We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant

) #1 of 6 Restaurants in Mt. Cook Village $$ - $$$ Cafe, European,
Aorkai Mt Cook Village, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
+64 3-435 1890
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good34%
  • Average17%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (85 reviews)
“salmon bagel” (12 reviews)
“apple crumble” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, European, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Aorkai Mt Cook Village, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Food was good, friendly staff, in fact, I think it is a family run business. small scale, cozy, but has good view of the mountains! this is way better than the restaurants at the hotel opposite.

Thank Douglas H
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Yes, it is small scale and it seems you picked up the soul of the place which is perfect. You made our day. Travel safe.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Bad bad bad service, and not a really good food too My experience here is really bad, definitely won't come back anymoreMore

1  Thank Ymin T
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

I have no idea what the trouble was as you do not say, but I can tell you that if there was any problem with the food we would gladly fix it if you said you were not happy. And when 40 people come into...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The both of us had a burger ($24) and soup of the day ($13.50) for lunch. Burger wasnt big but sufficient. Patty came off as a little dry but very decent. Best thing about the place is the views and the laid back amostphere. Prices...More

Thank feizhu
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for your recognition of the food quality, which we work hard on to provide the best in quality. Hopefully you also had a side of french fries included in the price for the burger. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed the welcoming...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Basic menu with burgers, fries, pizza etc. Food wasn't bad but we couldn't get a beer at 2pm as the server wasn't authorised and the manager wasn't on until 3pm. Otherwise, the food was pretty good, a freshly made burger with salad and crispy chunky...More

Thank Sharon H
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Great to hear that you enjoyed your food and the view!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The view was amazing however selection of food is abit little. Comfy environment and food tasted good.

Thank danielhengjx
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Great that the food was good and the environment cosy!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Finally someone who can cook perfectly poached eggs! Friendly girls serving and nice cosy atmosphere on a cold morning. The coffee was good and the breakfasts, fresh and hot! Will definitely return when my fam bam visit. Cheers :-)More

Thank pencilskirt
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Awesome. Delighted to hear that you loved the eggs, the great service and the warm and cosy atmosphere and coffee. And thanks so very much for taking the time to write your wonderful review. All the staff work tremendously hard and it made their day....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Eager to eat after over four hours of walking, I had obviously entered through the incorrect side door but instead of being told this, I was instead treated as though I was alien, the lady in the room saying something along the lines of "he...More

Thank XanderNZ267
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Delighted to know that you enjoyed your food. Would have been more than happy to make you a drink with less ice and sort out the wi-fi and no problem about the door!

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The wedges were overcooked. Visibly black. Only offered replacement no refund. The coffee was terrible as well. Not good enough for a place as amazing as mount Cook. Lift your game.

Thank Andrew C
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I am not sure what is so wrong about giving you replacement wedges and coffee if it was not to your liking.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I found it hard to rate this restaurant. The atmosphere is great, the staff friendly and attentative - first class. You can feel the history as though you had walked in the footsteps of hiking boots of alpinists past. but it's restaurant and it served...More

Thank PS2290
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and the history. If there was anything you didn't like about your food, you were welcome to return it before having eaten it.

Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Fantastic views in a nice warm cafe. The service was pleasant but not exceptional, certainly nothing to complain about. The coffee and tea were fine. The margarita pizza was very heavy on grated type mozzarella rather than true buffalo mozzarella and decidedly light on basil,...More

Thank daisynz
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Matheson Cafe
997 reviews
33.32 km away
Alice May
1,206 reviews
39.09 km away
The Panorama Restaurant
239 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Aoraki/Mt. Cook
374 reviews
.11 km away
Hooker Valley Track
600 reviews
1.55 km away
Kea Point Track
118 reviews
.17 km away
Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre
474 reviews
.19 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ash5200
23 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Harriet W | Property representative |
Dear Ash, Yes it is VERY high season! We do take reservations and if you book your group in for an early dinner that should work. Let me know your name, contact details of where you are staying and if you want to book on 29... More
0
Votes
Pipo2968
25 May 2015|
Answer
Response from Harriet W | Property representative |
Welcome to Mount Cook National Park! We serve sourdough or ciabatta bread and toast. In winter the last order depends on how busy it is but book for no later than 7pm to be sure that we are open. Breakfast starts at 10am. We... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Aorkai Mt Cook Village, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Mackenzie District  >  Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)  >  Mt. Cook Village
  • Phone Number: +64 3-435 1890
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing