We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Halfway House

45 Otley Road | Baildon, Shipley, Bradford BD17 7PY, England
+44 1274 584610
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good27%
  • Average13%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (39 reviews)
“garlic bread” (7 reviews)
“sunday roast” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
45 Otley Road | Baildon, Shipley, Bradford BD17 7PY, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We love coming to the halfway house the staff are so friendly and attentive,the food is excellent and reasonably priced.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank shipleypaul
Gordon I, General Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for a fantastic review regarding your experiences here at The Halfway House, we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Gordon Inglis General Manager

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Located 5 minutes away from Shipley, Bradford, the Halfway House is a fabulous family-friendly pub/restaurant, serving traditional fare at very affordable prices. Very pleasant atmosphere, welcoming log fire. Excellent staff. Booking recommended, especially at this time of the year. Lovely canal side location.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Jackie M
Gordon I, General Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review of The Halfway House, we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Gordon Inglis General Manager

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Brilliant place! Lovely food, lovely service and lovely decor! We enjoyed a pint of Saltaire Blonde by the fire post-meal too! We will definately come again!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Sarah M
Halfway House B, General Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your lovely review of The Halfway House! We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Gordon Inglis General Manager

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We booked my mums 50th here on a Sunday after it been recommended. On arrival we all got our drinks at the bar whilst waiting for others to arrive then when all had arrived we got show to our table. As we were a big...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Nicole2701
Gordon I, General Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking your time to review The Halfway House. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable experience, Our Sunday lunches are served with Roasted Root vegetables, Green cabbage & leeks along with Roast Potatoes, was it a case of you felt the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came for our 33 year anniversary, the food was great and plentiful, the ambience was fantastic and all the staff were lovely and attentive? Would 100% recommend to anyone whether it be couples, families with kids of all ages or large groups & parties

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Mobile27357476140
Gordon I, General Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of The Halfway House. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspect of your dining experience, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Halfway House again soon. KInd Regards Gordon Inglis General Manager

Reviewed November 7, 2018 via mobile

Four of us went for a lunchtime visit. The place had a good ambience. The staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. I had the fish cake £6.75 which suited my small appetite with tarragon hollandaise, green peas and broad...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Jacquie c
Gordon I, General Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking your time to review The Halfway House. I am pleased that you all enjoyed your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Many Thanks Gordon Inglis General Manager

Reviewed November 3, 2018

This is a very smart place with excellent staff. The food should have been good, unfortunately the chef had a VERY heavy hand with the salt which ruined the pie I had, should have sent it back. Three of us had pies and all said...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank june102015
Halfway House B, General Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2018

Dear June I am very sorry that you were not satisfied with our latest batch of pies that have been made, after speaking with my kitchen team I can only apologise that the dish was not to your liking. Had you sent it back we...More

Reviewed November 3, 2018 via mobile

We love this place usually but haven't managed to go for a few months. Went again recently and it was even better than normal. We will keep coming back.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank alexhV8765ZV
Halfway House B, General Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2018

Thank you Alex for taking your time to write a review of The Halfway House, I hope you liked our new Autumn menu. We Look Forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Gordon Inglis General Manager

Reviewed October 30, 2018 via mobile

Visited the Halfway House with friends for tea. The service from Craig and Vicky was great, attentive and friendly. The good was amazing. Would definately recommend the vegetarian pie. The standard food and the size of the portions are unbelievable for the price. Looking forward...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Rebecca G
Gordon I, General Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Thank you Rebecca for your review of The Halfway House, the vegetarian cheese pie is a firm favourite on our new menu. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Halfway House again soon. Kind Regards Gordon Inglis General Manager

Reviewed October 30, 2018

Were sent here by a local, we arrived in the evening the pub was not busy, bar man did not acknowledge us until I spoke to him, then said I'll be with you in just a moment. Waiter then took us to our table, and...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Paul C
Gordon I, General Manager at The Halfway House, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Dear Paul I am very sorry to read your review regarding your recent experience, please accept my sincere apologies for your experience. A drink should always be offered when guests are sat down, all team members are aware of this. I completely agree with your...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
Ibis Bradford Shipley
1,014 reviews
1.97 km away
Hollins Hall Hotel & Country Club Leeds
1,234 reviews
2.02 km away
The Highfield
128 reviews
2.31 km away
Homeleigh Hotel
59 reviews
2.59 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Pickles Deli
98 reviews
1.20 km away
Mimmo's
72 reviews
1.24 km away
Baildon Fisheries
60 reviews
1.07 km away
Angel
37 reviews
1.30 km away
Nearby Attractions
Denso Marston Nature Reserve
15 reviews
1.47 km away
The New Inn
5 reviews
.15 km away
Saltaire Brewery
46 reviews
1.29 km away
Funopolis Play Centre
118 reviews
1.52 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Dianne B
August 17, 2018|
Answer
Response from Gordon I | Property representative |
Hello If coming from Halifax I would think you need to get a bus to Bradford Interchange, then the air port bus either from Bradford or changing at Shipley. We have a Baildon Train station nearby or Shipley which you can... More
0
Votes
mjkkenny
January 29, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Gordon I | Property representative |
Hi Mj Kenny our House wine is priced at £15.95 per bottle, if we can be of any further assistance please contact us on 01274 584610
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Monday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Saturday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 45 Otley Road | Baildon, Shipley, Bradford BD17 7PY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Bradford  >  Shipley
  • Phone Number: +44 1274 584610
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing