We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bayside Bistro

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Keel | Co. Mayo, Keel, Achill Island co. Mayo, Ireland
+353 98 43798
Website
Today
12:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 172: English reviews
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The home made flat bread with our starter of hummus and tzatsiki was lovely, and the dips were delicious. Both had burgers, and were very pleased with our choice. Great service too.

Helpful?
Thank Joanna C
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The food is brilliant. Excellent . The only complaint i have is its To nice .☺☺☺☺☺☺i ate there twice On 2 evenings. April 22-23rd The pizzas are amazing the chips Are amazing homemade all the way . And ohh the desserst are class to. A mention also to kayle Who is excellent at his job . He is a pro.... More 

Helpful?
Thank idiotAbroad186626
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I went here beginning of April for Lunch and it was amazing, the staff were nice and polite and the food was absolutely amazing. I recommend to anyone the fish as it was so fresh and the batter was perfect. Definitely coming back next month

Helpful?
3 Thank Jason M
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food is amazing. This place never lets me down. First of all the service is top quality, the waiters have excellent customer service. And now the best part... the food. The fish is so fresh that I've heard that it is caught on that very morning of the day you eat the fish, the meat is so tender that... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank TheFoodConnoisseur10
Claremorris, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

the food here is very good, I do advise you to book as it does get booked very quickly at week ends the price's are very reasonable and the quality first class

Helpful?
1 Thank satincape
Midleton, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Booked Out table for eight meal was fine service was slow and staff weren't the best. Once our main course was done table cleared, no dessert menu or coffees were offered . We couldn't seem to get anyone's attention to take our order. Had to go to till to pay and asked why no dessert menus were offered host was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Abina1
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016

After our main course, we were abandoned in favour or a large group that arrived after us and offered nothing else. When I complained, the lady threw her eyes up to the ceiling. Disgraceful way to treat someone putting €50 someone's hand (and more, if the service had been forthcoming)... She tried to blame my gf for being a slow... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave O
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

We had dinner here. The staff was friendly but the food was mediocre at best. The fish chowder had fake rubbery fish in it. My husband had the mussels and they were good. The prices are high for what you get. The restaurant was empty and now we know why.

Helpful?
1 Thank roocher
Joanna F, Owner at Bayside Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Since we do not have a chowder on our menu it would be very hard for us to put "fake rubbery fish" in it. We do not keep fake fish in the restaurant as a rule, and definitely not the rubbery kind- that would take up too much space reserved for the fresh fish that we use in... More 

Navan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Really nice menu with good choice and also specials board. Very decent portions, had 2 courses varying from Fish&Chips, Chicken&Chorizo Pasta & Vegetarian Risotto and not forgetting the delicious homemade brown bread, unfort hadn't room for desserts.. Another time for sure! Staff nice and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Carol A O
Ratoath, Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Lovely clean quite. Food was of a very high standard very impressed, I have eat in a lot of places in Achill and felt the standard could have been better but not the case here. Quick glances at the other tables you could see beautifully presented plates. It is a bit on the pricey end but the quality is far... More 

Helpful?
Thank Niall T

Travellers who viewed Bayside Bistro also viewed

Keel, Achill Island
Keel, Achill Island
 

Been to Bayside Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$3 - US$21
Cuisine
Seafood, European, International
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Keel | Co. Mayo, Keel, Achill Island co. Mayo, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Western Ireland  >  Province of Connacht  >  County Mayo  >  Achill Island  >  Keel
  • Phone Number: +353 98 43798
Description
Family friendly restaurant with scenic views in the heart of village of Keel, Achill Island.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Bayside Bistro and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bayside Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?