We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from Tripadvisor: This business is temporarily closed until 2021-10-08

Shipyard Brew Haus - Sugarloaf

Claimed
Save
Share
5000 Common Cir, Carrabassett Valley, ME 04947-5929+1 207-237-6834WebsiteMenu
Open now07:00 AM - 10:00 AM11:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
American, Bar, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
FEATURES
Seating, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Table Service, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
44
28
10
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
44
28
10
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza pretzel bites oysters salad nice location my favorite place tuesday evening apres ski beers fun gourmet
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed March 5, 2021

We had a disappointing meal here last year and decided to give it another try. Wish we would’ve gone elsewhere. The pretzel bite/beer cheese appetizer was decent but all of our meals were pretty bad. Don’t recommend the muffaletta..the olive tapanade is overwhelming and ruins...the sandwich. The chicken in the tacos and the BLAT tastes like the cheap packaged stuff you find at the grocery store. The quality of the food is light years different from the other restaurants at sugarloaf. I would only go here for a beer in the future...pretty sure they can’t screw that up?More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
aprilgwiz207, Guest Relations Manager at Shipyard Brew Haus - Sugarloaf, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2021

I am sorry to hear of your 2nd time visit also being disappointing. That really surprises me as we do get a great deal of positive reviews and compliments rather than complaints. I eat there often and have enjoyed the food each and every time....More

Reviewed March 4, 2021

Location great inside hotel.....breakfast and dinner available. Pretzel bites are a must have as well as chef's choice cheesecake.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
aprilgwiz207, Guest Relations Manager at Shipyard Brew Haus - Sugarloaf, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2021

Thank you for your review Jackie! We certainly appreciate your visit and your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal so much that you chose to write about it! We would love to see you again soon. I also wanted to add that...More

Reviewed March 2, 2021

We had the brussel sprout appetiser which was great. The scallops were excellent and paired well with the mushroom risotto entree. I had the swordfish with asparagus and tumeric cous-cous. Had a local IPA 7% ABV, very tasty. We were there on a Tuesday evening...and arrived a bit after 6 PM, left at about 7:15 PM.This is a nice casual place with good food at mid-level prices. The bill was $112 not counting a tip.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?1  
aprilgwiz207, Guest Relations Manager at Shipyard Brew Haus - Sugarloaf, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2021

Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and our team was attentive during your visit. Tuesdays are our 2 for 1 menu and it sounds like you checked out some of the chef's...More

Reviewed March 7, 2020

Saturday night - expected it to be busy. Was told the wait could be as long as an hour. Took 1 1/2 hours. No apology... Lots of screaming kids, expected that, so be ready. Finally sat down to dinner - waitress said may not be...able to do separate checks. Not acceptable with the use of computers now to separate bills. We were starving and eager to order. Waitress arrived, she only wanted to take our drink order. We had been in the bar for 1 1/2 hours, we did not need drinks. Two of our group ordered a drink. She forgot to bring one of the two. BAD. 1/2 hour later, she came to take our food order. We waited for our food and saw 3 tables seated after us, order their food, eat it, pay their bill and left, before we even got our appetizers. I complained, no apology again. Food finally arrived. It was just OK. Some was terrible. Complained again, no apology... Waited for the bill. Last shuttle for the evening was in 20 minutes. We asked for the bills. Got them 10 minutes later and the waitress took them back from us because she thought she may have made a mistake on one. Paid the bill (we felt like just waking out without paying but did not do so). Left a minimal tip for piss poor service. Complained to the doorman on the way out...no apology again. Made the final bus of the night with 2 minutes to spare after being at the restaurant for 3 1/2 hours. If this sounds like your idea of a good evening, you will love the Shipyard Brew Haus.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed March 5, 2020

Loved this place. Ski and stay all week plan. Ski lockers available for guest. Ski in and out. Breakfast plan in the morning is worth in. I left a handful of nice ski stuff behind after checking out. Staff was awesome. They called me up...and sent my stuff back to Rhode Island for me.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
aprilgwiz207, Owner at Shipyard Brew Haus - Sugarloaf, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2020

So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Sugarloaf Inn and your meals with us here at the Brew Haus! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write a review. We certainly appreciate it!

Reviewed February 24, 2020 via mobile

This 2020 winter has been made more fun with the Monday Burger and Beer special!! After a morning of great skiing we stop at the Shipyard to refuel with the Monday Burger and Beer special. We’ve tried the Macncheese patty burger, the Nacho Libre, the...Cloudy with a chance of Meatball burger. These burgers are not for the faint of heart yet are totally satisfying after 3 hours of skiing!! We can’t wait to see what the next burger will be!!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
aprilgwiz207, Owner at Shipyard Brew Haus - Sugarloaf, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2020

Thank you for your review Cheryl! What a fun night and the combinations that they come up with never cease to amaze me. We appreciate your continued patronage and we'll see you on Monday!

Reviewed February 10, 2020 via mobile

We ate lunch here and had a good time. They have good beer and the pizza was amazing! Not greasy at all and a 12’ was large enough to split. The clam chowder soup was also amazing! Would come back again

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
aprilgwiz207, Owner at Shipyard Brew Haus - Sugarloaf, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2020

Susannah, thank you for coming in to join us! We are so glad to hear that you had a good time and enjoyed your pizza. Nothing like a good solid pizza pie! We appreciate your review and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile

Came after seeing some good reviews for some apres and a bite. The service was real bad. Took forever to see waitress and food came before drinks. There were millions, maybe billions of toddlers running amuck screaming and playing. It was really crazy to think...people allow this type of behavior. My daughter was an angel. Food wasn’t good. I’d pass on the Reuben. Whelp, we’ll pass next time we ski Sugarloaf. Now we know.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
aprilgwiz207, Owner at Shipyard Brew Haus - Sugarloaf, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2020

Thanks for speaking your piece Robert and I am sorry to hear that you had a less than stellar experience during your visit. We do tend to attract a number of families due to the easy access on and off the trails, the menu and...More

Reviewed January 5, 2020

We looked forward to a very good five course New Year's dinner and dancing. However, what we experienced was EXCEPTIONAL from start to finish. I have attached the menu and photos of the courses. Delightful - from generous and varied appetizers , delightful oysters three...ways, gourmet Thai duck salad, main courses of butterfly rainbow trout and of duck breast a l' orange and wonderful profiteroles for dessert. And a great band and dancing in the ballroom after dinner. All for $55 per person. Wonderful value and experience. Highly recommend and will do again.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
aprilgwiz207, Owner at Shipyard Brew Haus - Sugarloaf, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Thank you so very much for your review! We are fortunate to have Chef Will running the kitchen this season and his talent and creative flair are what you experienced in the food. I had my eye on the rainbow trout dish myself! The Boneheads...More

Reviewed December 29, 2019

Great food, brews & views! They embrace friendly & family atmosphere. The live music on Fridays is my favorite thing after skiing..and the beer cheese!

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
aprilgwiz207, Owner at Shipyard Brew Haus - Sugarloaf, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Ah yes the beer cheese... A favorite of many! Thank you for your wonderful review and we hope to see you a lot this season!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Sugarloaf Inn
82 reviews
.01 km away
Sugarloaf
180 reviews
.34 km away
Mountain View Motel
55 reviews
12.13 km away
Spillover Motel
141 reviews
13.08 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
45 North
82 reviews
.34 km away
D'Ellies
23 reviews
.40 km away
The Widowmaker
23 reviews
.37 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Sugarloaf Mountain
246 reviews
.36 km away
Maine Huts & Trails
210 reviews
14.49 km away
Flagstaff Lake Scenic Boat Tours
14 reviews
15.22 km away
Green Farm Guide Service - Day Tours
12 reviews
16.08 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Shipyard Brew Haus - Sugarloaf staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Shipyard Brew Haus - Sugarloaf

  • Shipyard Brew Haus - Sugarloaf is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4.5
    • Service: 4.5
    • Value: 4.5
    • Atmosphere: 4