We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

On The Rocks

45 Stadler Road | Bloubergstand, Bloubergstrand 7441, South Africa
+27 21 554 1988
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good28%
  • Average15%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible9%
3 days ago
“Fine dinning with a view.”
1 week ago
“Good seafood with a view”
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
45 Stadler Road | Bloubergstand, Bloubergstrand 7441, South Africa
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Perfect place for a special occasion was greeted very friendly at the door, waiter very friendly and helpful as there was no chicken dish on the menu and the chef made a chicken risotto for me, delicious! Stunning view, just, unfortunately, a very large touring...More

Thank wilnaventer
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very friendly greeting at arrival. We decided to sit outside to enjoy the view. Not a huge variety on the menu, but we decided to go for seafood platter for 2. Awesome platter, had better mussels though - but the rest made up for it....More

Thank Neels K
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Neels K, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at On the Rocks Restaurant. It is such a pleasure reading a review like yours. It's fantastic to hear you received great service and enjoyed our seafood platter...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I have ventured to a plethora of "West coast" eateries in the area between Blouberg and Melkbosstrand and there are many! This one is a step up in every way! Quality of food, service, decor, table setting, winelist and last but certainly not least the...More

Thank Freshairviews
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Freshairviews, Thank you for taking the time to review On the Rocks restaurant after your recent visit. We are delighted and humbled by your compliments! We will share your positive review with the rest of the team. Thank you for your recommendation! We look...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in Bloubergstrand for the weekend and decided to have dinner at On The Rocks Restaurant. We were welcomed and seated at a window table with a great view of Cape Town and Robben Island at night, with the tranquil sound of the ocean...More

Thank lean3t
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this review

Dear lean3t, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at On the Rocks Restaurant. It is such a pleasure reading a review like yours. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our view and that you received great service from...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a horrible experience at this restaurant. I had heard from a coworker that it was delicious and the views were spectacular. Only one of those was true. The tablecloth was dirty. We had asked for scallops and crawfish and they were both out. The...More

Thank Riaa D
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Riaa D, Thank you for your feedback on your experience at On the Rocks. I want to profusely apologize that you did not receive our normal standard of service and that we were out of stock of the items you were interested in. We...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed a late lunch on 30 April 2017. It was a wonderful experience, with a friendly waiter, good wine and the fish was to die for! The atmosphere is wonderful, and although it was windy outside, we sat next to the window with Table...More

Thank Lianie Meyer D
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Lianie Meyer D, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at On the Rocks Restaurant. It is such a pleasure reading a review like yours. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our fish and wine options and that...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are having breakfast at this gorgeous spot and like kippers then you are in for a treat. Small pieces of poached kipper are served in a delicious creamy Provencal sauce, accompanied by scrambled eggs, rocket and tomato. The coffee is really good too....More

Thank KNEES13
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this review

Dear KNEES13, Thank you for writing about your experience at On The Rocks. We value all our patrons' opinions and it was such a pleasure reading about yours, we will surely share your comments with our team. We hope to welcome you back to On...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is my favourite restaurant in Cape Town. Well it was before last night anyway although I should have known what was to come just from my booking experience. I emailed the contact on their website twice and was just completely ignored so had to...More

Thank SteveMac85
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this review

Dear SteveMac85, Thank you for your feedback on your experience at On the Rocks. I want to profusely apologize for the unacceptable and unprofessional service. We value all reviews as this enables us to improve on our offerings and service. We hope to continue the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've been there twice and in my opinion, this restaurant is overpriced. First time there were people from overseas with us and they ordered lobsters. Ok, they are usually expensive but there are many places in Cape Town where you can eat better cooked and...More

1  Thank Alice L
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Alice L, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at On the Rocks Restaurant. We value all reviews as this enables us to improve on our offerings and service. We will discuss the comments regarding the value...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I always try & visit when I'm in Cape Town. The wonderful scenery, friendly & efficient service, and delicious menu keep me coming back. And don't let the setting or quality fool you, it is also great value for money. This is an amazing place...More

1  Thank Bernadette B
OnTheRocks12, Manager at On The Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Bernadette B, Thank you for sharing your experience about you recent visit to On the Rocks. We truly appreciate your positive comments about our food, service and view! It is always a great motivator to all the staff to know we are still on...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Petits Fours
230 reviews
.25 km away
Blue Peter
402 reviews
.47 km away
moyo Blouberg
372 reviews
.88 km away
Ons Huisie
622 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Loisico Tours and Excursions
40 reviews
1.40 km away
GS Africa Motorcycle Rentals & Tours
37 reviews
.31 km away
Cape Town Surf School
14 reviews
.78 km away
Studio 46
6 reviews
.03 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
nsamps0n
Where exactly is it situated?
2 March 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from LekkeNeh12 |
45 Stadler Rd, Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
2
Votes
Erica B
Goeie dag Ek weet dit is dalk bietje vroeg, maar ons is desember in Bloubergstrand, ek wil weet of ek moet plek bespreek vir KErsdag? Baie dankie Groetnis Erica BRewis
11 October 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Carisa M | Property representative |
Beste Erica, Ons het 'n menu vir Kersfees uit. Dit moet bespreek en betaal word vooruit. U kan 'n bespreking maak direk by die restaurant 021 554 1553. Vriendelike groete, Carisa
0
Votes
ACK66Pepe
I am trying to get a lunch reservation for this restaurant and have sent an on-line inquiry twice but havent received an answer. I cannot find an email address - does anyone else have their email please
30 August 2016|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:00
Monday
09:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 22:00
Thursday
09:00 - 22:00
Friday
09:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 45 Stadler Road | Bloubergstand, Bloubergstrand 7441, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Bloubergstrand
  • Phone Number: +27 21 554 1988
  • E-mail