We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Luna

79-81 Talbot Road | Talbot Green, Talbot Green, Pontyclun CF72 8AE, Wales
+44 1443 239600
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good19%
  • Average10%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“tapas” (41 reviews)
“steak” (50 reviews)
“risotto” (19 reviews)
Closed today
Hours
CUISINES
Italian, European, British, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
79-81 Talbot Road | Talbot Green, Talbot Green, Pontyclun CF72 8AE, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Visited La Luna with friends for a festive meal. We pre ordered our food, and I thoroughly enjoyed the risotto starter, which originally I thought was more of a main course but it worked really well. I had pasta with asparagus for a main and...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank shinyhappyp3rson
Reviewed 4 days ago

We first tried this restaurant for lunch 5 weeks ago and left a favourable review as we thought it deserved it after the negative reviews from some disgruntled customers. We had such a good lunch the first time, that we booked for the following week...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank filojan
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Myself and work colleagues have been to La Luna on a number of occasions and each time we have small issues. From booking online and no sign of the booking when going to pay the deposit and then no room available when we arrive, to...More

Date of visit: December 2018
11  Thank Jo_p1708
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

i live in Porthcawl so have only eaten in La Luna on 3 occasions over 6 years. every time i've visited this eaterie I have always enjoyed the food/drink and ambience. The menu is classy but not expensive. The owners, who are a young couple,...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Terry J
RhysA81, Manager at La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to see you back soon..

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We firstly booked a table of 4 earlier in the week to enjoy an evening at the restaurant for food and drinks. We then arrived at the restaurant to find our table hadn’t been booked and we were sat on a table which they had...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Garyn L
RhysA81, Manager at La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sorry to see that you were disappointed with your visit. Just to clarify, this was a booking for the cocktail lounge for tapas and drinks, not the restaurant. I will have to check our cctv and speak with staff on duty in the tapas lounge,...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for lunch with friend. Lovely welcome excellent service. Lunch special 3 courses. Great choice good value for money. Food great. Will return soon.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank gaynormairthomas55
RhysA81, Manager at La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you back soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Never been disappointed here. Always superb food and an excellent choice on the menu! Came with 3 others who all enjoyed their meal. Staff were great too.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Rebecca P
RhysA81, Manager at La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you back at La Luna soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food was ok but we won't bother visiting here again. The service level was very poor. The waiters were never around. Each request, whether it was for a menu, a drink, a plate, cutlery, the bill, just took ages to arrive. The place is...More

Date of visit: November 2018
4  Thank MAJATA000
RhysA81, Manager at La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I have to completely disagree with everything written in this review. You booked for a table of ten in the restaurant, midweek evening peak time. You were waited on throughout, and we could not encourage anyone to buy any drinks. One lady on the table...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I came here with my wife for a birthday lunch as we have enjoyed eating here before in the hands of the previous owners. Sadly this has gone downhill under the new owners. My starter of tandoori chicken was 3 very tiny prices of chicken....More

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank brettj850
RhysA81, Manager at La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, The new owner who has been here for 19 years is sorry to hear that it has gone downhill under his ownership, and wishes you'd have informed him around 18 years ago. With the lunch menu being at the £13 mark, i'm not sure...More

Reviewed November 9, 2018 via mobile

Absolutely appalling service, ordered steak and chips for lunch, chips were cold, runny peppercorn sauce ,chips tasted as if they have been fried in over cooked oil, and won't go back again. well overrated

Date of visit: November 2018
3  Thank byront940
RhysA81, Manager at La Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sorry to hear about your disappointment with your meal. If this is the case, then I'm sure it was a one off and would be grateful if you would give us another opportunity to change your mind.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Premier Inn Llantrisant Hotel
571 reviews
.78 km away
Three Saints Hotel
184 reviews
1.75 km away
Scotts Hotel
26 reviews
3.02 km away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
646 reviews
3.09 km away
Nearby Restaurants
La Trattoria
352 reviews
.22 km away
The Polkadot Teapot
120 reviews
.75 km away
Bradleys Coffee
31 reviews
.14 km away
Chiquito
434 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Model House
22 reviews
.79 km away
The Vintage Country Market
12 reviews
1.42 km away
Bliss Beauty by Cerys
7 reviews
.08 km away
Jazzy Jungle
24 reviews
1.60 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ChSm93
April 14, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from maureen l | Reviewed this property |
There is a ramp to the left hand side of the restaurant. There is a step into the restaurant, I think, but I hold the door frame. The people are ultra friendly, so just ring. They will meet you at the door.
1
Vote
Ann D
May 27, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Moira T | Reviewed this property |
I did not see anything on the menu about gluten free meals or requests. Maybe you should check with the restaurant.
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$38
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Tuesday
12:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.
5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Wednesday
12:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.
5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Thursday
12:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.
5:30 p.m. - 10:00 p.m.
Friday
12:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.
5:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Saturday
12:00 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 79-81 Talbot Road | Talbot Green, Talbot Green, Pontyclun CF72 8AE, Wales (Formerly Brookes Restaurant)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Vale of Glamorgan  >  Pontyclun  >  Talbot Green
  • Phone Number: +44 1443 239600
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing