We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Rock and Fountain Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Llanvaches Road, Penhow, Caldicot NP26 3YD, Wales
+44 1633 400297
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

474 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 474: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

A few of us dined at The Rock and Fountain last week, the food was absolutely stunning and excellent value for money. Highly recommended

Helpful?
1 Thank HMJ1234
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

What an amazing level of arrogance in the replies to an ever growing number of low reviews!Such a shame to see the tenants ego reflects the ever declining quality of this, one of the many local restaurants we have on our doorstep. We, like the recent reviewer were a part of a reasonably numbered party who had the misfortune of... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Alwaysreviewthetruth
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked a table for 6 and turn up and menu has been changed and many items are unavailable! Waitress was rude and when we suggested/asked if they could accommodate we were flatly refused any type of compromise. We walked out as the service was poor and wouldn't even swap a pineapple slice for an egg! Extremely poor service and we... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank M4typ
Gareth L, Owner at The Rock and Fountain Inn, responded to this review

We change our menu on a very regular basis! We have started an ala carte menu which runs alongside our popular 2 course for £10 Menu and you asked if you could have ala carte items for 2 courses for £10 !!!! That my friend is a joke! You ordered 3 gammon steaks off the £10 menu but unfortunately we... More 

newport
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited with friends for a Christmas catch up- there were 5 of us. On arrival we were greeted warmly by lovely staff at the bar- we ordered drinks and were shown to our table. We were seated right at the back of the restaurant past the fire and it was absolutely freezing. I spent the whole night with my scarf... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank michelle g
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food under par offers yes get what you paid for yes not happy won't be returning .unfortunately I cannot say anything else it pleases some people it was an off day for us

Helpful?
2 Thank susan l
Gareth L, Owner at The Rock and Fountain Inn, responded to this review

What on earth sort of review is that? Please next time you do a review for a restaurant elaborate why it was "sad" And the pleases some people bit has perplexed us???? And if it was an off day for you we certainly didn't know about it. Looking at your other reviews it might be better if you stick to... More 

Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have not been to the Rock and Fountain for many years and friends of ours, said that new people had taken over the Inn. We had the 2 courses for £12. We all had starters which were a bit mean on the portion sizes but tasty. 3 ribeye steaks (1 blue, 1 rare and 1 medium) and belly pork... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley P
pontypridd
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had the privilege of dining at the rock and fountain yesterday as my work colleagues got me a gift voucher for my 30th birthday. Even though we live about 30 miles away we decided a mid week trip on the run up to xmas would be for the best. Anyway enough of my waffling on we sat down and I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank david c
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have eaten here on many occasions and I have nothing but praise for the restaurant. Always a good choice of both starters and main course, and if you can eat any more the desserts are great . Really good value at 2 courses for £12. There is no where else that I know of where the food is of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mo12372
newport>south wales
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect place to meet up with friends on a rainy day! Fantastic choices on menu and great value for money £12 for 2 courses. Well cooked food and good service.

Helpful?
Thank mog_19
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I attended a family get-together mid September having dined at the Rock and Fountain for over 20 years. After numerous changes in management, my family and I were very pleased to dine at (what seemed at the time), a well established, well presented menu with good service. I decided to order the slow roasted pork. Although it did arrive late,... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Anonym000se
Gareth L, Owner at The Rock and Fountain Inn, responded to this review

Oh dear oh dear anonymoose you have pronted me to do yet another as you call them petty and unprofessional response. OUR HYGIENE RATING IS NOW A 5 And I will repeat why we had a dismal score is because of the holes in the floor which were covered by kitchen mats but unfortunately the eho tripped over. Our cleanliness... More 

Travellers who viewed The Rock and Fountain Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Rock and Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$13 - US$13
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Llanvaches Road, Penhow, Caldicot NP26 3YD, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Monmouthshire  >  Caldicot  >  Penhow
  • Phone Number: +44 1633 400297

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Rock and Fountain Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Rock and Fountain Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?