We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Panorama Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Terrace Road, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
+64 3-435 1809
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 182: English reviews
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
408 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

There is no doubt as to the magnificence of the view from the Panorama Room. And there is no doubt the quality of the food is as equal to the task. Staff were wonderful but the food exceeded our expectations. Put simply it was superb. The smoked salmon with the mousse and the crab ravioli were great but the venison... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jinny57
Jemma W, Food & Beverage Manager at The Panorama Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Jinny57, Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Feedback such as this is exactly what as all strive for. Your comments have been passed on to the kitchen and front of house teams and they look forward to welcoming you back again in future. Kind regards, Jemma Wild More 

Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Service is a bit hit and miss, some good waiters combined with completely clueless ones. Good food (venison, fish) and some misses (the mascarpone on top of the tartare is a bad idea and overall the tartare seemed either rushed to the table of just lazily prepared. It lacked seasoning). Wine list is limited but acceptable. Great views. A little... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CeltiberoBarcelona
Jemma W, Food & Beverage Manager at The Panorama Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear CeltiberoBarcelona, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your recent visit to The Panorama Restaurant. Sorry to hear that you found the service and food to be "hit and miss" as it is not the consistency we strive for. We have taken your comments on board and discussed them with the team. Kind regards, Jemma... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited Nov 2016. Food is excellent, seems like anything on the menu. I had the ribs and they were outstanding and unusual or not USA type. View is fantastic. Staff are very friendly and helpful! Only complaint is flies in the huge dining room window although they did not bother us. Wife like the wine. Just not pleasant to watch.... More 

Helpful?
Thank smileuwon
Jemma W, Food & Beverage Manager at The Panorama Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Smileuwon, Thank you for posting your feedback, however I'm not sure that you dined at The Panorama Restaurant as we don't offer ribs on our menu. It may be that you dined at The Chamois Bar & Grill at our sister property the Mt Cook Lodge & Motels. Your comments will be passed on to them. Kind regards, Jemma... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came in at 7pm asking if there was any availability for dinner and were told by the receptionist that no seatings were available until 9pm. We made a booking and left to have drinks. Upon our return, we were told matter-of-factly by someone who I assume to be the manager that a table wouldn't be available until 9:30, which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keith C
Jemma W, Food & Beverage Manager at The Panorama Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Keith C, Thank you for posting your feedback, although not good we take all of our reviews on board. I'm not sure who the person was who spoke to you so abruptly but I apologise on their behalf. Keith, you have raised some training issues that need to be addressed and I apologise that you were made to feel... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Decent beef and lamb dishes with great views of the mountains. Staff were all very friendly and attentive

Helpful?
Thank Irenewong23
Jemma W, Food & Beverage Manager at The Panorama Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Irenewong23, Thank you for taking the time to comment on the food, service and views at The Panorama Restaurant. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed the overall experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again in future. Kind regards, Jemma Wild More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
141 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had dinner here three times and each time it was very nice. The Asian manager is very friendly and helpful and runs this like a real professional, as should be. The food is also very good and there's plenty of choice. Finally the views are super and the heating works just fine. If we would have stayed longer, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank GSingapore
Jemma W, Food & Beverage Manager at The Panorama Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear GSingapore, It's great to hear that you enjoyed your experience so much that you dined with us three times. Thank you! Ethan, our Restaurant Manager is indeed a great asset to us as are the rest of the team. Thanks again for your fantastic feedback and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Jemma Wild More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Who would have thought that the buffet restaurant next door would have a better view than The *Panorama* Restaurant, but it does. Many tables in the Panorama have a horrible view, blocked by pillars or trees. We asked to wait for a better table, waited 30 minutes past our reservation time, and still got a mediocre table. 5 minutes later,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sachin A
Jemma W, Food & Beverage at The Panorama Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sachin A, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, however I'm a little confused over your comments on the food and views. All of our tables have spectacular views that would be the envy of most restaurateurs around the world. I looked in to where you were seated. The table that you dined at has a... More 

Beijing, China
Level Contributor
140 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2016

We made a reservation in this restaurant upon arrival at the hotel and enjoyed a nice experience - good food and nice selection of wines, friendly service.

Helpful?
Thank Marc_from_China
Jemma W, Food & Beverage Manager at The Panorama Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Marc_from_China, Thank you for posting your wonderful feedback on your dinner in The Panorama Restaurant. I'm glad you enjoyed the overall experience and I hope you will join us again soon. Kind regards, Jemma Wild More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Nothing much to say, I and my wife had agreed that our dinner here was by far the best dinner experience we had had in our 14-day New Zealand trip. Everything was perfect - the service, the food, the sceneric view. Totally impressed and worth every dollar spent!!

Helpful?
Thank bsuchai
Jemma W, Food & Beverage Manager at The Panorama Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Bsuchai, Thanks so much for your wonderful feedback on your dinner in The Panorama restaurant. Your comments have been passed on to our kitchen and front of house teams and they are delighted. We hope to welcome you back again in future. Kind regards, Jemma Wild More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2016

We were not staying at the Hermitage however we had booked int for the Planetarium show so decided to have dinner first. The room was lovely, great views , intimate and romantic. Very good service. The food was good but not exceptional. We shared the steak tartare for entree (have had better) , Salmon for main which was slightly dry... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simone F
Jemma W, Food & Beverage Manager at The Panorama Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Simone F, I'm pleased you decided to join us for dinner before going out to view our the amazing night sky here at Aoraki/Mt Cook. I've passed your comments (positive and negative) on to our Executive Chef who as addressed these issues with his team. It is a new menu which they were still fine tuning, so it was... More 

Travellers who viewed The Panorama Restaurant also viewed

Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu), Mackenzie District
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to The Panorama Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
European, New Zealand, International, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Terrace Road, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Mackenzie District  >  Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)  >  Mt. Cook Village
  • Phone Number: +64 3-435 1809

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Panorama Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
NYC

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Panorama Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?