We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Swan Inn

20 High Street | Skipton, Gargrave BD23 3RB, England
+44 1756 749232
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good24%
  • Average3%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (18 reviews)
“sunday roast” (6 reviews)
“salmon” (7 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
20 High Street | Skipton, Gargrave BD23 3RB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 228 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We spent the weekend in Gargrave Lovely place and enjoyed the weekend We went into the Old Swan for a drink and would of probably eaten there but the bar man was unfriendly, concentrating on talking to the locals and we decided not to bother

Thank Julia W
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Now daughter & family are in Leeds & we’re in Kendal, we like to meet up roughly half way for a walk & lunch. Today we tried Gargrave & the Old Swan. Gargrave is a pretty village with many options for good walks. The Old...More

Thank juliadarwen
Reviewed 1 week ago

I found The Old Swan after a wet and muddy walk along the Leeds Liverpool canal. The menu outside said Wednesday night was pie night. So I returned that evening for an excellent beef and ale pie, followed by Lemon Tart. The following evening after...More

Thank Steve P
TimLindsaySwan, Owner at The Old Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your 3 evening’s with us, and we really hope you can come see us again soon. Best wishes Tim & Lindsay

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We made the mistake of not booking and we were lucky to get a table after chairs had been rearranged. This is a large pub with people both eating and drinking. Service and Sunday roasts were both excellent. It is easy to find as it...More

1  Thank N D
TimLindsaySwan, Owner at The Old Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your Sunday lunch and our hospitality, it is advisable to book to avoid disappointment, and we really hope you return to see us again soon. Tim & Lindsay

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This pub has been through a large number of landlords in the last 15 years, and until now it's all been a bit disappointing. Thankfully there is now a couple running this who understand the local appreciation for quality meals and excellent client service, and...More

Thank CharlyGregory
TimLindsaySwan, Owner at The Old Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review, we Are glad you enjoyed our hospitality and locally sourced produce, we aim to please and dietary requirements are not a problem, and we really appreciate lovely review’s like this, please call again soon, best wishes Tim & Lindsay

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had met Lindsay at her previous pub and, as we were in the are, thought we’d try her new one for lunch. The prawn sandwiches were excellent and not sure we actually needed the extra chips, but they were lovely- piping hot and crispy....More

Thank poultongirl
TimLindsaySwan, Owner at The Old Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review, we are happy you enjoyed your lunch and our friendly hospitality, we hope you return very soon. Tim & Lindsay

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a hard days hiking in the rain we came across this lovely place on the way home. Very welcoming and excellent customer service and food!!! Would highly recommend anyone in the area to visit!! Will be back again x

Thank Robert S
TimLindsaySwan, Owner at The Old Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed our hospitality and food and hope to see you again soon. Tim & Lindsay

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited today for lunch and were welcomed warmly on arrival. Very friendly and great menu with lots of choice. The food was wonderful, couldn’t fault a thing. Will definitely be back. Highly recommend a visit 🙂

1  Thank Lisa M
TimLindsaySwan, Owner at The Old Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your lunch with us, and that you enjoyed our hospitality, we hope you return to see us again soon. Tim & Lindsay

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was clear that this is a local hub and very friendly to all. Our dog was welcomed and every person arriving seems to have a pocket full of dog biscuits! Good food and a nice selection of cask ales.

Thank Pauline H
TimLindsaySwan, Owner at The Old Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review hope you return again soon. Tim & Lindsay

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped here for a meal a few weeks ago and entered a warm, cozy and inviting pub. The staff were very welcoming and efficient and the food was very good. It was a Thursday - Steak night - and I had a very tasty rib...More

Thank bobatfangfoss
TimLindsaySwan, Owner at The Old Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your meal and our hospitality and we hope you will return soon. Best wishes Tim & Lindsay

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Gargrave Hotels
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
666 reviews
.85 km away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
2,042 reviews
3.99 km away
The Tempest Arms
870 reviews
4.49 km away
Travelodge Skipton
246 reviews
4.77 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Bollywood Cottage
285 reviews
.20 km away
Masons Arms
251 reviews
.34 km away
White Cottage Tea Room
108 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Holy Trinity Church,
98 reviews
.10 km away
Leeds and Liverpool Canal
413 reviews
3.25 km away
Leeds and Liverpool Canal
96 reviews
6.12 km away
Skipton Tourist Information Center
65 reviews
6.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Eric B
17 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from ALICE P | Reviewed this property |
Yes very dog friendly we took our dog inside, other dogs inside too. Hope that helps alice
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Monday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Tuesday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Saturday
12:00 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 20 High Street | Skipton, Gargrave BD23 3RB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Gargrave
  • Phone Number: +44 1756 749232
  • E-mail
Description
Welcome to The Old Swan Inn, Gargrave. A traditional Yorkshire Dales Grade 2* listed country pub and restaurant, set in the heart of the beautiful village of Gargrave at the foot of the stunning dales. We offer comfortable, spacious guest bedrooms; an open plan bar serving local and interesting cask ales, ciders and lagers; a restaurant with home cooked food served from 12noon to 2.30pm and 6pm to 9pm or you can choose to eat in the historic cosy snug with open fireplace.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing