special'. Snapper, whitebait, prawns and scallops..... Perfection. The deserts to die for. It was a plate licking dinner!!!

Helpful?
Thank Pip O
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

It was a birthday /anniversary dinner without a booking . We could see the staff were extremely busy and they seated us as quick as they could . We have to wait sometime and the staff were so apologetic for the delay but golly gee the meal was well worth the wait . we both had seafood chowder , he... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louise M
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2016

My husband and I both chose the steak, mine rare and his medium. They were both cooked to perfection. The garlic in the mash was subtle and not over-powering. Lovely accompaniment of vine ripened tomatoes, green beans and crunchy onion rings. The mushroom jus was delicious. For dessert my passion fruit brulee was divine and my husband did justice to... More 

Helpful?
Thank GreersGastroBar
Whangamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

We haven't been here for a while...went tonight to check out the menu by the new head chef....WOW!!! The food was totally amazing. On the downside we are not going to get rich or skinny whilst this guy is working here! Highly recommend. We will be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank 380Kat
Feilding, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2016

I had an evening meal that included a seafood chowder as the entrée and the twice cooked pork as the main. I enjoyed both dishes and left the restaurant happy. Unfortunately at 3am I had dioreha and projectile vomiting. The only thing I can attribute this to was the seafood chowder. The next day I called back into the restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank murraycr0ss
Management response:

I recall you calling and discussing this matter in the middle of beach hop week, busiest day of business which we had sold a huge quantity of servings of seafood chowder including you. I do not believe we dismissed your concerns which I took seriously however and to follow in discussion I answered you by saying, throughout this week we... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

Came here twice in 2 days. First visit was fine. Cider wasn't very cold, possibly because they were busy and fridge wasn't getting cold enough? Tap beer was cold though. Second time they told me they were too busy to make my ice chocolate, seeing as how they were barely half full i'd hate to see their service if they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Natalie T
Management response:

I am sorry that you were told were too busy to make your ice chocolate. I agree and I would have to look into the matter. My apologies. More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

Amazing meal. Had the steak followed with Creme Brulee. Well presented and great flavours. The staff were exceptional, the chef came and asked how the meal was, service like this is hard to come by. Thanks, will definitely be back!

Helpful?
2 Thank Steven A
Management response:

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, appreciated. More 

Whangamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2016

Located some distance away from the Main Street (Port Road) means it's not overcrowded relative those restaurants in that street. It also has an "upmarket" ambiance with friendly welcome from the owner, the experienced Staff and the chefs on view. Food varied & interesting and cooked well, the steak particularly. Good choice of wines. All in all a very nice... More 

Helpful?
Thank SMILYEXPLORER

Travellers who viewed Argo Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Argo Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$7 - US$24
Cuisine
European, New Zealand
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
14:30 - 20:00
Monday
17:30 - 20:30
Thursday
08:30 - 21:00
Friday
17:30 - 23:30
Saturday
14:30 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 328 Ocean Rd, Whangamata 3620, New Zealand (Formerly Oceanas Restaurant & Bar)
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Waikato Region  >  Coromandel Peninsula  >  Whangamata
  • Phone Number: +64 7-865 7157
Description
Argo Restaurant and Wine BarOpen for Brunch, lunch, and Dinner 7 days over the summer period. Serving award winning Roma Coffee and local Coromandel Craft Beer. Argo is the perfect destination for those who love to soak up the sun while enjoying awesome cuisine. Call in for a meal or relax in the sun drenched courtyard for a few wines on your way back from the beach. A must stop in Whangamata!!!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Argo Restaurant and Wine Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?