We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ons Huisie

Generaal Jansens Road, Bloubergstrand, South Africa
+27 21 554 1553
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good41%
  • Average19%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (46 reviews)
“mussel pot” (10 reviews)
“calamari” (44 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Generaal Jansens Road, Bloubergstrand, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Ordered the Ons Huisie prawns at R160!! Was shocked at the small heap of prawns with little dry meat. A sauce that has NO taste - not lemon, not garlic, not tartare - just a weird milky solution to dip the dry meat into. My...More

Thank Carin R
OnsHuisie12, General Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Carin, Thank you for your feedback on your experience at Ons Huisie. I would like to to apologize on behalf of Ons Huisie and our head office that you did not receive our usual standard of dishes and service. We value all of the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I ordered a burger the patty was small very dry and tasteless bun dry without butter. The waiter was absent and we had to call him every time for service. Chips was dry with no sauces.More

Thank Flyer82091
OnsHuisie12, General Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Flyer, Thank you for your feedback on your experience at Ons Huisie. I would like to to apologize on behalf of Ons Huisie and our head office that you did not receive our usual standard of dishes and service. We value all reviews as...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had the burger. Tiny plastic lid of sauce. One lettuce leaf, one slice of tomato and 1 raw onion ring served on a stale, butterles bun. The chips were cold and tasteless. Worst burger I've ever. My mother had the fish and chips. Same tasteless...More

Thank Karin S
OnsHuisie12, General Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Karin, Thank you for your feedback on your experience at Ons Huisie. I would like to to apologize on behalf of Ons Huisie and our head office that you did not receive our usual standard of dishes and service. We value all reviews as...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited this popular eatery on a busy day.After waiting in line for a reasonable amount of time we were seated and quickly served with menus and drink order.No complaint there,for a very busy day.Staff pleasant and efficient. I was not impressed however with the boring...More

Thank HelgL
OnsHuisie12, General Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear HelgL, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our restaurant, Ons Huisie. We highly value all our guests' feedback. Your comment regarding the quality of the Crepes dish has been noted and will definitely be addressed to ensure all future dishes...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The prices are extremely reasonable compared to similar places in Blouburg and just as good, if not better!More

Thank Wander819502
OnsHuisie12, General Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Reineer, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our establishment. We are delighted to hear about your recent experience. Your comments will definitely be shared with the rest of the team here at Ons Huisie who I am certain will be...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

One Huisie serves fabulous fish and chips. It's rustic with outside wooden bench sets. The waiters were friendly and teased us - very professionally. Just order the deep fried battered hake and chips. Russels on the Pirt in Velddrif is fine dining. This us an...More

Thank GinaSchroeder1972
OnsHuisie12, General Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Gina, Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to review our establishment. Your comments will definitely be shared with the rest of the team here at Ons Huisie who I am certain will be just as pleased. We look forward to...More

Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

This little restaurant is the perfect way to enjoy Cape Town in all its glory. With a view of Robben Island, beach vibes, pet friendly, good service and great food, Ons Huisie is always a winner for any type of gathering!More

Thank Augusta L
OnsHuisie12, General Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Dear Augusta, Thank you so much for this glowing review. We are delighted to her about your recent visit to Ons Huisie. It is always nice to hear back from our regulars. Your kind words will definitely be shared with the entire team here at...More

Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

Excellent service from both the waiters and the managers. Traditional South Africa meals. The food arrives very quickly, great quality.More

Thank Gidea V
OnsHuisie12, General Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Dear Gidea, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our establishment. We are delighted to hear about your recent experience. Your comments will definitely be shared with the rest of the team here at Ons Huisie who I am certain will be...More

Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

We spent a stunning afternoon at Ons Huisie. Literally on the beach. The staff were friendly and efficient. The food was tasty and reasonably priced. Can get extremely busy. But worth it.More

Thank matkirk
OnsHuisie12, General Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

Dear Mat, Thank you for your kind worded review on your recent experience at Ons Husie. We will make sure to share this with the entire team who I am certain will be just as delighted as we are. Keep us in mind net time...More

Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I went for dinner at the spur of the moment on Thursday evening, 16/08, and had a wonderful experience. We did not have a booking, but they made a plan for us, even though the restaurant was almost full. The food and...More

Thank viljoeniam
OnsHuisie12, General Manager at Ons Huisie, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

Dear viljoeniam, Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to review our establishment. Your comments will definitely be shared with the rest of the team here at Ons Huisie who I am certain will be just as pleased. We look forward to...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Bloubergstrand
Pinard on Sea
65 reviews
.11 km away
Blue Peter Hotel
119 reviews
.36 km away
Blouberg Manor Boutique Hotel
57 reviews
.60 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Blaauwberg, Cape Town
1 review
1.56 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Blue Peter
513 reviews
.35 km away
On The Rocks
621 reviews
.11 km away
moyo Blouberg
439 reviews
.76 km away
Nearby Attractions
Surf Big Bay
95 reviews
.37 km away
Loisico Tours and Excursions
81 reviews
1.38 km away
Studio 46
11 reviews
.10 km away
High Five
6 reviews
1.37 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Ons Huisie staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Television, Free Wifi, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Monday
9:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Tuesday
9:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Wednesday
9:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Thursday
9:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday
9:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Saturday
9:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Generaal Jansens Road, Bloubergstrand, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Bloubergstrand
  • Phone Number: +27 21 554 1553
  • E-mail
Description
The ever popular Ons Huisie is part of the Seascape Collection and boasts spectacular views, delicious, traditional West Coast cuisine, dog friendly facilities and picture perfect views of the Atlantic Ocean and Robben Island. It is recognised as one of the tourist destinations in the Cape Peninsula. Visitors come from across the world and experience our exquisite West Coast cuisine. They always come back for our fish and chips, calamari and mussel pots which are signature dishes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing