We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wheatsheaf

$$ - $$$, British,
Nether End | Wheatsheaf Hotel, Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1SR, England
+44 1246 582240
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good33%
  • Average10%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (39 reviews)
“mixed grill” (9 reviews)
“pie” (19 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Nether End | Wheatsheaf Hotel, Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1SR, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Visited for the first time, homely, warm hostelry. Choice of seating and very attentive service throughout. Drinks were delivered promptly and soon after our meal arrived. We had the steak special with a bottle of wine. The wine was of reasonable quality. The meal was...More

Thank weekender48
Shane W, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review. happy Christmas. we look forward to seeing you in 2018

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ate in the garden. Excellent choice of food. Efficient service, good value and tasty food. What more could you want?

Thank Dave J
Shane W, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. we don't get many people eating in the garden at this time of year, you must have been wearing your thermal's on??? - Many Thanks - Shane.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We called in on the way through, great choice. The staff were attentive, knowledgeable and very friendly. We both chose meals from the Lunchtime Specials - Beef & Ale Pie and Cauliflower Cheese Tart, both were good portions and very tasty. Pudding choice was Apple...More

Thank starfish1956
Shane W, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called in for lunch after visiting Chatsworth Christmas market. On entering, met by a lovely lady, who directed us to a vacant table beside a roaring log fire. Our drinks order was quickly taken by a really friendly young male waiter, who also offered us...More

1  Thank giljonmc
Shane W, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review. we would all love for you to come and stay the night with us.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I ate here last week while visiting the area. The pub/restaurant is huge with plenty of free parking outside. The restaurant was not really busy at gone 8pm on a week night so my partner and I chose a round table not...More

Thank Kezzasmartie
Shane W, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feed back and many apologies that you did not appear to enjoy your chicken, shame its one of our biggest sellers. If you would like to discuss your review further pleaes give me a call on 01246 582240. - Thanks -...More

Reviewed 11 November 2017

We enjoyed our weekly visit this Wednesday as per usual, but sadly it ended with my elderly mother taking a serious tumble by the table after dinner right onto the floor on her back. The customers and the staff were immediately there to help her...More

Thank Kate H
Shane W, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you so much for your review. We all look forward to seeing you both on your regular Wednesday night visits. Best Wishes - Shane.

Reviewed 10 November 2017

Have visited this pub on several occasions the last visit with a group of my walking friends. A table was found for us without a problem and we were looked after by the friendly and efficient staff, food is typical pub grub but is excellent...More

Thank ritchieChesterfield
Shane W, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Wheatsheaf very soon.

Reviewed 2 November 2017

Very surprised at the quality of food and service at a chain pub, staff very pleasant and the battered ale fish was first class will be back, very handy if you park at Chatsworth and enjoy a modest walk for late lunch and walk back...More

Thank stanley g
Shane W, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your lunch visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 18 October 2017

Called in without a booking and pleasantly surprised that we could choose where to sit, there are various areas on the ground floor, some more secluded than others. We chose to sit in the area overlooking the garden. We decided not to go for the...More

Thank Janet P
Shane W, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. we were all so pleased to read that you enjoyed your lunch with us and that you will revisit. many Thanks, looking forward to welcoming you back to The Wheatsheaf sometime very soon.

Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Nothing special. Same as others in the same chain. What would they do without a microwave. Table not very clean. Chips still on chair.

Thank Stephen D
Shane W, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for your review.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Fischer's at Baslow Hall
595 reviews
1.12 km away
Il Lupo
444 reviews
.19 km away
Rowley's
517 reviews
.69 km away
Charlie's Bistro
259 reviews
.83 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Rutland Arms
7 reviews
.91 km away
Chatsworth Estate Farm Shop
578 reviews
2.21 km away
St Peter's Church
15 reviews
2.52 km away
Grindleford Community Shop
23 reviews
5.85 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Charlotte R
14 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from kirsty t | Reviewed this property |
NO!!!! Dog got thrown out into cold dark car after long wet run :(
0
Votes
eileen b
30 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Shane W | Property representative |
Hello Yes, we have a footpath to the pub from most of the village.
1
Vote
rebecca b
6 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Shane W | Property representative |
Hi Rebecca, we do indeed do a Christmas menu. I'm not 100% sure when it be released and how much it will be this year but last year it was £49.99 per person on Christmas Day.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$21
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Nether End | Wheatsheaf Hotel, Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1SR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Baslow
  • Phone Number: +44 1246 582240
  • E-mail
Description
The Wheatsheaf Hotel is an 18th Century coach house situated in the heart of the Peak District outside Chesterfield. The Wheatsheaf is ideal for business travellers and tourists exploring the region, with easy access to Chesterfield, Sheffield, Derby and Manchester. Situated just outside the market town of Chesterfield, the hotel is surrounded by the rolling countryside of the Peak District and near to the superb shopping facilities of Meadowhall as well as the concert and sporting facilities of Sheffield. The Wheatsheaf Hotel offers superb facilities for food in comfortable surroundings with excellent service. Hotel accommodation includes our fantastic free breakfast.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing